Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
8,166 ratings

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

RB

Sep 14, 2020

Very well explained with lots of practical examples - would highly recommend this course to anyone looking at getting an initial understanding of design thinking and how it can be applied practically.

LM

Sep 22, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,475 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Troy E

Dec 15, 2019

This was my first-ever course on design thinking. A great introduction. I didn't realise how much design thinking I was sort of doing in my day-to-day job. Taking this course and applying the tools and skills to one my current projects, I was able to critically reflect & evaluate with a new set of tools and vocabulary that gave me more specific & focused feedback I would not have gotten otherwise. This means, I am more informed moving forward on the next project. I'm going to look into more courses like this.

By Luigi P

Oct 13, 2020

This course was the first I attended with Coursera and was very interesting. The design thinking approach gives you a new approach to problem analisys and solving. The professor uses a plain english and so lessons are very clear. I appreciated the interaction with other students with forum and above all peer to peer correction to enhance learners autonomy, cooperation, interaction and involvement. The result was not only a certification but also the possibility to use what I learned in my daily activities.

By Maheshkumar M

May 2, 2020

The Design Thinking for Innovation course has helped me in implementing many tools which are useful in our day to day activities and has given me insights to the principles of Design Thinking. These tools have helped me in executing my office meetings to discuss and gather information on overcoming problem's through innovation.

Thanks a lot for the Instructors for making the subject crystal clear and simple to understand. Thanks Coursera for providing world wide programs within reach of everyone.

By Pilar D

Nov 29, 2020

Design Thinking for Innovation Course is full of useful tools; includes a powerful methodology to accomplish human-center projects engulfed in uncertainty; study case that helped me to ground the concepts and; taught by professor Liedtka who uses her profound knowledge of the matter to present concepts and methodologies in a comprehensive way that make the learning process more effective, combined with her enthusiastic and energetic personality that keeps you very motivated from the beginning.

By SYED A M F

Feb 4, 2018

In today's competitive world its all the more important to update our knowledge and skill sets to compete against the Young & dynamic next generation managers likely to take over from us..I strongly believe that this platform would help us to learn many new things, ideas, solutions, skills & knowledge which were not been possible in the past.. Its a fantastic opportunity given to me to by our organisation to re brush our ideas and skill set to be learned to be relevant in the job market.

By gemi h

Sep 17, 2019

This is such an amazing course. I can't get enough of this. Apparently, I have been doing versions of this throughout my career and work. I have championed the essence of this but didn't know how to put into an understandable framework for those who couldn't see it. Yes, I hope to take the full course offered by UVA this coming January 2020 :) Thank you Professor Liedtka. Thank you for the work you do and how you teach us to think and reflect on these different yet simple frameworks.

By Suneet S

Mar 7, 2023

I liked the simplicity in the framework based on the 4 questions which was easy to understand and also communicate to non-designers that I interacted with. I also loved the case study of the Good Kitchen. It was interesting to learn how powerful a technique such as visualisation can be that is generally overlooked. At the end of the course, I went on to buy 2 books written by Jeanne. This is my first earned certificate from Coursera, and I am extremely happy to have done this course!

By Ioana C

Mar 5, 2018

It gives a theoretical base for innovation in companies and organizations. I think managers can take a lot of value from this course expecially in knowing how to present the need of innovation and innovative ideas. It is great for people who think they are not creative as you can learn to be creative. I liked a lot that it was clear and short (4/5 weeks) and it gave a good overview over the design thinking process. I can recommend it for anyone working in marketing or development.

By Joël N

Dec 9, 2015

Thanks a lot Jeanne for making available this course on Design Thinking.

It was a clear materialisation of the process for exploring opportunities for innovation.

i also love the slides with great formalisations of some concepts.

Maybe one more thing, it was very useful to have a short overview of previous week at the beginning of a new module. it is coherent with how we manage our MOOC learning behavior, with sometime a lack of time and long periods away from tje course.

Joel.

By Marika J

Jun 22, 2020

Great course! This course provided so many tools for future projects. It will provide lasting impact to the way I approach teamwork and innovation. I purchased the recommended project guide and management book. It is amazing the diversity of application of knowledge gained in this course. Cannot wait to apply the principles. Thank you for untangling complex issues and creating such an easy way to digest the content. This course will be very useful to my daily work.

By Alexander C C L

Jul 12, 2020

An excellent course that you can complete at your own pace; within the deadline. The trainers are top of the line where the use of stories/case studies help in comprehension and linking the topics to the real-world applications.

My appreciation and use of Design Thinking has developed further upon completing this course; much appreciation goes to the University of Virginia, Darden Business School & the staff involved. It has been a memorable and enriching experience :)

By Camilo A M R

Aug 1, 2020

Amazing. I was truly touched by the effort put into this course. I've done other online courses but this one is by far the best one. For me, it was very clear that the tools shared in the learning process were also used in its creation. It made me feel uncomfortable as the new knowledge confronted the old one. Every example had many insights and more. Well, I could go on and on. Then again, thank you very much. Looking forward to learn more.

By Sonia B

Jan 13, 2020

The subject matter is not only interesting, but also very pertinent to our times. The video lectures were engaging and of just the right length. Stories were used to illustrate concepts, which made them easy to understand. Finally, the assignment was very challenging. I have had to work hard at it, revisiting the lectures and the suggested reading. It was worth my time and effort. I am really happy and proud to have earned this certificate.

By Beatriz N

Aug 25, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. I am a PhD student in Organizational Communication and I loved getting my feet wet with Design Thinking concepts. I think the course was very straight-forward, very application-based, with little fluff, while still being very entertained. I am very picky with the Coursera courses I choose, but this was definitely a winner, and I will be looking forward to more courses by this program and this Professor.

By Kristian H

Mar 5, 2020

Insightful and relatively concise course that puts the issue of design thinking in a nutshell. The process is explained in a way that is easy to understand and to apply as well. The assessment is indeed helpful in applying all the different tools effectively. I was also pleasantly surprised by the quality of work submitted by peers for review, and I actually learned from their experience as innovation consultants as well. Recommended.

By José T

Dec 30, 2020

Un gran curso para principiantes en el mundo de Design Thinking, lleno de ejemplos y templates para empezar a resolver problemas usando Design Thinking de inmediato. Pero la verdad es que la mejor parte ha sido ver los de relatos de otras personas que han tomado el curso sobre cómo han utilizado algunas de las técnicas del diseño centrado en personas para crear soluciones de forma colaborativa dentro de todo tipo de organizaciones.

By Jayesh R

Jun 15, 2020

I knew bits about the tools used, but I didn't know there is a complete approach called design thinking which makes taking up challenges exciting and helps you become solution-oriented. I have been in an organization where managers are all about mitigating risks rather than being innovative. I got to learn a lot about the potential of design thinking through case studies. Will definitely refer Prof. Jeanne's books in the future.

By Abhay S

Jun 19, 2021

Great Course. Loved doing the course. The whole concept of Design Thinking puts the Customer at the centre and helps you look at a problem from the Customer's perspective. Asking the 4 questions What is? What if? What wows and What works helps map the customer journey and generates innovative ideas. Jeanne is a great story teller. Explaining the concepts through the medium of stories helped me to understand them better.

By DENISE

Apr 7, 2020

This course gave me extraordinary tools for the idea generation process; it helped me understand what a real brainstorming session is and, more importantly, it changed my mindset for the way I look at things in my Organization. I will take the tools this course has given me throughout my professional life, and I am sure I will be able to apply them pretty much everywhere. A big THANK YOU to Coursera for making this possible!

By Christopher N

Jun 5, 2020

Having been an exchange student in Denmark and having gone back to Denmark quite a few times, I really enjoyed the information about The Good Kitchen. That alone let me to know that I would enjoy this class. After this class, I believe I will better know when to "run the numbers" and when applying design thinking might be the better avenue. This is a great starting point and I look forward to exploring more.

By Fran V

Jul 3, 2019

Loved this course. Clear, concise and logical. I am myself a designer and this process feels totally natural to me. I presented the Design Thinking concept to my team lead, who was also really keen to utilise it and follow it for our team's design process. Subsequently, we have got permission from our director to implement in our team, which is tasked with innovation within the company. Wins all round!!

By S.P. H

Aug 8, 2022

This course is more challenging than most online courses I have encountered because in this course, a video lesson contains extensive content of knowledge that should be studied further. but if you did so, it would help immensely. I'm happy that I've completed this course. and I want to recommend this course to any entrepreneur. Anyone who is interested in innovation should pursue this course.

By Laurie A K

Mar 8, 2020

Dr. Leitdka's delivery of the course was excellent. Her and her peers presentation of core concepts in the Design Thinking methodology was superior. I learned a great deal via videos, case studies, and examples to have a fundamental understanding of the framework and tools for real-world application. Thanks to Dr. Leitdka and Coursera for permitting access to a great learning experience!

By Amit K

Jan 19, 2019

What i really loved about the course was the real life examples and cases. The Design Thinking tools explained in the course are very practical. Though we apply some of them in real life somewhere or other but the program gave me a very structured approach to apply them. I am sure, if applied properly the tools should be effective and produce desired results. Thank you! it was fun learning.

By Eunice G

Oct 5, 2020

The course presentation was excellent. Jeanne made it very easy to follow and she was a joy to listen to. Her knowledge and passion for the subject was great and each topic flowed easily onto the next thus making easy to follow. The choice for the final assignment was also great as it made me put into practice al that was taught in the course. Thank you very much Jeanne for very good work.