Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
6,424 ratings
2,012 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

LM
Sep 22, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

RB
Sep 14, 2020

Very well explained with lots of practical examples - would highly recommend this course to anyone looking at getting an initial understanding of design thinking and how it can be applied practically.

Filter by:

1651 - 1675 of 1,989 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Salvador P S

Jan 25, 2020

it opens your mind and open the door to a new approach about the innovation.

It may be, some deeper explanations about the use of some tools ... would have been nice

.

By Zacarias V

Jan 23, 2016

Nice Course, right to the point. Good use of some of design tools. Probably will be better if the course has more in depth info and more tools but is really helpful.

By Carol T

Aug 11, 2020

This is a really good course, especially for the money. There were some challenges maneuvering through week 5, but other than that a really good course. Thank you.

By V.S.N. M

Jan 25, 2018

Innovative thinking approach to real time challenges and finding solutions on going basis for the existing or new products/services/ processes to reach excellency.

By Gioia S

Nov 23, 2020

I really liked the course, was structured in a nice way. I would include more practical examples for the user to complete - either in form of essay or some other

By SUBHRANSU P

Apr 16, 2020

This is an excellent short duration course, lucidly presented, tools & techniques are really helpful both professionally & personally, a much recommended course.

By Sakshi

Sep 14, 2020

The instructor is great! The insights in the course are useful. I had a good learning experience. Thank you Coursera and University of Virginia for this course!

By Rachana P

Aug 1, 2019

The course is very good to understands basics of design thinking and shared details around the tools. The tools can be explained through couple of more examples

By Ashish A

Dec 15, 2019

I liked the course content including case studies. will love to apply acquired knowledge in real projects. assignment review system could be improved though.

By Aslı S

Jul 31, 2019

It is inspiring and makes you question the way you process your ideas. I found materials very useful and practical. Anyone can enroll and finish this course.

By Sylwia D

Nov 29, 2017

The course was interesting but too complicated. The final assignment assumed that everyone would have applied design thinking tool in their work in the past.

By Max S

Aug 9, 2020

Some nice tools and insight, but presentation could sometimes be more compelling. More in depth information of how to use and apply the tools would be nice.

By HARIKRISHNAN B

Jul 14, 2020

Her speech is so drowsy, please ask her to speak in a way that will not boring.i have attended some courses which are so good to hear & doesn't make drowsy.

By SEBASTIEN M

Jul 6, 2020

It is a short and clear course. I think you could let clearer what the student will learn. I think the course lack of a powerpoint support a little better

By Tyler W

Jun 12, 2016

Great course. Learning a new way to problem solve and think in an innovative mindset is something we all need to succeed in this every competitive world.

By José L S

Nov 10, 2015

Great Explanation, and very useful to modify certain mindsets. I think that the book should be complementar to this course, eventually with more detail?

By Kenny C R

Nov 25, 2019

The course was highly nutritive, although I would have like to hear more about other tools that can be used and look more deep into their applications.

By Rakesh S

Sep 11, 2019

Pretty good lectures. I would improve by providing more typical example templates that were used prior so we could use them for our real-time problems.

By Essy A

Nov 8, 2017

The course overall is such a key skill to polish. I am a happy student. Design Thinking for Innovation has given me such insight and a new perspective.

By Ry G M

Feb 10, 2016

Good course! The flow of the modules fit perfectly.

But I wished they uploaded the lecture slides and the templates for the design thinking process.

By Azmayen S

May 12, 2020

helped me with gaining some great points to start thinking about my future career.I hope to see this kind of courses more in near future. PEACE!!!

By Casey N

Aug 16, 2019

Great course, but you get out of it what you put into it. I thought it was a very good introduction to the concepts, principles, and basic tools.

By Baibaswata C

Apr 24, 2019

Some portions of the course need more detailing, for a better understanding of the concepts. Nevertheless, its a good primer on Design Thinking.

By Zhiyin L

May 2, 2018

Very helpful course to learn design thinking, giving 4 stars because I think the final assignment is not evaluating all contents of the course.

By Ximena R

Aug 7, 2020

The course itself was very informative. Just wished it had more areas to practice and that the assignments were graded by teachers, not peers.