Chevron Left
Back to Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
2,715 ratings
821 reviews

About the Course

Not so long ago, the job of product manager was about assessing market data, creating requirements, and managing the hand-off to sales/marketing. Maybe you’d talk to a customer somewhere in there and they’d tell you what features they wanted. But companies that manage product that way are dying. Being a product person today is a new game, and product managers are at the center of it. Today, particularly if your product is mostly digital, you might update it several times a day. Massive troves of data are available for making decisions and, at the same time, deep insights into customer motivation and experience are more important than ever. The job of the modern product manager is to charter a direction and create a successful working environment for all the actors involved in product success. It’s not a simple job or an easy job, but it is a meaningful job where you’ll be learning all the time. This course will help you along your learning journey and prepare you with the skills and perspective you need to: Create the actionable focus to successfully manage your product (week 1) Focus your work using modern product management methods (week 2) Manage new products and explore new product ideas (week 3) Manage and amplify existing products (week 4) This course is ideal for current product or general managers interested in today's modern product management methods. This course was developed with the generous support of the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Top reviews

LK
Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much! This course helped me ground myself in some of the core principles of product management and I'm confident that I will take what I've learned and put it into practice.

RA
Feb 15, 2020

The course delievers a lot of knowledge, strategy and tools for product managers. You will finish the course with many ideas and tools to implement and have more success in your company. Great course!

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 819 Reviews for Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

By Sai K

Nov 3, 2019

PM tools referred are easy to grasp, which can be related to your current projects. Alex pace was perfect and he covered all aspects of product management with plenty of examples and interviews

By the m

Aug 14, 2020

Each product aspect ,process and business model canvas needs to be explained in detail,keeping in mind that a absolute beginner(NON TECH) is learning the digital concepts completely fresh.

By Alison A

Jul 10, 2019

Great theoretical knowledge that provides an overview to necessary methodology and processes. Would have enjoyed more practical exercises with other classmates as someone new to this field.

By mradul s

Jun 16, 2020

Content of the course was quite useful. The only feedback I have is to make the lecture videos slightly less monotonous (maybe by using animations or moving around/ changing locations).

By K B

May 24, 2020

As a management student it is very important to understand what the customer actually wants. This course helps to understand how to create a product to meet customer needs and wants,

By Oliver S

Mar 19, 2020

A really nice course! I would love to have a summary of the key points in a PDF version from each topic with charts and templates that later can be used for a professional project!

By Andrew G

Feb 23, 2019

The video material was good for the most part, but I felt there was a lack of legitimate testing. I didn't even view the videos from the week 4 and passed the quiz on my first try.

By FAJAR S A P

Nov 3, 2020

Alex Cowan has extensive knowledge in this subject. However, He tends to speak quickly and without any sufficient pause. I wish Alex Cowan may able to improve His speaking skill.

By romain

Jan 7, 2019

Good visual management. It's interesting for project manager or maybe more students. Unfortunately if you come from agile universe, most of this course has no interest for you.

By Julia W

Jan 26, 2019

Good introduction into digital product management with great overview. For a non-native English speaker partly a bit hard to translate/link script to course material.

By Jordan W

Feb 26, 2020

Could be a bit more detailed, when it comes to quizzes, but overall this was a great course and that taught me a lot and reinforced what I had already learned.

By Karsten S

Sep 23, 2020

A very good introduction to key concepts and techniques for product managers and related roles. Week 4 was not so interesting and engaging as the other weeks.

By Abhignya M C

Jan 12, 2020

The course is very helpful for people who want to begin their career in product management and give a clarity on roles and responsibilities of product manager

By Neha

Oct 10, 2019

The content of the course was good. What would have helped more I feel are the peer reviewed exercises that are there in the digital marketing specialization.

By SHEKHAR T

Jun 10, 2020

Got to learn a lot of new things. This course gave me a first hand experience of what to expect out of various kind of PM roles. Would definitely recommend.

By Brad H

Aug 14, 2018

Nice overview of Product Management concepts. Not too much hands-on work or assignments, but I guess this makes sense given the format for an online course.

By Yosun G

Jun 3, 2019

Really nice information about Product Management but a little bit rote learning not so much room for generating opinions or making tricky prioritizations.

By Chi

Apr 24, 2019

It's a great overview and stepping stone into Product development. Although online videos are a one-way street, the instructor, Alex, is really engaging.

By suraj k

Jul 9, 2020

Covers basic concepts for IT product management , Talked about how to figure out "New product Development" as well as "How to amplify existing product".

By Maor E

Jan 19, 2019

Good course with clear explanations. I didn't find all the material very relevant to me and not always practical. but it is interesting and informative

By Thales F

Dec 12, 2019

The content is great, very diverse and helpful. In the other hand, it lacks more practical content and examples regarding some of the tools presented.

By Diego M G H

Oct 26, 2020

Good intro! I would suggest keeping one of the examples and applying all of the techniques as they were covered, which happened but not in all cases.

By NITIN K P

Jul 6, 2020

Course was great! Alex touched most of the PM fundamentals at a high level. Some sections felt rushed. Alex could have gone little more into details.

By Shawna R

Sep 2, 2019

This course gave me a solid understanding of Digital Product Management. The material was extremely interesting and the instructor was very engaging.

By Usama H

Aug 24, 2020

it was nice to have such a remarkable tutor /teachers ,i had alot to learn through this course hope you people arrange more such courses in future