Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
2,000 ratings
559 reviews

About the Course

This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, will teach you the tools you'll need to understand the fundamentals of financial accounting. Concise videos, the financial records of a small business, and "your turn" activities guide you through the three most commonly used financial statements: the Balance Sheet, the Income Statement, and the Statement of Cash Flows. Beyond recording transactions, you'll learn how to prepare these financial statements, and read and analyze them to draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Use journal entries to record transactions - Prepare and use t-accounts to summarize transactions recorded during an accounting period - Describe the three most commonly used financial statements and how they fit together - Prepare these financial statements based on transactions recorded during an accounting period - Draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health...

Top reviews

RF
Dec 22, 2019

I recommend this course to all beginners in understanding accounting , this course completely put you into your first step of the world of financial accounting , and professor luann is really amazing

JR
Sep 4, 2020

The concepts learned during this course made possible for me to present the project financials in a better way to the director. This course should be a must for all of us in the project management.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 562 Reviews for Financial Accounting Fundamentals

By Adrian A

Sep 30, 2021

This is a very nice introductory and non-intimidating course in Accounting, taught by a Professor who knows how to simplify things for easy understanding.

By Xavier S

Jul 4, 2020

Thank you !!! I am very happy to have this opportunity, and learned about all financial implication and support to improve my knowledge and skill at work.

By Luck R

Jun 6, 2020

This course is interesting, it helps me to build me foundation in accounting. Luann J.Lynch gives explained very well. Thank you for your good examples.

By Vaibhav S

May 10, 2020

Ms. Luaan Lynch was a very enthusiastic mentor and I was able to grasp the concepts in a very easy way. Thank you for making it so enjoyable and simpler

By Dragana Đ

Apr 5, 2020

This course is for everyone who does not have any prior knowledge in accounting and for everyone who would like check knowledge. Course is very clear .

By Odil N

Jul 7, 2020

excelente curso, la instructora explica de una manera clara y especifica, la facilidad de poder ver los videos cuando te quedan dudas es de gran ayuda.

By Anton P

Nov 10, 2019

Really helpful and informative introduction to the world of Finance. Thank you Luann for the clear and easy to learn instruction throughout the course.

By Angela G

Jul 6, 2021

I enjoyed this course and the Teacher made it interactive. Her style of giving the lessons were understandable so I was able to remember the material.

By salike s

Aug 9, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed the duration of the course as it was very flexible with time and very informative and learning,i am glad i took this course.

By VENKATESHA B

Jun 29, 2021

One of the best courses for a novice to get started. The instructor LL has a very unique way of communicating and puts you in ease. Highly recommend.

By Shujie Z

Jun 19, 2020

This course is great. The professor explains things in an intuitive and clear way. The mentor in the discussion forum is also wonderful. Recommended!

By Carena T S

Apr 4, 2021

Because of such a good delivery of this course work I was able to grasped so much if not everything that was taught. Thanks for such great delivery

By Brandi

Jun 10, 2020

She does a great job of breaking things down to make everything understandable, and then tying it all together to make the entire concept cohesive.

By Bharat P

May 15, 2020

A superlative course! I wanted to understand the fundamentals of accounting, and, thanks to this course, I do now! Looking forward to what's next!

By Edward C

Feb 22, 2020

GREAT course....enjoyed the material even though it is not a easy subject for me to get quickly...I did receive tools that I can use in the future

By Rosamary U

Jun 12, 2020

Thanks to Miss Lynch, it is the best class I ever taken, it helped me solve many questions. Excellent classes, material and super well explained.

By John F

Nov 23, 2020

Very informative lessons with a good pace and plenty of examples. The videos are humorous and allow for learning of account fundamentals quickly

By Daniel C

Mar 15, 2019

Great content, good pace, challenging quizzes. Coursera, I hoped I could have a 100% progress even without paying and taking the graded quizzes.

By Justin J

Sep 4, 2019

This course is great if you have no understanding of basic accounting or how to read a financial statement. It was fairly easy to follow along.

By Salma M

Nov 13, 2019

Thank you !! very much the course material was very helpful and professor Lynch was going step by step to make sure everything was fully clear

By Kottapalli A

Apr 13, 2020

The course was very informative and the instructor made everything seem very easy. I was a stranger to the topic and had no trouble learning.

By Alejandra M G A

Jun 15, 2020

The teacher Luann is very clear, I loved the course. I would be helpful to do some exercises in class like the ones that come in the quizzes

By VALERIE B

Sep 4, 2020

This course was very informative and the instructor, Luann J. Lynch, is absolutely fantastic in her presentations and engaging personality.

By Amit C

Jun 30, 2020

a bit dry with some of the week 4/5 work, but Cash Flow statement creation is just that. Good tempo, excellent content on the fundamentals.

By Homero O

Mar 18, 2019

A lot of fun for beginners like me! I think I can create and manage a Garden Spot! Thank to Ms. Luann Lynch and the University of Virginia.