Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,851 ratings
528 reviews

About the Course

This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, will teach you the tools you'll need to understand the fundamentals of financial accounting. Concise videos, the financial records of a small business, and "your turn" activities guide you through the three most commonly used financial statements: the Balance Sheet, the Income Statement, and the Statement of Cash Flows. Beyond recording transactions, you'll learn how to prepare these financial statements, and read and analyze them to draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Use journal entries to record transactions - Prepare and use t-accounts to summarize transactions recorded during an accounting period - Describe the three most commonly used financial statements and how they fit together - Prepare these financial statements based on transactions recorded during an accounting period - Draw basic conclusions about a company's financial health...

Top reviews

RF
Dec 22, 2019

I recommend this course to all beginners in understanding accounting , this course completely put you into your first step of the world of financial accounting , and professor luann is really amazing

JR
Sep 4, 2020

The concepts learned during this course made possible for me to present the project financials in a better way to the director. This course should be a must for all of us in the project management.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 523 Reviews for Financial Accounting Fundamentals

By kanishk g

Jul 7, 2019

Amazing

By Jason H

May 16, 2021

great!

By Dana

Mar 17, 2021

ممتازه

By SAJID K

Feb 3, 2020

thanks

By Sayed S

Nov 6, 2019

thanks

By Md F R

Dec 11, 2018

Superb

By Charles W

Aug 29, 2018

Thanks

By Oren P

May 28, 2021

great

By M N

Sep 21, 2020

good

By Linh N

Jul 7, 2020

good

By AHMED H N

Apr 7, 2020

good

By Emir C

Mar 18, 2019

good

By 马莹莹

Mar 9, 2019

GOOD

By souvik s

Aug 18, 2017

Nice

By Rohan P

Oct 3, 2020

Overall the course was great and I learned a lot. The Garden Spot case study helped me understand key concepts. And almost every video was practical in nature, which helped me practice and get better. But the lessons did not prepare us for the difficulty of the quizzes. The teacher eating vegetables and waving a smiley face did not help me prepare for the analytical nature of the quiz questions. And even though the teacher did not prepare us for the difficult quizzes, I learned a lot by simply doing the quizzes. Thank you.

By Petagay S

Jul 27, 2020

Very comprehensive course, with much flexibility. Good teacher. Course was affordable. Course outline was clear and easily understood. Tests were very manageable. Love that there is the opportunity to do over a test and get a better grade. Overall, it was a great experience and another achievement for me. My knowledge base in a subject that I love has being expanded and I am looking forward to apply this knowledge in a practical way.

By Madison H

Aug 24, 2020

I think Luann is a wonderful professor and goes over each topic in extreme depth and explains concepts very well! However I am a little bit of a slow learner and wish there was more extensive practices and opportunities for that. Overall though it's a great course for someone like me that had no experience with accounting! Highly Recommend!!!

By Michael C

Apr 7, 2019

Wonderful to get to know a topic I always dreaded.

One quick note note using split screen while the instructor is writing a notes/equations down w can also refer to the numbers/balance sheets/transactions she is referring to.

Thanks and will look at another course to take before the summer begins!

By Kiran R

Sep 11, 2017

It is very useful for beginners who probably may have come from other than business and accounting background like me. However, more lectures and time should have been allocated for the last sessions, where people like me (little knowledge) will get little trouble on it. overall it is very good.

By Sachin H

May 23, 2020

The entire curriculum described for this course is perfect. The best part is, it has a lot of questions discussed, which for me puts it at the edge. Although I wish that they could have generated a separate video to point out the differences, while writing journal entries, in different system.

By Jeffrey T L

Sep 17, 2019

Overall very helpful. Could have been a little more so when it came to understanding cash flows and how that related to the test questions / analyzing what is going on. But overall, I am very happy to have learned so much about JE's, Balance Sheets, Income Statements and accounting as a whole.

By Frank S

Nov 27, 2020

As a retiree, I absolutely loved keeping my mind active and learning skills that I hope to put to use volunteering with our senior community. Luann was fantastic and made the course both challenging and approachable in a way that made the concepts connect with real life applications.

By Ubayd R

Sep 8, 2020

Its been a great exposure and experience. I have developed great learning skills from this course and i would definitely give credit to Miss Luann J. Lynch for her great teaching skill she made things so simple and clear. THANK YOU COURSERA for this great opportunity.

By Alicia D

Sep 13, 2020

If you are looking to learn the very basics of accounting, this course is very good! However, I believe that it was missing to explain formulas and more detailed explanation on the managerial usage of the 3 statements.

By Ramy t a m

Apr 23, 2020

course contain alot of inforamtion and made a refreshment of the principles of accounting and that is great thank u but the instructor is too professional and she just needs to make more fun to entertain the cousre