Chevron Left
Back to Marketing Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing Analytics by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
5,888 ratings
1,693 reviews

About the Course

Organizations large and small are inundated with data about consumer choices. But that wealth of information does not always translate into better decisions. Knowing how to interpret data is the challenge -- and marketers in particular are increasingly expected to use analytics to inform and justify their decisions. Marketing analytics enables marketers to measure, manage and analyze marketing performance to maximize its effectiveness and optimize return on investment (ROI). Beyond the obvious sales and lead generation applications, marketing analytics can offer profound insights into customer preferences and trends, which can be further utilized for future marketing and business decisions. This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, gives you the tools to measure brand and customer assets, understand regression analysis, and design experiments as a way to evaluate and optimize marketing campaigns. You'll leave the course with a solid understanding of how to use marketing analytics to predict outcomes and systematically allocate resources. You can follow my posts in Twitter, @rajkumarvenk, and on linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/education-marketing. Thanks, Raj Professor of Business Administration at Darden...

Top reviews

AG
May 10, 2020

Great course.Coursera provides wonderful opportunity for analytics learners through the course.Well designed course packed with assignments.Just Loved every lessons of the course.Thank you Coursera.☺

SW
May 7, 2020

This was a good and challenging course. It really gave me the basic foundations of marketing.\n\nIt challenged me to think and I enjoyed the projects that were incorporated to give hands on training.

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,690 Reviews for Marketing Analytics

By pawan g

May 29, 2020

-

By Moses M F

Jul 26, 2017

G

By Pratibha J

Mar 14, 2019

I am so impressed with this course! Professor Venkatesan explained the marketing concepts analytics tools, which previously were difficult for me to understand, in very simple terms and suing multiple relevant cases. Also I am very happy with how the quizzes are designed because they motivated me to keep trying until I understood the concept. The questions really tested my understanding and I was really grateful for that because I feel I truly learned. The only thing I hope could change, would be the feedback and grading system for the assignments. Understandably as it is an online course, I do not expect the Professor to grade and give feedback on them. However I would still appreciate if I could see any sort of feedback from faculty that would help me judge my performance on the assignment as well.

By ADITYA D

Apr 17, 2020

The course served as a good start for me into analytics part of marketing. However, I do believe those were basic stuffs but I am satisfied with the course content, ease, duration and its introductory approach. I am hopeful that this course paves way for analytics enthusiasts to work in the marketing domain. Further, the course could include different levels of difficulty that a learner could select before beginning any assessment or after completing one. The problems that I faced in the assessment were easy to solve but I understand there are learners without a quantitative educational background and therefore, having different difficulty levels could help in addressing larger chunk of learners.

By Kevin N

Feb 6, 2016

While slightly difficult the professor did a fantastic job of adding humor to make the class more engaging. He started with the general principles of the course material to give us a basic understanding and then followed it up with with the reinforcing technical knowledge of the equations. My only complaints are the information comes at you very quickly and when complex requires rewinding several times to understand. Also I wish some of the work was actually linked to some analytic software to get a real feel for what the interaction would be like in real world situations taking the information directly from the dashboard and implementing it into a strategy.

By Dasha

May 18, 2020

The course is designed very well and structured in an appropriate way. There is lots of new information and practical examples. The interviews in the end of the course are of particular interest. Not so much math, although several quizzes had interesting calculations questions. Some videos are long-winded, some minor ideas are repeated several times, and sometimes the jokes about vegetables and the cameramen seem odd. I am not a native speaker and it was hard to understand professor's accent. Overall, I recommend taking the course and expanding the knowledge in the field. The course does not require prior deep knowledge of the field.

By Ayush A

May 23, 2020

I am really thankful to Coursera and University of Virginia for creating this course. This course really helped me gain a lot of knowledge about how to value brand equity ,customer lifetime value with the case studies of Snapple,Netflix and IBM. With marketing experiments i got to know about how to measure effectiveness of a campaign. And last and very important i.e. Regression analysis learned me about how to predict consumer behavior and how it connects to economic significance. I am certainly grateful to Raj Sir for teaching me this course.

By Andrew B

Oct 22, 2019

In my opinion this is a great course to see whether you are interested in the broader field of marketing analytics. You are introduced to many concepts used in this field and get an idea of what some of your responsibilities would be. One thing I would have benefited from is an idea of what kind of software/tools are used to do this work on a daily basis. I am curious about what taking this the next step would be and imagine it would be learning how to use one of the common tools to do this work in industry.

By Gautham K C G

May 12, 2020

I went into this course expecting to crack Marketing analytics problems- say how Nescafe ads affect sales, or package influences purchase, or how is market share impacted etc. While this isn't as in depth and more of tickling the fundamental levels. It's interesting to learn concepts like CLV, brand valuation models and setting up a common footage with them all! I think overall a good course for someone to understand how and why analytics in marketing is needed than what analytics is needed...

By Reza A

Apr 25, 2020

This course was really useful and effective. The content is well prepared for beginners and folks whom do not have any information about Marketing and it is great opportunity for them to get a head start. The instructor, Dr. Venkatesan, was cool and superb and also knowledgable, but the only problem which made me a little annoyed was his accent and it's the reason why I rated this 4-star. Overall it's a great one! Try it!

By Vinayak N

Jul 11, 2020

It was a great course for introducing the world of Marketing to a beginner/novice. With the right mix of concepts and sufficient mathematical backing to hold the intuition, it provided a great experience overall. The professor Raj has a vibrant and cheery personality and uses humor and breaks to supplement his methods of teaching. Had there been more practise problems for solving, it would be great!

By Dr. P R K

Sep 5, 2018

Good introductory lectures on the topics. However, as Raj repeatedly makes clear his arithmetic is terrible and thus misleading in many places. If the lectures can't be redone, at least an updated formulary with correct formula should be provided. In many places when he means percentage he uses fraction and viceversa. Otherwise, the course material is all good and informative.

By Muhammad A

Nov 20, 2019

It was very simple to understand after a while, however, if you're a newbie to marketing and if you think marketing is only selling your product then you're very mistaken. At least I was. I would recommend before enrolling into this course you study at least something before enrolling. Also, do get yourself some paper and pens because you'll need to write down some formulas.

By Soumyabrata B

Jun 28, 2020

The course was overall very good. It was extremely knowledgeable. But the tutorial on 'Projecting Lift' could have been a little explanatory given the questions that were asked in the quiz. I took down all the notes and took the course very seriously but while doing the quizzes when I referred back to the notes from the lecture I thought I am not getting a clear picture.

By kritika s

Jan 21, 2021

It was a great learning experience for me. I was able to learn about the marketing processes, brand assets, their value and measure the impact on the brand value of marketing decisions. Understand how data-driven decision-making impacts marketing. Got familiar with CLTV and regressions models. Learned how to design a marketing experiment and brand architecture.

By Lokesh J

May 10, 2020

This course provide very good understanding of Marketing Analytics. The syllabus is designed so well with precise concepts. There are case studies as well which helps to enrich one's decision making skills. There are nice brand examples provided in the course like Snapple, Etch A Sketch and Betty Spaghetty. Overall I enjoyed, learned and developed new skills.

By Sagar B

May 27, 2020

I want to say that the curriculum for first 3 weeks are easy to understand but in 4th week and 5th week a beginner will not understand the concepts like regression analysis,Breakeven units,lift,contribution margin so precisely. If the consult faculty add more key elements and examples to make understand to us...then the course will be a icing on the cake.

By Siwarut M

Apr 25, 2020

The instructor should provide more resources and slides for students' better understanding. As a beginner in the field of Marketing like me, I felt confused in some parts because of inefficient resources and explanation. So, I believe that if you could provide more resources, it would be very excellent! Thank you for your hard work, I really appreciate that.

By Kanishk P S

Aug 14, 2020

It is a good course however I personally felt that some places it needed to explain things further. I like to understand a topic while going in depth, here I felt the lack of it while dealing with different topics. Some topics were explained nicely but the course is not supported now and there were no replies in doubts section from teachers side.

By Shiva A

Dec 28, 2020

It was so helpful and informative, I really recommend to every one who wants to get promoted in this field. I watch the whole course twice and ever time I learned more . I can tell that there were some insufficient description in some segments that make you a little confused, but if you review the contents again, most of them can be solved.

By Josephine F

May 6, 2019

The professor was great! Easy to understand. Loved how I could pause my course when I needed and resume anytime that was convenient to my schedule. I learned a lot about what it takes to make a good marketing decision. Hope to use what I learned in real life marketing experiments.

-Josephine Fermanian

Founder of Mother of Innovation

By mutiara k

Jun 4, 2020

The course was great, it gives me a whole more understanding towards marketing analytic, Raj was a great teacher. However, I feel like the question, especially when it comes to math equation, the case on quiz is not very exploring our ability, rather it mostly replicating the math and the case that we have faced on the lecture.

By Melanie S

Feb 2, 2021

This is a great course for gaining deep insights into Marketing Analytics. I felt that the course could use an update when it comes down to the examples as it is fairly old and the numbers are outdated - but work great for examples. I wish it would mention ways of tracking these calculations via tools available on the market.

By Sidney W

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent overview of introductory and foundational elements of marketing analytics. Nice balance of concepts and real life examples. Introduction but no deep dive into statistical concepts that underlie the analytics. Needs to be updated for how AI is impacting the use and quantity of data in these models.

By Daniela P

Mar 19, 2021

I like this class, give many tools to be use in marketing analytics, however I feel it omitted some basic information that some of us could understand untill we search out it. Now, I do see more value in marketing than just make a basic marketing project, it definetly will help in my professional life.