Chevron Left
Back to Marketing Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing Analytics by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
5,933 ratings
1,702 reviews

About the Course

Organizations large and small are inundated with data about consumer choices. But that wealth of information does not always translate into better decisions. Knowing how to interpret data is the challenge -- and marketers in particular are increasingly expected to use analytics to inform and justify their decisions. Marketing analytics enables marketers to measure, manage and analyze marketing performance to maximize its effectiveness and optimize return on investment (ROI). Beyond the obvious sales and lead generation applications, marketing analytics can offer profound insights into customer preferences and trends, which can be further utilized for future marketing and business decisions. This course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, gives you the tools to measure brand and customer assets, understand regression analysis, and design experiments as a way to evaluate and optimize marketing campaigns. You'll leave the course with a solid understanding of how to use marketing analytics to predict outcomes and systematically allocate resources. You can follow my posts in Twitter, @rajkumarvenk, and on linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/education-marketing. Thanks, Raj Professor of Business Administration at Darden...

Top reviews

AG
May 10, 2020

Great course.Coursera provides wonderful opportunity for analytics learners through the course.Well designed course packed with assignments.Just Loved every lessons of the course.Thank you Coursera.☺

SW
May 7, 2020

This was a good and challenging course. It really gave me the basic foundations of marketing.\n\nIt challenged me to think and I enjoyed the projects that were incorporated to give hands on training.

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,697 Reviews for Marketing Analytics

By Shiva A

Dec 28, 2020

It was so helpful and informative, I really recommend to every one who wants to get promoted in this field. I watch the whole course twice and ever time I learned more . I can tell that there were some insufficient description in some segments that make you a little confused, but if you review the contents again, most of them can be solved.

By Josephine F

May 6, 2019

The professor was great! Easy to understand. Loved how I could pause my course when I needed and resume anytime that was convenient to my schedule. I learned a lot about what it takes to make a good marketing decision. Hope to use what I learned in real life marketing experiments.

-Josephine Fermanian

Founder of Mother of Innovation

By mutiara k

Jun 4, 2020

The course was great, it gives me a whole more understanding towards marketing analytic, Raj was a great teacher. However, I feel like the question, especially when it comes to math equation, the case on quiz is not very exploring our ability, rather it mostly replicating the math and the case that we have faced on the lecture.

By Melanie S

Feb 2, 2021

This is a great course for gaining deep insights into Marketing Analytics. I felt that the course could use an update when it comes down to the examples as it is fairly old and the numbers are outdated - but work great for examples. I wish it would mention ways of tracking these calculations via tools available on the market.

By Sidney W

Mar 11, 2019

Excellent overview of introductory and foundational elements of marketing analytics. Nice balance of concepts and real life examples. Introduction but no deep dive into statistical concepts that underlie the analytics. Needs to be updated for how AI is impacting the use and quantity of data in these models.

By Daniela P

Mar 19, 2021

I like this class, give many tools to be use in marketing analytics, however I feel it omitted some basic information that some of us could understand untill we search out it. Now, I do see more value in marketing than just make a basic marketing project, it definetly will help in my professional life.

By Owais S

Apr 15, 2018

This was a very comprehensive course! Professor Venkatesan's good nature , humor and expertise made many of the classes go by quickly! I do recommend this course to anyone looking to learn more about Marketing Analytics in a manner that is detailed and informative! Thank you, Professor Venkatesan! :)

By Jawad S

May 15, 2020

This is a very compact course. I have learned very crucial calculations. Few times I faced challenged with quiz and calculations. This is not easy, as expected. It will be better if the course slides are more organized. Also, there should be an incorporation of marketing literature and book contents.

By Minato G

Mar 14, 2021

Overall, it was a valuable course foe me. Makes me understand about essential of marketing analytics. So many number come out, though... By the way the data that is used in this course was little bit old. Its was 2015 at newest. One thing I want them to improve is refresh the data. Thank you.

By Ignacio S

Jul 1, 2020

I would rate 5 stars if the name of the course was Introduction to Marketing Analytics, since it doesn't go in depth in the matemathical concepts or the reason of use in certain parts of it. Either way, It is a very good course to open up about different ways to doing marketing analytics

By Martez M

Jun 24, 2019

Class was wonderful and very insightful. It was challenging and I had to work very hard. The only negative, is no access to a professor, mentor, or any other class governance to help you out with questions. Teachers never respond to emails or questions. Otherwise, highly recommended!

By Davis F K

May 7, 2020

Great course! Was productive despite being concise. The faculty made it easy to understand and grasp the concept, while adding a fair sense of humour to keep the motivation levels high. A good recommended course for anyone who wants to step into analytics in the marketing side.

By Bruno S S

May 5, 2020

Some things are not explain so well, and that have a big impact during the course, and in the exams application along the course, but besides that , for me, that course was a good challenge and i learn a lot with Raj, a special thanks for all the crew and eat your vegetables!

By Shinji O

Oct 31, 2016

I found this was a well-organized fundamental course, despite my slight disappointment that I wanted to gain more knowledge and concepts on some other analysis methods. If you look for analytics course that focuses more on tool or skill, this is not the one.

By Urmit S

Feb 10, 2019

Extremely useful for beginners. However, it does require a basic understanding of marketing.

My recommendations before starting the course

1) Brush up basic math

2) Brush up basic marketing

3) Get access to Google Analytics (Demo Model) for practical learning

By Henry F

May 1, 2020

This is a good course in terms of content, but the testing and quizzing is quite relentless. A long practice quiz before every graded quiz just takes too long. Raj is a great teacher, but this course is for people who have a good math ability already.

By Tarun b

May 27, 2020

The course covers all the part of marketing which is really reqied to understand the senario of the market. the faculty member explain it in a very well manner.i like the activity also which they give.over all course is too good and intresting.

By Vipul G

Apr 17, 2020

It is a nice course for conceptual knowledge on Marketing Analytics. Very nicely delivered by the professor and easy to understand the concepts. i would recommend this course if you want to learn the basic concepts of Marketing Analytics.

By Parima S

Jul 10, 2020

I had a lot of fun learning this course. The instructor is very active and tries hard to explain all the aspects of marketing analytics, but it has some points that are hard to understand, maybe it needs more examples. Thank you so much!

By Vipin B

Nov 26, 2018

Easy to understand and applies to the project you are working on. Explains why you are doing certain things and what extra can you do when you are working on a marketing analytics project.

A good course to get your basic clear..

By harika p

Jul 2, 2020

I would recommend this course for beginners in marketing and Professor explained every detail of the concepts clearly. I really enjoy and learn different concepts of marketing analytics. Thank you for offering this course!!

By Richard O

May 10, 2020

Challenging enough though I felt like he could have delved a little deeper into some aspects....too much surface knowledge and generalization. All in all, a good intro for those looking for an introductory overview of M.A.

By Ai N Z

May 19, 2020

Requires a bit of fundamental understanding of statistics to understand and follow better with the course. Some concepts are a bit difficult to understand fully while the math part is rather straightforward and simple.

By Preema S

Aug 29, 2020

Really interesting and practical insights gained through this course in the marketing arena! The real life scenario from the specialists shared is very interesting in terms of the applicability of analytics concepts.

By Foivos A T

Jul 18, 2020

The course describes very well the quantitative aspect of marketing. I have learned how to calculate brand equity , Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) , how to design marketing experiments and perform regression analysis.