Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
7,235 ratings

About the Course

Projects are all around us. Virtually every organization runs projects, either formally or informally. We are engaged in projects at home and at work. Across settings, planning principles and execution methodologies can offer ways in which projects can be run more effectively and efficiently. Project management provides organizations (and individuals) with the language and the frameworks for scoping projects, sequencing activities, utilizing resources, and minimizing risks. This is an introductory course on the key concepts of planning and executing projects. We will identify factors that lead to project success, and learn how to plan, analyze, and manage projects. Learners will be exposed to state-of-the-art methodologies and to considering the challenges of various types of projects....

Top reviews

SH

Mar 18, 2018

The course provided a good introductory lessons on project planning and management. The course was organized clearly with interesting exercises and the instructions were helpful. Thank you very much.

JL

Sep 6, 2020

Very informative, concise, and easy to digest. Provides a solid foundation / framework for approaching projects, with great tutorials on using software for analysis. Great experience overall, thanks!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,910 Reviews for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

By Shannon B

Nov 7, 2021

I had no idea project management was an actual subject. I teach via project-based learning so I'm always looking for new ways to help my students plan, manage, and execute more effectively. I have a TON of new things to share with them now, and tools that I can use, too. I'm actually curious to learn more!

By Maria P S G

Apr 6, 2021

Yael es una gran comunicadora.

Aunque llevo años como Jefe de Proyecto he retomado muchos conceptos que tenia olvidados y en los que no reparaba porque el dia a dia en los proyectos que desarrollo (de corta duracion) no me permiten dedicar tiempo a llevar a cabo todas las fases como sería lo idoneo.

Gracias!

By Leonardo J

Dec 13, 2020

This is my first time taking an online course and I am greatly satisfied with it. This course was very well prepared, of course we as students must dedicate some time of our days to read, watch the videos and review so you can take the quizz and pass it or you won't reach what you want.

Thank you very much.

By Gabriel S S

Jul 14, 2022

This course is a great introduction to Project Management. It helps to define those three keystones as time, the budget, and the scope. When you finish the course you will also take into mind how important is to assess the risks and plan for them.

Definitely, is a good first step into de management world.

By Dianne R

May 9, 2020

This course was the absolute best one i have done on coursera. It was clear and concise. The examinations were very well structured. The entire course was taught in a brilliant and easily understandable way. I recommend this to anyone interested in Project Management. It was a great introductory course.

By Carolyn B

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent Foundational Course to Project Managment and Planning. Prof Grushka-Cockayne knows her subject material and the information introduced is an excellent first course in this highly in-demand skill. Supplemental materials on powerful features on MS Project are well presented and integrated.

By Yousri L R

Mar 5, 2022

I think this course is the most powerful course in understanding the basics of project management Explanation is very complete with accurate and important details.

I benefited a lot and learned new information, especially the application of the Microsoft Project programe and Gantt Chart.

Thanks alot,

By Jaime N M

Aug 7, 2018

Perfect Course if you are looking to dig in to the basics of project planning. I followed the course closely and complemented the information with the PMBOK. If your are looking to just see the surface of project planning and management this course is a quick and efficient way to achieve this goal.

By Animesh K S

Feb 21, 2016

This is the best online course. I want to pursue my Masters in Construction Management and this course has helped me to get an idea of how its to manage stuffs around the globe. I would like to thank Coursera for such a beautiful course. Its worth spending time for this course. Just go for it.

By Pablo A J V

Nov 29, 2020

I have never learnt so much in my life. The instructor is amaizing at explaining all the material. I had a great time learning with this course. Definitely, I would take more courses with the instructor since she got me interested in the fascinating world of project planning and management.

By Pietro R

Nov 28, 2021

I can't imagine a better 8 hours course for a general introduction on PM topics and language. My job has nothing to do with Project Management but I'm an engineer and I needed this to understand what surrounds me, specific language used during meetings and reasons about methods as Scrum.

By véronique d

Sep 15, 2020

Takes you by the hand through project planning and management. The exercises and case studies (although supplemental) are a big help to grasp the content. The professor speaks in a very nice and calm way, making it possible to understand the material, even after a long day of hard work.

By Carolina O

Jul 4, 2017

It is a very handy course that introduces you into the project management world. In my case I had no previous knowledge on the topic and I learnt to distinguish the different phases of project development and the important things to take into cosideration when stepping into this career

By Zach M

Mar 18, 2020

I am a 10-year professional. Although I have experience working on projects, my skills have all come from "common sense" or "learning on the job". I recommend this class for anyone who wants to go back to the basics and learn the fundamental concepts of a project in a structured way.

By Achraf N

Aug 10, 2020

i found this course rich of information and a good intry to th project management field. the different videos and lecture are in a high quality content. i recommand every one want to begin his career or any one want to gain more aspects and practices in the project management field.

By Eric M

Jul 1, 2020

This course is a great introduction of project planning and management. The instruction is very clear, simple and straight forward. It brings forward many real-life examples to help with learning and see how valuable this type of skill and course can be for future project managers.

By Farshad M

May 4, 2020

This course was remarkably beneficial to me. I have not had any experience in auxiliary management Softwares like MS project. Still, considering the knowledge that I have now about the fundamentals of project planning, I can start using the software to my benefit—much appreciated.

By Vibhavi V

Apr 4, 2020

This course is superb! I'm still wondering how to evaluate the project, is it good? Is it bad? After I took this course, i've better known about the index to judge. I think this course is very useful for every project manager and everyone who related about the project management.

By Hidis A C V

Dec 13, 2020

Excelente material!!!

Aprendí dos técnicas que no conocía y logré tener una idea de como gestionar cuánto el desconocimiento es alto.

Es un curso práctico, sencillo que nos permite replantear desde la experiencia lo que hemos trabajado y cómo podemos hacerlo definitivamente mejor!

By Mary M

Sep 13, 2020

I liked this course a lot! I definitely feel like I got a good understanding of the basics of project management and this feels like a solid foundation to even start implementing now while I also continue to learn more about project management in higher level, in-depth courses.

By Gabrielle M

Jun 30, 2019

I loved taking this class! It really helped me understand and exercise the core components of project management. The lectures, case studies, and quizzes were practical and thought-provoking as well! I feel ready to take what I learned from this course and apply it to my work.

By Joshua A O

Apr 15, 2017

Twas a fantastic educative moment spending it here learning the fundamental principles in project management. I really enjoyed the course and my appreciation goes to the instructor and the entire Darden business school, University of Virginia for the opportunity. God bless.

By luis a

Jun 10, 2022

It is a magnificent course with a highly capable instructor, in the course there are some tools that are very advanced and i'm sure i will be using largely from now on.

I want to thank to the institution, to coursera and specially to the instructor for such a great course.

By Eirini P

Oct 22, 2021

Lovely instructor, who spoke clearly and with well-made videos. The material provided was excellent for a fundamental course in Project Planning and Management. I have worked in Project Management for a little while and can see already where this course can benefit me.

By Lawrence H

Mar 3, 2021

Outstanding course! The course identified some stronger ways to manage projects and identified some gaping holes in what I normally do. I found the earned value lesson to be extremely valuable. I will institute what I learned immediately. Thank you for this course!