Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
7,220 ratings

About the Course

Projects are all around us. Virtually every organization runs projects, either formally or informally. We are engaged in projects at home and at work. Across settings, planning principles and execution methodologies can offer ways in which projects can be run more effectively and efficiently. Project management provides organizations (and individuals) with the language and the frameworks for scoping projects, sequencing activities, utilizing resources, and minimizing risks. This is an introductory course on the key concepts of planning and executing projects. We will identify factors that lead to project success, and learn how to plan, analyze, and manage projects. Learners will be exposed to state-of-the-art methodologies and to considering the challenges of various types of projects....

Top reviews

MM

Dec 15, 2021

This is very good course to understand the fundamentals of project planning and management. The instructor explain the concept in a simple way. There are good examples given to understand the course.

SH

Mar 18, 2018

The course provided a good introductory lessons on project planning and management. The course was organized clearly with interesting exercises and the instructions were helpful. Thank you very much.

Filter by:

1626 - 1650 of 1,910 Reviews for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

By Guillaume R

Feb 7, 2017

very good introduction, lot of concepts, lot of recommended tools... a bit more examples and practical work would give this course 5 stars, even if it takes more time to complete...

By Li C T

Jul 8, 2022

I enjoyed this course as it provided me with a good overview and a revision of what i had done many years ago when I was a consultant. The technical bits need more indepth reading.

By Priyank R

Sep 15, 2021

A primer on project management that is useful to beginner Project Managers and to allow more experienced Project Managers to refresh and reflect on their knowledge and experience.

By Juan M V A

May 2, 2020

Great course, the only reason why I do not give it 5 starts is because in some quizzes you have to solve some things that are not explanied in the videos. Overall, a great course.

By pasquale v

Apr 10, 2020

I like this course but I'd like to study more about the last part of project life cycle: close- out; because it could be usefull understand what we can do after " the excetution".

By Mustak I

Dec 4, 2020

Being the fundamental course I'm happy with the contents. Now its my turn to get into deep later on and understand better. Thanks to our course teacher for her great efforts.

By Joe A K

Nov 17, 2016

Great course even for a seasoned Project Manager. It was a nice reminder of old concepts. I also got to learn more about new ones. Looking forward to more Coursera courses

By Marvin ( L A I

Feb 21, 2016

This class was a good overview of the topic of project management with an entertaining and well spoken teacher. This videos and content were engaging but not over whelming.

By giovanni c

Jun 5, 2020

Very good course in terms of contents, explanations and case studies. On the contrary the exams were too easy to pass: not a real verification of the students preparation

By Mauricio S

Jan 16, 2021

Excelente Curso, muy didactico y con ejercicios practivos ademad del uso de herramientas, lo recomiendo de sobre manera para iniciar la carrera en Gestion de Proyectos.

By Rustam S

Oct 24, 2020

This course provides good introductory lessons on project planning, execution, monitoring and control. Chapters are well organized sequentially, thank you so much.

By Deepak G

Nov 23, 2015

The course is well planned with very good backup of Videos. All videos are very informative, to the point and easy to understand.

I rate this course 4 star.

Thanks

By Byron P

Nov 10, 2015

Quick and concise. Both a benefit and a boon. There are some concepts that would be awesome to have additional reading resources on. But, still a great course.

By Carmen B

Feb 6, 2021

The course was well structured and the instructor presented the materials in a professional manner. l really enjoyed the learning modules. Highly recommended.

By SOUMYAJIT G

May 3, 2020

It's a really good course. Covered fundamental yet important concepts. It would have been even better if there would have been some assignments or simulations.

By Rodolph D

Nov 24, 2015

Content is really well tailored and the course is well spread over the 4 weeks. The material is good and the explanation is good.

Tools provided do the job.

By Berena M D

Oct 17, 2021

Muy completa la información, me hubiese gustado un poco mas que explicará mas detalles sobre Microsoft project, pero aprendí mucho y me siento agradecida.

By Paulo C

Nov 27, 2016

Great review of the "skillset" necessary to become interested and far more involved into business as a PM. Great work from the instructor!

Congrats to you.

By Lynn L

Jan 27, 2021

Good material for a 1 (full) day class. There was a small gap in calling out ACWP, BCWP and ACWS. Terms were no spoken to--only on the attached spread.

By Eitan P

May 18, 2020

Yael is a great teacher, and the course is very useful and inspirational.

Recommended for those who want to take the first step into project management.

By Michele B

Mar 1, 2020

A good introduction to project planning with some interesting informations about plan management, risk management and project management softwares.

By Salvatore G

Feb 3, 2020

This course has helped me gain extended knowledge of the project management realm. This course requires a lot of note taking. Extremely beneficial!

By Nkechi O M

Aug 15, 2016

The end went a little too fast with the description of the different tools that can be used to deal with variation. Overall, a great introduction.

By Daniella N

Sep 25, 2020

The course was very informative and the delivery was good enough for every beginner to have a good grasp of what project management is all about.

By srikanth.V

Aug 10, 2022

Good course but for new learners please elobaretly explain how to use MS project from basics and how to find a critical path in the project