Chevron Left
Back to The Economics of Agro-Food Value Chains

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Economics of Agro-Food Value Chains by Technische Universität München (TUM)

4.4
stars
235 ratings
76 reviews

About the Course

Have a look at our trailer for a brief introduction to this course: https://youtu.be/GADAgxTHjgE In this course, you learn how the agro-food value chain approaches the challenge of constantly improving its competitiveness by producing high quality food and products and also aiming to attain greater sustainability. Some of the topics of this course are: • The notion of quality for food and agricultural products and consumer value. • How to conduct market research in this field. • Labelling, branding and pricing strategies, as-well as innovation in the agro-food sector. • How sustainability can be used as a competitive advantage through corporate social responsibility. • The role and different types of industrial standards. • The different forms of coordination in the chain, in particular with regard to the retailing and distribution sector. This course is taught by a group of international experts from Universities in Italy, Germany, Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands. Each of them will give you insights into a specific topic related to food quality and the organization of the agro-food value chains....

Top reviews

GD

May 11, 2020

nice project but lectures are little bit different then american lectures, i mean that do some thing online program need more natural situation like online tanslation

JL

Jul 05, 2020

GIVING A OVERALL KNOWLEDGE RELATED TO AGRI-FOOD SECTOR. HIGHLY APPRECIATED TUMs EFFORT TO ENHANCE THE KNOWLEDGE OF THE PEOPLE AROUND THE WORLD WITH FREE EDUCATION.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 76 Reviews for The Economics of Agro-Food Value Chains

By Aishwarya

Aug 08, 2019

Decent course to get an understanding of agri-value chains from a perspective of economics. The course was very relevant for me in my current profile of agribusiness

By Maria S S C

Jan 14, 2018

I think it is a great course for the starters in this area, enough easy to understand, with the most important concepts well transmitted, I enjoyed it!

By Candy H

Oct 04, 2018

Great course with depth. Learn loads of essential information for food supply chain. However, some transcript does not match the video.

By Regino S

Mar 11, 2020

Some of the modules are probably too theoretic but most of them very interesting and with market applications. Thanks for the course

By Chimezie M U

Dec 24, 2017

The course was well presented; its scope can be expanded outside the EU to accommodate other markets

By anushka m

Jul 07, 2020

It was very informative. I just personally felt it got very theoretical towards the end.

By Robert V

Jan 06, 2019

Excellent comprehensive review of concepts, practices, and developments of value chains

By vamsi k

Feb 27, 2018

ton of information.. but a lot of it is theoretical and some of it seems outdated

By Adil T M

Dec 27, 2017

good intro. some very good topics and presenters (but not everyone...)

By Nkechi O

Feb 19, 2018

I loved it, great but it started getting boring in the 4th week

By FRANCK K S N

Apr 24, 2020

cours très intensif et instructif j'ai beaucoup appris

By Fomukom G A

Oct 17, 2020

Great course. I discovered a lot in contracts

By Mohamad A T

May 06, 2020

Useful information, but too busy content

By Jaydeep C

Sep 02, 2020

great course to learn on agro markets

By Akhil B

Aug 18, 2019

UPDATE

By Nitya B

May 12, 2020

The course has been structured well, and gives you enough time during the week to spread out the modules and revise.

That being said, a lot of the theorems feel like they are a bit rushed through, and this is the issue of clarity in accents and grammar and in understanding what the professors are saying. It would also help students from a non-economic background to understand economic theorems and concepts if there were far more examples than there are right now.

By Sylvia W

Dec 01, 2018

Although I found the course quite interesting I had problems with understanding the English spoken, in the videos, by some of the professors, thus I was required to copy the text and re-read it afterwards. In the last two lessons of Module 13, the text must be revised, as there are some repeated parts.

By Atharva M

Jun 19, 2020

While the structure of this course is neat, it is more often than not, difficult to understand the accents of respected professors. However, for people who are interested in economics and agri-business, this course provides excellent incentive to learn new things.

By Renz C

Oct 17, 2020

You need to have a basic understanding of economics--both micro and macro--to easily follow the lessons. Otherwise, you will have a hard time.

By Gustavo M P

Sep 25, 2018

Exams are very easy and evaluation systems/methods can be improved. Very accessible and didatic. Skilled and prepared teachers!

By jose m

Oct 19, 2017

The lectures are very lineal.

By Malick K

Apr 10, 2019

Despite some interesting modules, the content of many lessons is simply not informative enough (like a module on market study without any real example of market study).

There aren't enough case studies, concrete examples or even external resources. The course is way too long, principally because it's too theoretical.

I only recommend it if you're a 2nd or 3rd year student interested in the topic or if you are a graduate in another field with some knowledge of economics. Definitely not for professionals.

By Juergen R

Dec 14, 2017

The level of English of some of the speakers is rather poor, sometimes not even understandable.

By KADIM S S M

Jun 01, 2020

The course is good,informative and very helpful but the course structure is not at all good, mainly there are many modules any the most annoying part in this course are "quiz" for every 5 or 2 minutes video.It was actually irritating and we lost interest in doing the course, please review the course structure.

By Guillermo C

May 04, 2018

English skills of most of the professors were very poor. I had a very hard time understanding what they were saying, and it was also a little bit annoying that they were reading instead of actually explaining a topic. Regarding the material of the course, it was a bit too technical for my taste.