Chevron Left
Back to Verb Tenses and Passives

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Verb Tenses and Passives by University of California, Irvine

4.8
stars
1,448 ratings
432 reviews

About the Course

This is the first course in the Learn English: Advanced Grammar and Punctuation specialty. In this course, you will review the verb tenses that you learned in beginning English classes and learn about a few tenses you may not know very well. In all, you'll cover all 12 of the English verb tenses and passive verb forms. Most importantly, you'll learn how to blend these tenses, which is what native speakers frequently do. This course is vital to your becoming a more fluent English speaker. Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

NN
Feb 14, 2021

I am endlessly grateful for this course. I’ve learned so much. And let me tell you something, I’ve enjoyed the videos from our teachers better than any Netflix movie I had been binge watching.

ED
Dec 11, 2020

I had been learning tenses at several courses just before I found this one. I found it extremely useful and so interactive! Moreover, the teachers are so creative and so lovely unusual!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 432 Reviews for Verb Tenses and Passives

By Кожевников О И

Mar 4, 2019

G

o

o

d

c

o

u

r

s

e

By bayan b

Mar 23, 2019

thank you

By Estrellita A

Jul 15, 2019

La dinámica de hacer y que tengas que calificar a otros compañeros considero que es precaria. ¿Qué clase de retroalimentación voy a dar a textos de otros compañeros, si justamente no sé escribir en inglés?

Debería haber alguien que te califique y te ayude con tus errores de gramática

By Marjahan I S

Jun 30, 2020

It was a beautiful journey of learning some new ways to use verbs and tenses in the correct form . Thank you all the faculties for teaching us amidst this pandemic.

By Corymar O

May 28, 2020

Excelente curso, con excelente profesores. Entiendes muy bien los vídeos y proporcionan la información muy bien. Realmente me encanto mucho y aprendí lo suficiente.

By PERVAIZ I

Aug 26, 2019

The course verb tenses and passives do not get me bored due to its diversity of learning and time flexibility. Thank you COURSERA

By Ahmad D A

Mar 20, 2019

Thanks

By Ammar K

Jan 9, 2019

great

By Ricardo D G G

Aug 5, 2020

I don't know if it's a course problem or coursera works like that, but many of the peer reviewed assignments were reviewed by people who clearly don't know english very good, so they make mistakes. I know it's not a big deal to just resubmit and hope for better reviews or grades, but maybe you could implement a program that reviews paragraphs and grades them.

By Diogo M K B

May 6, 2020

Interesting course. The video and explanations are nice. As for the assessment, the peer-review is far from being something helpful (students are not likely to give proper feedback and insights).

By Фатыхова Р И

Jul 19, 2020

I didn't like this course. It's rather short, assignments are easy. And videos were literally made by two teachers (poor quality and awful acting). If you want to improve your grammar at B2-C1, do not subscribe to this course. It's better to work on your own with a regular Student's Book...If your level of English is B1-B1+ some things can be useful but still you can find then in any textbook...

By Masha P

Mar 28, 2017

I liked fun videos, some explanations and teachers. But the quality has really disappointed :( A huge amount of misprints in printable exercises, a few grammar mistakes in the answers, mistakes in the execution of the online exercises. The part about passive tenses is only about one tense Past Simple. And the whole design is really destructing! Awful typefaces, different styles, different colors. I enjoyed some explanation in videos and fun teachers, but in general, I'm really happy I haven't paid for this course.

By Alla I

May 15, 2020

It is the first time on Coursera when I have experienced some sort of bullying. My tasks were repeatedly evaluated low. I also received comments like "you won't pass", "I will give you zeroes", etc. I had to wait to get my assignment reviewed again. Not nice at all. It is sad that no moderator can protect the users from such people.

By Spiridonov A

Nov 28, 2016

There is no any Discusson forums in there. It's so disappointing. I've paid for course and unable to ask questions.

By Deleted A

Dec 30, 2017

This course is misleading: the title of the Specialization mentioned (advance Grammar and Punctuation) while the course here is for starters. very cheap quality and YouTube clumsy style.

I can't wast my time or my money more with this kind of materials.

By Mohammad T I

Apr 22, 2017

Without any discussion forum and at least a mentor this course has nothing new to offer than a You Tube video. There are some inconsistency in the materials as well. Alluring student by the name of UCI and giving the students the worst is hypocrisy.

By Bee N

Nov 14, 2017

I Thoroughly enjoyed this course! Due to the subject, this course could have been boring if it not had been for Jake and Emily's very entertaining and educational videos! The real life usage of grammars shown in the videos made learning easy on an otherwise difficult subject. Correlation between muffins and grammar are now etched deeply into my mind; muffins will no longer look the same to me. The detailed and careful instructions was very helpful in brushing up my grammar, and I cannot thank Jake and Emily enough to actually make me think that grammar is FUN! Did I say that?

Thank you Jake and Emily!

Janice

By Surendra R

Jul 4, 2017

I would highly recommend this course to anybody who would like to boost their English language skills. Even though we are pretty comfortable conversing with others in English, as often as not we miss some minor details that matters when it comes to writing in any kind of environment. Having completed understanding about grammar, I am pretty confident that I can do flawless speaking and writing. Speaking of Instructors, they were great and their teachings were very lucid. It couldn't be any better than this.

By Guilherme M d M

Feb 27, 2020

A great course to improve your English grammar skills. The way the instructors explain the contents through the entire course makes it easy for us to understand. I also loved how the activities are evaluated, and they are really cool. If you want to master your English grammar skills, I'm sure this, and probably the other courses in the program, are definitely what you should be looking for.

By Dr. A R

Apr 26, 2020

Although I have been teaching for twenty years all these things still I loved the way of explanation. Great efforts .Interesting and deeper way of teaching. I thoroughly enjoyed both the instructors. I congratulate them for working in such a creative manner. If by any chance I receive an opportunity to work with them I would definitely appreciate.

By Наталія П

Oct 25, 2016

This is the very useful course with the good explanations, teachers, funny examples and video. With this course, the grammar is easy to learn. You will not be bored during the education. You will certainly enjoy it! I like Emily and Jake's teaching very much. And my favorite joke is about Johnny Depp. Ha ha

By AMr E S

Aug 29, 2017

I recommend this course to people who wants to improve their grammar from intermediate to advanced who wants to know the differences between each tense and how to use every tense perfectly and in it's right place. This course was very helpful to me and I want to thank the instructors for their effort.

By Anush

May 2, 2020

The instructors in this course have meticulously planned the course to be lucid and comprehensive for learners from different background. It helped me learn English tense and modals by their interesting and engaging skits with rigorous exercises to apply the rules taught in the course.

Thank you!

By Eneida A M

Dec 17, 2016

This course is amazing!!! Just do it! You will learn everything you need about verbs. Don't quit or run with the exercises. Take your time, and like me, you will have your reward! A great thanks to the teachers! They are fantastic! I laughed a lot watching some of the videos! It really works!

By Abdallah A

Jun 28, 2019

Two wonderful, funny and talented teachers explain the tenses in a visual, auditory and most important, kinesthetic way. The best thing you can get is when someone explains to you the right information clearly.

Big thanks to Ms. Jane and Emily. Wish you all the best in your career.