Chevron Left
Back to Version Control with Git

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Version Control with Git by Atlassian

4.8
stars
1,795 ratings
547 reviews

About the Course

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Top reviews

ML
Mar 27, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

RB
Nov 25, 2019

This is a great course, i.e. very pedagogical, a nice structure, a lot of practise material and gives a very solid base for working with git. I highly recomend to anyone wanting to pickup git/github

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 545 Reviews for Version Control with Git

By Daniel S

Jul 15, 2020

Te course is very complete. It solved most of my doubts after working with Git in real life as an engineer. It is true that you need to practice in order to solve complicated scenarios, but thir course gives you all the tools needed for that!

By Srinivasan V

Aug 28, 2020

It is an awesome course overall. This course teaches us how to use the command line and source tree and about hosting sites like Bitbucket and Github. All the commands are explained practically very well. Definitely a good course to enroll.

By tsamourid

Sep 23, 2020

A very good course to learn the basics of Git. I suggest it to anyone who wants to learn Git from the ground up. A small drawback: the last week and the assignment could have been a little better, especially as far as grading is concerned.

By Aarush M M

Jul 4, 2020

I really liked the course contents and the level of detail. All the basic and important aspects of git were covered. The lab exercises were exhaustive as was the final project. I wish there was more information about Workflows, though.

By Parijat P P

Jul 18, 2020

The presentation are sometimes very hard to understand. The "GIT rebase" topic should be described in a bit easier way. This course contains a lot of information about git but they just need to be described in a simpler way.

By NIRAJ K C

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very good but as we know Github is more flexible and reliable in IT industry so need to focus on Github instead of bitbucket and need one more week to do hands on project with git with guiding of mentor.

By Jerome C

May 23, 2020

A lot more in depth than I thought it would be. So great content and amount of information but the delivery could have been more dynamic and less monotone. Also didn't explain very well.

By hangman

Mar 23, 2020

It was a very good and detailed course on git and github, where i learned many git commands and how to use github and how to collaborate with other developers using git and github

By Denis V

Nov 2, 2018

I would like to have learnt more about managing individual files and directories, i.e., about git reset vs git checkout. Also git stash is not covered at all though quite useful.

By HAFIZ M M K

Feb 17, 2020

The course is good and I appreciate the efforts of the instructor but in my opinion, it is better to show some examples of the concepts in a video rather than in a crop picture.

By Jeevansh K

Dec 27, 2019

The course seriously felt too monotonous. The facts and study material was fabulous, but the way it was distributed was too monotonous to just inculcate or participate with.

By Ingo N

May 26, 2020

Great course. It was very clear and efficient. I learned alot in a short time which is great. Needs to update the Overview Tab feature that is now depricated in week 4 lab2

By Waqas R

Jan 26, 2021

Comprehensive and well-planned course. Covers concepts of Git software tooling via source tree, command line, and bitbucket. The only thing missed is the .gitignore file.

By Gregory G

May 14, 2020

I entered the course knowing only the barest of bones things about git. I left it feeling much more comfortable about using git, but by no means an expert. I am pleased.

By Ananya k

Aug 5, 2020

It was a wonderful course and I have learned how to use command line perfectly and and commands .It is very helpful in software and web development fields. Thank you

By RODRIGO J A L

Jul 13, 2020

The course is very usefull to getting started into git for future projects. Most of the labs are very easy to follow and the videos are simple to understeand.

By Xiang C

Jan 8, 2020

The lesson is nice overall. It's helpful for learners to master how to do Version Control using Bitsource and Bitbucket.

Cons: Some video lessons are tedious.

By Rodrigo d C M T

May 30, 2018

I really enjoyed the course, but I wanted to use both interfaces (GUI and CLI), so I was a bit annoyed by having to watch veri similar videos twice.

By Khandaker A N

Apr 28, 2020

I also expected a little more in-depth introduction to Github also.

Other than that, a great course. Teaching both basics and in-depth concepts.

By Alessandro C

Aug 5, 2020

The course has been presented in a simple and excellent way.As a suggestion, the course could include some slides about git bundle creation.

By Sergio R

Apr 7, 2020

Un excelente curso, tan solo me disgusta la falta de idiomas, entre ellos el mio Español, y la tarea final no es muy difícil de entender

By Greg K

Jul 12, 2019

Can follow the course but some of the interface controls in bitbucket are not correctly referenced as bitbucket was updated.

By Irene J V F

Feb 25, 2021

Es un curso muy completo para entender lo fundamental sobre git y como se puede aplicar en diferentes workflows y proyectos

By Khan S H

May 15, 2020

Many advance git command was not covered. But still it covered basic knowledge to develop full software project.

By Kavitha R R

May 18, 2020

The course was a good introduction to git. I feel fairly comfortable working on git on my own after this course