Chevron Left
Back to Version Control with Git

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Version Control with Git by Atlassian

4.8
stars
1,620 ratings
495 reviews

About the Course

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Top reviews

ML
Mar 27, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

RB
Nov 25, 2019

This is a great course, i.e. very pedagogical, a nice structure, a lot of practise material and gives a very solid base for working with git. I highly recomend to anyone wanting to pickup git/github

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 494 Reviews for Version Control with Git

By Chantal S

Jun 14, 2020

I was finally able to wrap my mind around the ins and outs of Git version control through this introductory course. Definitely worthwhile!

By Braxton T

Nov 10, 2019

Learned lots of great material and the course lessons really helped expand my knowledge of git on an introductory to intermediate level.

By Sohrab E

Aug 14, 2020

this course was a pretty good and simple introduction on git and using graphs and useful slides made this course easy to understanding.

By Arham S

Jul 6, 2020

So amazing before this course, I thought I knew git very well but it completely changed my mind very detailed and nicely explained.

By Deepthi C

Nov 2, 2019

The course was good and helped me learning how to create repositories, commiting the code and merging and resolving the conflicts.

By José M L M

Feb 22, 2019

Strongly focused on practice. Very useful in my particular case (my company uses the Atlassian ecosystem Sourcetree + BitBucket).

By Abhay K

Feb 22, 2020

Very good Learning Material. The diagrams explanation was extremely help-full, All the major topics are covered in this Course.

By Ingrid N

May 7, 2018

Well structured, good beginners course. Treating all important topics to start using git. Labs help to applied learned concepts.

By Lavish K S

Jun 6, 2020

Excellent learning platform. the topic is very well structured. easy to understand the entire process.

Greate work CoureseraTeam

By Christopher S

Sep 22, 2019

Excellent course with thorough lectures, easy-to-understand assignments, and assessments that add to the learning experience.

By Mubin A T

Jun 29, 2020

Awesome content and instructor. Everything is explained very clearly. A must take course for both beginners and experienced.

By Juan W

Dec 3, 2019

The explanation is very clear, simple and easy to understand. very recommended for those who is beginner with git workflow

By pietro.ferrario@fastwebnet.it

Apr 18, 2020

Great introductory training to GIT and version control. Lots of hands-on technical examples and great pace at explaining

By Puneeth G R

May 19, 2020

Fantastic course! Each video is followed by practical exercises. This was the BEST course I took on Coursera. Hats off!

By Camilla U

Jun 21, 2020

The great course. I learned the thighs I would never learn anywhere else. To the point and interesting tasks. Love it!

By pavan k k

Oct 4, 2020

The depth of content is too good and valuable. I hope the other courses will also have same kind of depth in content.

By jayesh D

Jan 7, 2019

It is very great course to add more knowledge in version control -Git.

very informative and practically course.

Thanks,

By Aniket S

Oct 4, 2020

Really liked the course. Could start working with GIT in just 2 days. I will definitely continue with other courses.

By Ayusman C

Jun 30, 2020

The course is well structured for a beginner to learn how to work in a developer fraternity using Git and BitBucket.

By Matias A

Oct 7, 2020

Nice course, a little short, covers a good amount of material, but most importantly got me very interested in git.

By José D V G

Dec 21, 2019

This is a pretty good course to start with Git.

I would like to thank my company for providing me with this course.

By Ibrahim O

Oct 5, 2020

I think before entering any Software Engineering job one should go through this course. It is highly recommended.

By Federico M

May 29, 2020

An interesting and good version control course. I used it to learn a little more about Git. Thanks for everything

By Arun K B

May 7, 2020

Excellent form of explanations and with real time examples

Easy to grab the concepts with graphical/pictures used

By Yashasvi B

Mar 25, 2019

Wish course could be bit longer. Covered most of the important topics and explained each and everything in detail