Chevron Left
Back to Version Control with Git

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Version Control with Git by Atlassian

4.8
stars
1,550 ratings
472 reviews

About the Course

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Top reviews

ML

Mar 28, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

AK

Jun 09, 2020

Excellent course for learning version control with Git. The material covered was extensive and hands-on exercises provided great knowledge. Thanks to Steve and Atlassian team for such amazing course

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 472 Reviews for Version Control with Git

By Abhinav A

Mar 06, 2018

Probably the best course on VCS. I recommend it to every software developers. Thanks for this wonderful course!

By Sourav K

Jun 13, 2020

Really awesome and comprehensive course. The instructor is pretty clear too. I learned a lot from this course!

By Haseeb A

Jun 30, 2020

All the necessary commands to use git are explained with examples. Very Good course to learn version control

By Yujian Z

Jan 19, 2020

Very helpful. Good explanation about the concepts, good hands on exercises. Organized classes. Thanks a lot!

By Yuri S

Aug 12, 2020

I really appreciated this course, because prepared me really well to use git in an enterprise environment.

By Chun Y C

Mar 12, 2020

Very comprehensive course for GIT no matter you are the first time to use git or you have used it before!

By Marcos H

Nov 28, 2018

It has been very didactic and clear. Steve should do a second part explaining more advanced topic on Git.

By Danilo P C

May 20, 2019

This GIT training raised me from zero knowledge on GIT version control system to very confortable user.

By Rafael H

Feb 12, 2019

Grade course! Even to people who already use Git in his daily basis it help to improve the Git Workflow

By Daniel d S

Aug 17, 2020

Fantastic overview of GIt. Useful for people with beginner to intermediate level of Git understanding.

By AKSHAY V

May 10, 2020

This course is very beneficial from the beginner level and it covers all the concepts. Thanks, Steve.

By Juan M R

Oct 03, 2019

You will know what GIT is about, and be ready for complex questions, the grades will make you think!

By Gopal K

Nov 21, 2018

I had no Knowledge about what is git and how to use it.... This Course helped me in getting a start.

By colin f

Jun 11, 2020

Great tool for learning git. Really sets the stage nicely for managing your own software projects.

By Christopher M

Apr 15, 2020

Great introduction to Git and its many features, covering branching, merging, pull requests etc.

By ROHIT S R

Jul 27, 2019

It was a very useful and interesting course. I really liked it. Thanks for creating this course!

By Fanina K

Feb 18, 2018

I love this course! All information is understandable. Explanation is clear and fast. Thank you!

By Harsh K

Aug 23, 2020

Great Course ! Completely Makes You Intermediate in Git Version Control with Bitbucket/Github !

By TAREK A

Apr 14, 2020

Perfect for a person with a research background that is getting involved with a production team

By Goutham A A

Feb 26, 2018

Excellent course.! Gives complete end to end details about GIT.

It exceeded all my expectations.

By Prabu h

Jul 27, 2020

I never had any prior knowledge about GIT but now i can understand how it does help in SDLC.

By Deon D

Jan 10, 2020

Nice and intuitive learning experience. Detailed explanation given with hands on instruction.

By Harish K T

Sep 02, 2019

The peer-graded assignment is really awesome, and kind of maximize your proficiency with git.

By Vigneshwar

Jun 24, 2020

Thanks for this amazing course. I hope I will use all the skills and best practices learned.

By Ayush A

Jul 21, 2020

The course is great, it gives you a lot of information and takes your skills on next level.