Chevron Left
Back to Version Control with Git

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Version Control with Git by Atlassian

4.8
stars
2,222 ratings
652 reviews

About the Course

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Top reviews

ML
Mar 27, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

CK
May 23, 2021

Awesome Course, Learned many new things, I am using git for my day-to-day work, but this course gave me in-depth knowledge of each work and each command that I execute and will execute in the future.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 665 Reviews for Version Control with Git

By Xun Y

Feb 2, 2019

Great introductory course for the Git. Can help you to understand a lot of technical terms related to Git. Sometimes the instructor is a little bit faster but you can always pause the video or revisit it back. Would be great if it can linked to a real and simple project.

By Viacheslav A

Jan 20, 2020

Very nice course, though I'd added some info on reverting repository to a certain commit, and resolving problems with rewriting of shared history, and may be some info on configuring access to a repository. Otherwise, it's a good comprehensive crash course

By Md. N M H

May 15, 2020

The author has a great sense of humor, that made it an easy to understand.Everything is broken down to simplicity, and even if you have been working with Git for a long time you will definitely learn something new, or get a better understanding of Git.

By RajendraLadkat

May 25, 2021

This course is great way to start toward git. This is for intermediate learner. We have scope to add below points how to start with contribute open source project. One part I like is hands on assignment which really useful in the day to day work .

By Daniel S

Jul 15, 2020

Te course is very complete. It solved most of my doubts after working with Git in real life as an engineer. It is true that you need to practice in order to solve complicated scenarios, but thir course gives you all the tools needed for that!

By Srinivasan V

Aug 28, 2020

It is an awesome course overall. This course teaches us how to use the command line and source tree and about hosting sites like Bitbucket and Github. All the commands are explained practically very well. Definitely a good course to enroll.

By tsamourid

Sep 23, 2020

A very good course to learn the basics of Git. I suggest it to anyone who wants to learn Git from the ground up. A small drawback: the last week and the assignment could have been a little better, especially as far as grading is concerned.

By Aarush M M

Jul 4, 2020

I really liked the course contents and the level of detail. All the basic and important aspects of git were covered. The lab exercises were exhaustive as was the final project. I wish there was more information about Workflows, though.

By Parijat P P

Jul 18, 2020

The presentation are sometimes very hard to understand. The "GIT rebase" topic should be described in a bit easier way. This course contains a lot of information about git but they just need to be described in a simpler way.

By Sudharshana V

Jun 2, 2021

A​s a beginner level course, it does a good jopb of breifly introducing all the core concepts of git and how you can manage your project with it. Thourougly enjoyed it as the explanation was simple and easy to understand.

By Dion B

May 6, 2021

I would recommend including screenshots in the Labs to help novice learners orient themselves with the platform. I realize some of these are covered in the Videos but it would be more convenient if in the Labs themselves.

By NIRAJ K C

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very good but as we know Github is more flexible and reliable in IT industry so need to focus on Github instead of bitbucket and need one more week to do hands on project with git with guiding of mentor.

By Neeraj K

Jun 17, 2021

This one video covers every single essential you need to learn Git. It took me 12 hours to complete all, but it was worth. I would expect more real life examples but overall the course was good. Thank you so much.

By Jerome C

May 23, 2020

A lot more in depth than I thought it would be. So great content and amount of information but the delivery could have been more dynamic and less monotone. Also didn't explain very well.

By Praveen K

May 21, 2021

This course is recommended for every students and software professionals. The tutor has explained concepts in both Sourcetree and Commandline that is very useful. Value-added course!!!

By hangman

Mar 23, 2020

It was a very good and detailed course on git and github, where i learned many git commands and how to use github and how to collaborate with other developers using git and github

By Denis V

Nov 2, 2018

I would like to have learnt more about managing individual files and directories, i.e., about git reset vs git checkout. Also git stash is not covered at all though quite useful.

By HAFIZ M M K

Feb 17, 2020

The course is good and I appreciate the efforts of the instructor but in my opinion, it is better to show some examples of the concepts in a video rather than in a crop picture.

By Jeevansh K

Dec 27, 2019

The course seriously felt too monotonous. The facts and study material was fabulous, but the way it was distributed was too monotonous to just inculcate or participate with.

By Ingo N

May 26, 2020

Great course. It was very clear and efficient. I learned alot in a short time which is great. Needs to update the Overview Tab feature that is now depricated in week 4 lab2

By Waqas R

Jan 26, 2021

Comprehensive and well-planned course. Covers concepts of Git software tooling via source tree, command line, and bitbucket. The only thing missed is the .gitignore file.

By Gregory G

May 14, 2020

I entered the course knowing only the barest of bones things about git. I left it feeling much more comfortable about using git, but by no means an expert. I am pleased.

By 4jn18cs011 A k

Aug 5, 2020

It was a wonderful course and I have learned how to use command line perfectly and and commands .It is very helpful in software and web development fields. Thank you

By RODRIGO J A L

Jul 13, 2020

The course is very usefull to getting started into git for future projects. Most of the labs are very easy to follow and the videos are simple to understeand.

By Xiang C

Jan 8, 2020

The lesson is nice overall. It's helpful for learners to master how to do Version Control using Bitsource and Bitbucket.

Cons: Some video lessons are tedious.