Chevron Left
Back to Version Control with Git

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Version Control with Git by Atlassian

4.8
stars
2,236 ratings
655 reviews

About the Course

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Top reviews

ML
Mar 27, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

CK
May 23, 2021

Awesome Course, Learned many new things, I am using git for my day-to-day work, but this course gave me in-depth knowledge of each work and each command that I execute and will execute in the future.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 669 Reviews for Version Control with Git

By 4jn18cs011 A k

Aug 5, 2020

It was a wonderful course and I have learned how to use command line perfectly and and commands .It is very helpful in software and web development fields. Thank you

By RODRIGO J A L

Jul 13, 2020

The course is very usefull to getting started into git for future projects. Most of the labs are very easy to follow and the videos are simple to understeand.

By Xiang C

Jan 8, 2020

The lesson is nice overall. It's helpful for learners to master how to do Version Control using Bitsource and Bitbucket.

Cons: Some video lessons are tedious.

By Rodrigo d C M T

May 30, 2018

I really enjoyed the course, but I wanted to use both interfaces (GUI and CLI), so I was a bit annoyed by having to watch veri similar videos twice.

By Khandaker A N

Apr 28, 2020

I also expected a little more in-depth introduction to Github also.

Other than that, a great course. Teaching both basics and in-depth concepts.

By Alessandro C

Aug 5, 2020

The course has been presented in a simple and excellent way.As a suggestion, the course could include some slides about git bundle creation.

By Sergio R

Apr 7, 2020

Un excelente curso, tan solo me disgusta la falta de idiomas, entre ellos el mio Español, y la tarea final no es muy difícil de entender

By Greg K

Jul 12, 2019

Can follow the course but some of the interface controls in bitbucket are not correctly referenced as bitbucket was updated.

By Irene J V F

Feb 25, 2021

Es un curso muy completo para entender lo fundamental sobre git y como se puede aplicar en diferentes workflows y proyectos

By Khan S H

May 15, 2020

Many advance git command was not covered. But still it covered basic knowledge to develop full software project.

By Kavitha R R

May 18, 2020

The course was a good introduction to git. I feel fairly comfortable working on git on my own after this course

By Dmytro I

Dec 6, 2019

Hands-on could a bit more elaborate with more user interaction, but overall the course is a great start to git.

By Manish P

May 15, 2021

The course content was well structured, the only reason I gave a 4 star was because of ungraded lab sessions

By Rameez K

Jan 9, 2021

The course is well elaborated and exemplified. People with basic knowledge of GIT will find it informative.

By John M

Jun 26, 2021

Great course! Concise lectures. Helped me learn Git and not be intimidated by the git command line :D

By Ramez

Apr 15, 2020

It was a little too theoretical. Would have liked some more practical examples to work with.

By Amol S

Dec 15, 2018

Like the over all course but could have been better with more deep concepts and examples.

By HARI P

Nov 8, 2018

THIS ONLINE COURSE IS VERY MUCH USEFUL THANK SO MUCH FOR GIVING SUCH AN OPPORTUNITY.....

By Masoud V

Aug 16, 2019

Very good course, well trained, but a bit expensive considering the volume of content

By Raghu T

May 13, 2018

Should have used Github instead of BitBucket as it's more popular and widely used.

By Helen

Mar 21, 2019

I get all the theories and basic but please make the course more interactive

By Alejandro

Feb 3, 2021

the exercises of each level should be more complex, it will help us more

By Kunal G

May 9, 2020

it is a good course but it should have some more focus on forking part

By AMEY N

Jul 30, 2021

A must have course if you are willing to do hands on git and github .

By Alberto J V C M

Dec 30, 2019

Has all relevant subjects on git , provides a great knowledge of git.