Chevron Left
Back to Version Control with Git

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Version Control with Git by Atlassian

4.8
stars
2,303 ratings
678 reviews

About the Course

The Version Control with Git course provides you with a solid, hands-on foundation for understanding the Git version control system. Git is open source software originally created by Linus Torvalds. Git manages team files for large and small projects. This allows the team to continuously improve its product. It is used by most major technology companies, and is assumed knowledge for many modern programming and IT jobs. It is a core component of DevOps, continuous delivery pipelines and cloud-native computing. You could also use Git to manage the many continuously improving revisions of that book that you are writing. In this course, you will not learn everything there is to know about Git, but you will build a strong conceptual understanding of the technology, and afterward will be able to confidently dig deeper on any topic that interests you. This course assumes no previous knowledge of Git, but if you do have experience with it, you may find this course to be both useful and challenging. This is especially true if you currently "know just enough Git to be dangerous". There are two paths in this course. Both rely heavily on hands-on labs. One path assumes that you have experience using a command line interface, and the other path uses the Sourcetree graphical client. If you are not experienced with a command line, we highly suggest that you go through the Sourcetree path. Eventually, you might want to go through both paths, so that you can decide which tool to use for specific tasks. Besides, repetition is good for learning :) You can watch the videos and take the quizzes from your phone if you want, but the hands-on labs require you to have a Windows or Mac computer. If you use the command line path through the course, you can also use Linux. This course uses Bitbucket (bitbucket.org) as the hosted provider for remote Git repositories. Bitbucket is free for teams of up to 5 people, including private repositories. However, most of the knowledge that you gain in this course applies to Git itself, and you can apply this knowledge to other hosted Git providers (such as GitHub). This course tries to be as concise as possible. It will probably take you about 5-10 hours to go through one of the two paths, but your mileage may vary....

Top reviews

ML
Mar 27, 2018

Great course, should be a pre-requisite or additional reading to any intro data science course using Git. Straight-forward, not overly taxing to your time, and full of practical application exercises.

CK
May 23, 2021

Awesome Course, Learned many new things, I am using git for my day-to-day work, but this course gave me in-depth knowledge of each work and each command that I execute and will execute in the future.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 691 Reviews for Version Control with Git

By Stanislav S

Jul 2, 2020

Explaining Gitflow was really the most important and valuable things that could be of a great assistance when developing a project and provides a variety of opportunities for further carrier development!

By RISHABH R

Jun 20, 2020

Great course. All the necessary information is provided in a coherent and logical workflow with proper assignment for each task ensuring you get a good hands-on experience with the required technology.

By Chandan K

May 24, 2021

Awesome Course, Learned many new things, I am using git for my day-to-day work, but this course gave me in-depth knowledge of each work and each command that I execute and will execute in the future.

By Alazar A A

Apr 5, 2020

It was a great course. It had a good exercise. But it would be nice if the teacher explains Advanced concepts a little bit clearer and deeper.

GREAT COURSE.

I HAVE FOUND THE COURSE I WAS LOOKING FOR.

By Anmol K

Jun 9, 2020

Excellent course for learning version control with Git. The material covered was extensive and hands-on exercises provided great knowledge. Thanks to Steve and Atlassian team for such amazing course

By Nima G

Jun 27, 2021

This is really a good point for people who want to start with git, for those who are familiar with the concepts it also provide value contents so you could improve your knowledge about the platform

By Braulio C C D A R

Apr 15, 2021

Nice introductory course for Git. Guided Labs are a nice complement to videos, since sometimes you only realise the real purpose of some topics by using/practicing with them in the terminal.

By PHANI B

Jul 3, 2020

Great experience .This course is very well structured in lecture as well as in exercises which help me lot in gaining Git knowledge. Thank you Steve Byrnes for giving this wonderful course.

By Shashi R

Jun 21, 2021

One of the best course for version control, explained and clarified each and every concept in very concise way and easy to understand. Lab manuals are also good and helps a lot in learning.

By Madhan R

Jun 18, 2021

Really excited to receive my first certification in IT related domains. Easy to understand. Options given to deceide either on sourcetree or code is really welcomable for beginner like me

By Animesh

May 19, 2021

This course is very well designed. I am a noob at version controlling. After finishing this course, I am a lot more confident in using Git. Thanks, Steve Byrnes for making it easy for us.

By Rafael M

Aug 3, 2021

Amazing! Short, concise, clear and straight to the point. I'm a lot less scared by GIT now. I even promise I'll stop zipping my repositories to backup the stable versions of my code. :-)

By ra

Nov 18, 2020

Delivery was concise and straight to the point. The narrator also did a great job.

This was a nice introduction to Git that I can build upon from now on in my infant professional career.

By Niyati K

Jun 18, 2020

Material is excellent and well structured. In future while working on Git projects, It will be convenient to refer back to the material and get help easily! Thank you for this course!

By Amine B H

Jun 4, 2021

The course was easy to follow: the instructor's explanation was clear, and the practice exercices were helpful. I recommend this course to anyone will to use or is already using Git!

By Lisa O

Jun 4, 2018

This course did a great job of stepping me through GIT concepts. The videos and exercises were helpful - I feel comfortable applying what I learned in this course to other projects.

By Lohit B

Mar 30, 2021

Perfectly tailored content to help understand the git versioning process and work flows. Not at all overwhelming, but plenty concepts that you can start using at work immediately.

By Tauqeer H S

Jan 21, 2021

I very good course and everything is explained in a perfect and a professional way. I learned a lot from this course and would like to continue learning more courses from coursera

By Amrita D T

Jun 24, 2020

Good course to learn everything needed to get started with Git and begin using it to maintain your project. Highly recommended for beginners to get a clearer understanding of Git.

By Julian V

Oct 26, 2019

Very well made course. It is very professional and easy to follow. It contains the most important basics of git. It also gives a nice example and assignment of a Gitflow workflow.

By Volodymyr M

Jun 18, 2021

For now seems like I got quit solid understanding of git workflow basics. Just enough detail to understand what git does. Explaining git with graphs and references really helped

By Ishan

Dec 30, 2020

A really good course to learn Git and Github. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Assignments and hands on practice are good way learn things. Instructor explained everything in a nice way.

By Hazem A

Sep 22, 2019

A great cource to start with for beginners gives you a general and wide idea about Git and makes you able to understand everything you need to begin your team code development

By awsadmin r

Jun 3, 2021

Really the session was very informative and if someone who is new to the version control, i would recommend to take them to Steve course! Awesome and clear cut explanation!

By guru k

May 29, 2021

Highly recommend this who starting out with git. Each concept is explained through graphs. The final project was also interesting, should have been a little tougher though.