Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Virtual Instruction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Virtual Instruction by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
1,120 ratings
344 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Foundations of Virtual Instruction! This course will help you 'up' your game and develop the advanced skills and techniques that elude even some of the most experienced virtual teachers in the K-12 space. Examine pitfalls and learn how to overcome them by focusing on the fundamentals that have the most significant impact on student learning in a blended or online environment. When you complete this course, you will be able to: • Craft virtual learning experiences that align with your student's needs. • Set up a learning environment to get to know your students, and they get to know each other. • Use a variety of online tools to provide feedback and personalize the learning experience. • Identify at-risk students and employ effective strategies for teaching them. • Compare and contrast online and face-to-face learning communities. • Apply strategies to make virtual courses more human....

Top reviews

MD
Nov 18, 2020

I am very thankful to all the creators and developers of this course, It really gave me the opportunity to understand the terminologies, legalities and a lot more,\n\nOnce again Thank you very much!!

JC
Oct 25, 2020

The readings are interconnected throughout the lessons, making it easy for me to understand the lesson completely. More interactive materials aside from discussion prompts are recommended.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 343 Reviews for Foundations of Virtual Instruction

By Yunus Y

Sep 13, 2017

The course and materials are good but I could not attend to the discussion forms in the system. Otherwise, it is very educational and the information the learners tested must be exact is a challenging situation in answering the questions.

By Ma. T F N

Jun 11, 2020

I have learned a lot especially about the guiding principles of virtual education and other necessary basic knowledge a teacher should know before entering the world of online or blended teaching and learning.

By Nazarelys B A

Oct 27, 2020

El curso está dotado de elementos esclarecedores en torno al tema de la planificación, así como la generación de las instrucciones así como el diseño instruccional para la educación en la virtualidad.

By Lynn R C

Jun 19, 2020

Very basic and quite out of date with some silly content, like who founded Phoenix University. Also, it is a good example of un-engaging online teaching. Still, there was some useful information.

By Mr. N A A K

Sep 25, 2020

Good Course to attend for those faculty members who have been excelling their services in Regular physical classes to migrate into the Virtual Class environment.

Thanks,

Abid.

By Mudit M

Jun 21, 2020

My first online course.

Quite engaging.

Gave me confidence to launch myself in this new way of teaching learning.

Learning tools and course organisation are quite well done

By Bettizza R E

Oct 13, 2020

This is truly a foundational course so it's ideal for someone who has not taken any courses about teaching online. Administrators would also benefit from this.

By Mr H S

Jun 2, 2020

I found the content of this course significantly useful in understanding the architecture of virtual learning. How to cater the varying need of the student.

By Lydia B

Sep 16, 2020

This is a relevant course especially at this time. I wish the course would be more diverse. Maybe have information on virtual schools outside the US

By Radhika J

May 15, 2020

Interesting course, and has given a lot of information about various options available for tutors and how can education practices be built further.

By Lizandra d A C

Jul 19, 2020

It was a good foundations course, but it had too much information about US schools and laws, it is not relavant at all for the rest of the world.

By Ekaterina N

Feb 20, 2017

A lot of concise and informative materials, a lot of additional resources for each class, a big inspiration for my work and self development!

By Abdelatif A

Feb 20, 2017

This course lay down a solid foundation for the virtual education specialization, on which you can build a great practice in the field.

By Adam E

Apr 8, 2021

This was a clear, concise course. I liked the comprehensive overview of Virtual Instruction. It could use a little more multimedia.

By Gretchen M

Sep 25, 2020

Principles covered are useful and practical. Covers some useful technologies, but many are out of date and really could cover more.

By Valentina A R C

Feb 13, 2019

I learned a lot with the videos and articles, but many links are not working, and some virtual tools are obsolete.

By Dr. V N M

Aug 14, 2020

IF ANYONE SOFTWARE EXPLAINED. AND GIVEN AN ASSIGNMENT HANDS-ON EXPERIENCE. INCLUDE ATLEAST ONE OF THE LMS demo

By Shankar l

Jun 30, 2020

it was realy good to learn about virtual education it must be helpful in COVID-19 situation

thank you COURSERA

By Dr.Neelu J A

May 17, 2020

The session could be made illustrative and engaging., so that it engages learners. It is largely theoretical.

By Miri T

May 9, 2020

I learned many things from this course.

Thanks for your effort.

The instructor can use her sound more live.

By Kampanart C

Apr 19, 2020

Clear explanation and easy to follow. However, the content needs to be updated and some quiz needs visions.

By Jude I

Dec 29, 2019

It's a great introduction, I only wish they would update some of the links in their resource pages

By Dr. M T F

Jul 5, 2020

A very good and informative course. i have learned many new things and enjoyed the quiz a lot.

By Diana A C D

Jul 8, 2020

It was nice, the only thing I didn't like is that the teacher is not the one that scores you.

By Renee A

Dec 27, 2018

This course was useful but many of the resources were missing and the forums did not work.