Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Virtual Instruction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Virtual Instruction by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
1,137 ratings
347 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Foundations of Virtual Instruction! This course will help you 'up' your game and develop the advanced skills and techniques that elude even some of the most experienced virtual teachers in the K-12 space. Examine pitfalls and learn how to overcome them by focusing on the fundamentals that have the most significant impact on student learning in a blended or online environment. When you complete this course, you will be able to: • Craft virtual learning experiences that align with your student's needs. • Set up a learning environment to get to know your students, and they get to know each other. • Use a variety of online tools to provide feedback and personalize the learning experience. • Identify at-risk students and employ effective strategies for teaching them. • Compare and contrast online and face-to-face learning communities. • Apply strategies to make virtual courses more human....

Top reviews

MD
Nov 18, 2020

I am very thankful to all the creators and developers of this course, It really gave me the opportunity to understand the terminologies, legalities and a lot more,\n\nOnce again Thank you very much!!

JC
Oct 25, 2020

The readings are interconnected throughout the lessons, making it easy for me to understand the lesson completely. More interactive materials aside from discussion prompts are recommended.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 347 Reviews for Foundations of Virtual Instruction

By Murala V

Aug 18, 2020

its great experience

By Victor A M P

Oct 11, 2020

excelent course

By Zareen K

Jul 14, 2020

Keep up dated!!

By Jorge T R

Nov 10, 2020

Good course

By SIVAPRAKASH J

Sep 22, 2020

Very useful

By Kondamudi S C

Aug 9, 2020

Very useful

By Alexander G B

May 10, 2020

good course

By Leela S K

Sep 6, 2021

A good one

By Tadi P

Sep 2, 2020

very good

By Mr A K

May 30, 2020

satisfied

By Kathryn R D

Feb 22, 2017

This course provides a good overview about virtual instruction and online learning for those who are looking to transition from classroom teaching. The topics are broken down into manageable chunks and a few interviews with other people help to add interest. However, when I wanted to go back and reread for clarification, I found the transcript to be poorly edited and at times almost unintelligible. As an example: iNACOL (National Association for Online and Blended Learning) is referred to many times in the video lectures and was transcribed in the text in a number of different ways: "Ian Nicole", "Inacles" and "iNickel." I really wish the people who put this course together has taken the time to read and edit the transcripts of the video lectures. Many sentences were written without punctuation or contained misspelled words. (enrollment was spelled enrolment) Often I just wanted to read it the lecture, not hear the instructor's voice but found the written text to be less than clear. I also wish there had been a way to ask questions regarding the material, but unfortunately, there was not, not that I could find. Finally, some of the questions on the final quiz are confusing. For example, question #5 " Which two of the following..." and then in parentheses it says to check all that apply. I hope this feedback helps to point out some of the problems that hinder virtual instruction.

By Nicole R L

Jul 5, 2020

This course did provide some helpful resources, but should be put together in a more appealing and interactive way. As the course has not been recently updated, none of the discussion forums were available while I was taking the course; most of the information stops around the 2013/14 school year; feedback for my assignment was rudimentary (one word only) and many of the links were no longer active. If this course is continuing to be offered in the year 2020, I think some thought and re-design is in order

By Tracey J K

Oct 26, 2018

Content seems dated and the forums and interactive activities were not available which is ironic since the course emphasizes the importance of interactivity in online learning. Videos were very basic and at times PowerPoint slides seemed incomplete. Nonetheless, lots of valuable information necessary for the courses that follow in the series.

By Jeffrey J R

Dec 25, 2016

This is a good course for learning about the reasons, rules and methods of virtual instruction but I think some more interactivity and an increase in the number of in video quizzes would help. I also think more screen shots and a greater number of screen changes would improve the experience.

By Evgenia K

Dec 2, 2016

All in all I liked the course, it's easy to comprehend and well structured. Nevertheless, I missed the lecurer, I'd really liked that the lectured didn't read the script but retold it in the camera, it would be more of a face to face communication. Besides, some interviews would be nice.

By Brian C

May 9, 2020

Decent course regarding the history of online learning and some other superficial areas, but much of the information seems to be at least 7-10 years old and is in need of updating to be relevant in regards to current trends in Virtual Learning.

By Dr. A K P

May 21, 2020

Final Quiz should have only wrong questions in re attempt. Unnecessary one has to keep doing right MC questions again and again. Multiple choice should be one instant of choice of selection form many answers. Thanks

By Ruben S

Apr 16, 2020

The material is decent, but outdated (in 2020). Also, it's very US-centric in terms of school systems, funding, legislation etc. I would say the course has little value if you're not a USA-based K-12 teacher.

By Mujeeb U R A

Jun 26, 2020

It is a nice course specially for the beginners in online learning. However, a lot of links are outdated i would recommend the course moderators should check those out and provide with updated links.

By Stefan R

Jul 10, 2020

It's a nice overview, but overly specific to the US context (which is also part of quizzes etc). I hope and expect the following (more in-depth) courses of this specialization will be better.

By Joel V

Jan 1, 2019

I find the video a little old-fashion and the supporting material hard to navigate.

Content however was great, at the exception that it is no so easier to apply to non US-audeince

By Arun P

May 12, 2020

The course has given a lot of new insights to Virtual Instruction. The course is well designed and the contents are appropriate. It is more focused towards US schooling.

By ANAND P P

May 23, 2020

Videos are too lengthy and downloaded ppts have no content as such to be referred to. Instead of voice-over, video will be more interactive.

By Ivan C

May 5, 2020

It's way too focused on US legislation, which sound completely unuseful for students abroad and provided little to no value at all.

By Krzysztof F

Jul 15, 2017

Some of the content does not relate to policies and regulations anywhere outside the USA. Otherwise the course is very informative.