Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Virtual Instruction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Virtual Instruction by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
1,095 ratings
338 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Foundations of Virtual Instruction! This course will help you 'up' your game and develop the advanced skills and techniques that elude even some of the most experienced virtual teachers in the K-12 space. Examine pitfalls and learn how to overcome them by focusing on the fundamentals that have the most significant impact on student learning in a blended or online environment. When you complete this course, you will be able to: • Craft virtual learning experiences that align with your student's needs. • Set up a learning environment to get to know your students, and they get to know each other. • Use a variety of online tools to provide feedback and personalize the learning experience. • Identify at-risk students and employ effective strategies for teaching them. • Compare and contrast online and face-to-face learning communities. • Apply strategies to make virtual courses more human....

Top reviews

MD
Nov 18, 2020

I am very thankful to all the creators and developers of this course, It really gave me the opportunity to understand the terminologies, legalities and a lot more,\n\nOnce again Thank you very much!!

JC
Oct 25, 2020

The readings are interconnected throughout the lessons, making it easy for me to understand the lesson completely. More interactive materials aside from discussion prompts are recommended.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 334 Reviews for Foundations of Virtual Instruction

By Varnita V

Aug 26, 2020

This course helps to understand the basics of virtual instructor.

By Ariadna J C

Sep 23, 2020

I put my ideas in order, thank you so much! It was interesnting!

By Camilla M G G

Oct 13, 2016

Very well planned. Could have more interaction with teacher.

By ruchira b

Jun 4, 2020

Good insight into the basics of virtual teaching.

By Dewi R H

May 20, 2016

Give clear understanding about virtual teaching.

By Joanna J

Mar 30, 2021

There was a wealth of information provided.

By Dinesh L A

Sep 11, 2018

Great course with great course material.

By Ever V

Dec 24, 2020

was relevant and something new for me.

By Dr D S

May 19, 2020

Updated Forums and Content required

By Jarrent T

Sep 18, 2017

Learned a lot of new things here!

By sunil n

Jun 13, 2020

it was a wonderful experience.

By Mariam K

May 9, 2020

it is very informative course

By Jacinda K

Oct 27, 2016

interesting introduction

By Arvind V

Sep 14, 2020

More videos are needed

By Murala V

Aug 18, 2020

its great experience

By Victor A M P

Oct 11, 2020

excelent course

By Zareen K

Jul 14, 2020

Keep up dated!!

By Jorge T R

Nov 10, 2020

Good course

By SIVAPRAKASH J S

Sep 22, 2020

Very useful

By Kondamudi S C

Aug 9, 2020

Very useful

By Alexander G B

May 10, 2020

good course

By Tadi P

Sep 2, 2020

very good

By Mr A K

May 30, 2020

satisfied

By Kathryn R D

Feb 22, 2017

This course provides a good overview about virtual instruction and online learning for those who are looking to transition from classroom teaching. The topics are broken down into manageable chunks and a few interviews with other people help to add interest. However, when I wanted to go back and reread for clarification, I found the transcript to be poorly edited and at times almost unintelligible. As an example: iNACOL (National Association for Online and Blended Learning) is referred to many times in the video lectures and was transcribed in the text in a number of different ways: "Ian Nicole", "Inacles" and "iNickel." I really wish the people who put this course together has taken the time to read and edit the transcripts of the video lectures. Many sentences were written without punctuation or contained misspelled words. (enrollment was spelled enrolment) Often I just wanted to read it the lecture, not hear the instructor's voice but found the written text to be less than clear. I also wish there had been a way to ask questions regarding the material, but unfortunately, there was not, not that I could find. Finally, some of the questions on the final quiz are confusing. For example, question #5 " Which two of the following..." and then in parentheses it says to check all that apply. I hope this feedback helps to point out some of the problems that hinder virtual instruction.

By Nicole R L

Jul 5, 2020

This course did provide some helpful resources, but should be put together in a more appealing and interactive way. As the course has not been recently updated, none of the discussion forums were available while I was taking the course; most of the information stops around the 2013/14 school year; feedback for my assignment was rudimentary (one word only) and many of the links were no longer active. If this course is continuing to be offered in the year 2020, I think some thought and re-design is in order