Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
5,041 ratings

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

JM

Nov 20, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

RS

Dec 31, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,261 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By asma s p

Jun 11, 2021

It was really helpful but in order to do the projects you have to be familiar with illustrator or photoshop or InDesign and I was not and it was a little bit hard to do the projects.

By Laura G

Oct 2, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learned about UI. I really liked the projects as a means to learn. I did find the videos, while they had good knowledge to be a little dry in the visuals.

By Ziripe Y Y C

Mar 31, 2020

This course is really, I have learn good design thinking and approach to different design angle.

I really recommend this course to whom who want to have a special inside about UI.

By Edmond M

Sep 23, 2019

The course is great at getting the user a good start in learning about interface design. The community seems a bit small with only a few people posting and engaging in the forums.

By Avery S

Jun 4, 2020

Really enjoyed it.

I think that maybe there should be more about design in general. Although I did the fundamentals of graphic design course before, it felt a bit missing for me.

By Aisana S

Jun 19, 2021

I am very grateful to the organizers of this course and the Coursera, for giving me the opportunity to learn a new profession! in my opinion, this knowledge is a bit outdated.

By Camille M

Feb 24, 2021

Good lessons and exercises but not enough evaluations to progress. I can see only 2 evaluations of my work and it doesn't really help me to improve. But the lessons are great.

By pui k s

Sep 7, 2020

The course can let us ready learn the basic of UI and the difference of UI/ UX. It is a nice introduction for the beginner. Through the assignment can practice what we learnt.

By Gilmar R

Apr 14, 2022

The designs used as exemple need an update, their aestethics seems a bit old now. But the structure, and information are very nice! It’s really helpful and engaging.

By Gunjan

Aug 19, 2019

Awesome course, very informative without overloading. It would be great if the reviews were slightly more actionable, but I realise that's harder to implement.

By Dutzi D

Mar 10, 2021

I really liked the lectures and input given with exercises and tasks. I liked that there is help per forum. Only the reviewing system is a bit slow paced.

By Norma B U

Jul 5, 2020

I really liked the course and the things i’ve learned, the problem i found is the peer to peer reviews, some participants just don’t take that seriously.

By Jay S

Apr 8, 2019

very informative. my only complaint is that the instructor sounded kind of bored and dead - no enthusiasm. apart from that, excellent content. thank you.

By Jacquelyn L

Oct 24, 2020

The assignment examples given, like the mood board, isn't very good or up to date with industry standards, it's too crowded and not enough white space.

By jenniiioooo

May 19, 2022

Could help more on using the the apps beause you cant get really creative yif you dont know how to use it -. The explaining is well. i learned alot.

By Phoebe S

Feb 1, 2021

besides the peer review need to wait for less than 3 days to have somebody else review my assignment to get a grade and move on to the next course.

By Andrey V

Jun 3, 2020

Course is nice but it seems to be a bit too easy. And also I'd wish more involvement from peers: their feedback was way too formal and unattentive

By Laura R

Feb 7, 2020

Excellent beginner course. My only suggestion is to incorporate Sketch or another current form of wireframe/design tool to the mockup portion.

By shengzhong z

Apr 24, 2021

This course gives me an overview of UI design from all aspects. But each week's lecture is relatively short. I expect more details out of it.

By Nabodoy S S

Jul 10, 2020

This course is really interesting and enjoyable. Though I missed some things because of lacking of knowledge of software but I learned a lot.

By R. G

May 26, 2021

I loved the course but I​ would really appreciate to have any imput about the practices from a teacher not only from other students :)

By E

Sep 21, 2021

Great course.

Great teacher!!

I just wanted to point out sometimes we need constructive criticism but peers don't take it seriously.

By Fabiha J

Jun 2, 2020

Very useful course for the beginners, however the peer grading system is quite complicated. A new grading system can be introduced.

By Deleted A

Apr 5, 2021

Nice introduction to visual elements, and you get to understand the significance/impact and role of each elements to the audience.

By Josh N

Jan 7, 2020

Very beginner-oriented. It seems a little outdated with technology and designs, but the foundation and material are very relevant.