Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
5,445 ratings

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.

This course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

RS

Dec 31, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,362 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Andie M

Aug 22, 2020

Learned a lot. Found that using Sketch was easier for me than using the suggested Adobe apps. I'm not a huge fan of the peer grading because some peers don't care as much to give feedback or let you know why they gave you a less points. I love the way we learn through videos and the "Save note" button. Very very helpful.

By Ariya G

Aug 3, 2020

I loved this course as a Graphic Designer, I found it quite easy to follow and complete. Good video tutorials. I would love if the peer review system was more refined with more specific yes/no answers and less subjective value marking. But I guess that is also a true reflection of of life as a designer anyway. :P

By Art O

Apr 5, 2021

I thought these courses were well put together, obviously the instructor has an interest in the material and in how to present it in a way that is accessible and relevant to students at all levels. The assinments focus the content presented and the emphasis on presentation is a good standard.

By Deleted A

May 10, 2021

Course is really fantastic thus far. My only critique is that the video should have buttons for skipping forward/backward for 10 seconds. I found that often I wanted to rewind the audio slightly and the only way to do so was to use the timeline which is not user friendly in my opinion.

By Mariana V

Apr 30, 2020

This course is suitable as the first approach to UI/UX specialisation, teaching the basics of graphic design applied to UI design. The only problem about this course is the evaluation, relying on other students who may have or not knowledge and experience enough to grade in a fair way.

By Diego S P

Jun 6, 2020

Content-wise is great. However, I would just suggest a different approach to the videos production. Having someone talking, and maybe showing example materials instead of the black screen with text and simple examples... I found at some point hard to keep focused on the videos.

By Deleted A

May 11, 2020

Course was good with basics to the User Interface design. It gave an opportunity to the learners to act as an Peer reviewer that enhanced the learner skills and knowledge on the subject. Over all course was good but lacks in-depth about the usage of colors for various scenarios

By Mate P

Apr 6, 2022

No professional peer review, other course mates rate each other's work. Acquiring the necessary softwares to complete the practical tasks were difficult and time consuming for me. Otherwise good course, you will learn what to keep in mind when working on an application design.

By Haroula M

Mar 17, 2020

A nice introductory course to UI design. I really enjoyed the videos and the complementary reading materials. Also, it is easy to follow. The 5 star would come, when the assignments were a bit more demanding. A good course for everyone who wants ti structure his knowledge.

By Jacqueline M

Mar 15, 2021

This course was good. The peer review grading can be a hit or miss. Meaning some who review your work doesn't give an accurate score or are too lazy to provide helpful feedback. It would be nice if the professionals/professors could provide feedback for the assignments.

By Nishi C

Apr 29, 2019

The course provided a great step-by-step introduction to User Interface Design. I would have loved some more readings/video resources but it was still an enjoyable experience to work on the assignments and I learned a lot more while grading the assignments of my peers.

By Lindsey N

Dec 10, 2020

Overall, I think the videos are well done, easy to follow, and easy to stay engaged. The assignments are straightforward and I would recommend this course to a friend. At points I was bored as a full-time designer but, found lots of valuable information in the course.

By Ananya G

Feb 23, 2021

This course is really very well designed and step by step allows you to create interesting frameworks. I would suggest it to all who those who have even a slight interest in designing should opt this, but be careful in getting done with your assignments beforehand!

By Antonio S

Feb 15, 2019

Really liked the course. Thanks for making it so concrete and relevant. It is simple to follow through and clear indications for the assignments, although there could be a bit more support from the staff in terms of the aesthetic aspects to make better designs.

By Santiago N

Jun 17, 2021

Es buen curso introductorio al diseño de interfaz de usuario; videos breves pero muy concisos respecto al contenido, al uso de las formas, el porqué de las mismas. Me hubiese gustado que haya más ejemplos reales, pero aún así se logra comprender el contenido.

By Kelsey B

Apr 26, 2020

The instructor was very easy to follow and understand. The reason I am giving this 4 stars is the peer graded assignments. If the person who is grading your work gives you a poor grade even though you followed the directions, i don't believe that to be fair.

By Yan

Nov 16, 2022

Overall a great introduction into UIUX design. However, I feel like you probably need to complete a couple more projects on your own, and read a few design books to be able to truly understand and utilize the concepts and skills introduced in this course.

By asha a

Jun 1, 2020

This course was so well put together and with each video I wanted to know more and keep going. I wanna give a shoutout to CalArts and Coursera for putting this course up here. I would definitely recommend this course for anyone looking to do UI UX.

By Ruta J

May 10, 2020

If you have a graphic design background, it may seem redundant. But it is definitely not bad to go over principles of design and see it in the context of a screen / interface design. It is definitely good for beginners and the teacher is fabulous!

By maayan s

Mar 5, 2019

The lectures in this class are excellent. i've learned a lot.

I think that grading the projects only by other peers is not a good idea, i think it is not professional and not serious enough to make sure that the student will know how to improve.

By SHI W

Sep 11, 2019

If the teacher could comment on the submissions, it would be perfect. Now we are more self-organised and self-taught. But I did learn a lot from the feedback of my classmates who reviewed my work. All the feedback questions are well designed.

By Hannah W

Aug 3, 2020

This course is very good, my only wish is that the assignments could be graded by TAs so I could get critiques from someone with more experience. I am taking the class to create projects for a portfolio and would appreciate more feedback.

By Jessica G A

Oct 8, 2019

The course is a great start for someone that is beginning. However I don't think that students give grade is a good plan. But that isn't enough to make it a bad course, otherwise, it is a great course. I hope it help others as did for me.

By Naveen V

Dec 8, 2020

Course was very informative, however I do think the peer review could use some work. Some people don't want to give detailed replies as to why they're deducting grades, so I think that's one aspect of the course that should be changed.

By Daryna T

Dec 14, 2020

The course is nice but good to mention that it is suitable for very beginners. Otherwise, it could be just a waste of time for those who are in the industry for quite a long time.

For beginners: good, clear, comfortable pace.