Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
5,046 ratings

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

RS

Dec 31, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

JM

Nov 20, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,262 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Aurora C V V

Apr 22, 2022

It is really important to use the recomended apps for desing so you can deliver an excellent product

By William S

Jan 9, 2020

Incredibly easy to follow and instructive course. Gives a good insight into UI design for beginners.

By Marina D

Sep 9, 2019

It was a great course, I've learned a lot and it's great how you interact with other students work!

By Louise G E

Nov 3, 2020

Learned the right process in creating UI/UX Interface Design, from concept to making presentation.

By Rodion B

Jan 24, 2022

I would prefer more interaction with the lecturers, or at least their feedback on the work done.

By suryansh s

Jan 17, 2022

R​eally descriptive and informative course, really process driven and challenging assignments.

By Claudia S C

Oct 7, 2020

They teach you concepts and how to create a logical moodboard but not the use of design tools.

By Sadegh S

May 28, 2020

Great material, easy to follow and engaging.

I recommend it to anyone interested in this topic.

By Tatiana B

Jul 6, 2020

This is a good course as a basic start for people who are already in the graphic design area.

By Aarti S

Nov 30, 2020

This is really good for beginners like me. All basic concepts are really good with examples.

By Christopher D

Jan 28, 2020

Very informative but the peer review process was a little stressful when it took too long :)

By Fatma A A Y

Nov 25, 2019

Very good course.

The only point i dislike is that the students reviews each other projects .

By Karina G V D

Feb 24, 2021

It is a good course, and I've learned a lot. However, getting reviews is a bit difficult.

By Roberto M

Nov 23, 2020

Excelente estructura, sencilla y fácil de entender teniendo en cuenta la modalidad online

By Marie C O

Aug 1, 2022

​even though there is peer review, no one geniunly takes the time to review your work

By Hima T

Jun 5, 2020

Peer review system can be improved. Some peers just don't take the review seriously.

By Supravo C N

Jun 10, 2020

As a beginner graphic designer this course is very friendly and easy to understand

By Iana N

Jul 6, 2020

The material was explained well and clearly. But it's a lot about self-discipline.

By David L

Aug 7, 2020

Solid, if brief, foundation course on graphic design for the UI/UX certification.

By OsamaJ

Apr 19, 2020

The course is really good for introduction and fundamentals for the UI / UX world

By Deleted A

Jun 18, 2020

I would like to get feedback from knowledgeable people to evaluate my homework.

By Ernest O

May 22, 2020

The course is very detailed and interactive. I'll recommend it for any beginner

By Nile R

Jul 23, 2021

d​ishonest reviewers are not cool. Please figure something better to vet this

By Gia B Đ

Aug 10, 2022

It seems hard to follow and to comprehend the content sometime in my opinion

By Eddo D

Sep 19, 2019

Great course, it can make you understand the basic of UI/UX. Easy to follow!