Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
5,050 ratings

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

JM

Nov 20, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

RS

Dec 31, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 1,262 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Mir R

Dec 10, 2020

The material was excellently laid out. My main issue was with the grading system, since I had to resubmit my final assignment with some people in the class grading it as if this was a senior project instead of the introductory course that it is.

By Iván J

Aug 30, 2021

While it provided a lot of good theoretical content, a lot of it relies on outdated scenarios/interfaces. It is a good course for a super beginner, but not for people like me who already know the theory but want to improve their UI skills.

By Tassawar A

Mar 9, 2022

Over all the basic of this course is very good. I am giving 3 stars because the way of explaining it on screen is not good. It can be more catchy. They should use little bit animations for explanations. But the course is informative.

By Swaroopkrishna N

Jun 6, 2020

I loved this course. But the thing that pisses me off is the peer to peer review, the grade is just so unfair. The peers are inexperienced, they do not have any ability or right to judge other peers. Grades matter to users.

By Dalilah B

Apr 21, 2020

The theory part is very well done and the explanation in every video is perfect. I regret a bit the fact that the only judges are peers regarding the exams. It should have been 50/50 with a professional part.

By BELARBI M A

Apr 21, 2020

useful for beginners who have no background knowledge in UI/UX DESIGN and it's helpful to start your own career in app or web design.

you have to review peer grading idea because i think it's not really fair.

By Mirela C

Jun 21, 2021

Course is pretty basic. For a person who already has some UI design knowledge it will be too easy. The information and visual examples are very outdated. The voice recording is of poor quality.

By Monique C

May 21, 2020

It was well explained and a great intro to UI design. However, I think I would've greqtly benefited from at least one project being graded by a professional as opposed to my fellow peers.

By Shannon F

Jul 19, 2021

This course gives a good theoretical overview of UI design which is important, but not much practical experience or any real world examples that would relate to a real world experience

By Juliette M

Jan 8, 2021

The course was almost a bit too basic, not in its core lecturing, but the given assignments. I really didn't walk away from this course feeling like I did anything of substance.

By Vibha B S

Aug 30, 2020

The overall course is good but my point is they have to explain designing tools as well so that people can easily design their app easier with a more clear interface.

By Krishna V K

Jul 5, 2020

Great Learning experience. The pier review system can be imporved a lot by adding resposibility on the part of the reviewer

By Alice L

May 6, 2022

I​ am sorry to say that, but it's WAY TOO OUTDATED. Maybe basic info is ok, but the examples they gave.. ugh.

By Єлизавета В

Apr 23, 2022

i​t is the real basic. I would like more lessons to learn how to use some programs for such a design.

By ANGELIKI M

Jun 25, 2021

the course is great buτ something you need to do to subjectively evaluate work that exceeds any limit

By Marion K

Feb 7, 2022

Der Kurs blieb sehr an der Oberflaeche. Ich wuerde ihn eher als Einfuehrung in das Webdesign sehen.

By Mohy e T

Jul 16, 2022

V​ery good but needs more practical explanation how to use FIGMA or ADOBE XD

By Hisyam N

Jul 26, 2020

I found some people review unfair, I hope this course that can immprove

By Mallika M

May 18, 2022

Can talk more about text sizes with regards to app and website.

By jil m

Apr 24, 2020

good course so far . . . although, I'm hoping it gets better

By SATYAM D

Oct 2, 2020

Its easy for the beginner to learn about simple elements.

By Yvonne L

Oct 7, 2020

Grading all based on peer reviews would be unfair

By YENIFER S

Mar 8, 2022

Buen curso!, pero debería estar actualizado