Chevron Left
Back to Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan by The University of Tokyo

4.8
stars
534 ratings
170 reviews

About the Course

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Top reviews

DP
Oct 8, 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

YM
Nov 30, 2020

It was really fun to learn about the history of such art pieces as well as the notable people behind its creation and influence. Mr. Campbell discussed everything clearly as expected.

Filter by:

151 - 170 of 170 Reviews for Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

By Lisheng H

Dec 9, 2017

Unique scope of history

By Vy N

Mar 16, 2019

I love this course!!!

By jordi o j

Dec 7, 2017

so interesting info!

By Douglas Q

May 18, 2020

Very Interesting!

By Sebastian G

Dec 1, 2017

Excellent Course!

By Sofiia Z

Feb 22, 2021

Amazing course!

By Hisanori S

Mar 24, 2021

Hisanori Sato

By Kleber L d S

Oct 24, 2019

Muito bom.

By Pratap C J

Nov 30, 2020

Loved it

By Gabriela A C

Dec 29, 2017

Great.

By Lee Y S J

Dec 3, 2017

I found the course content very interesting and the delivery generally very easy to understand. The professor also showed his wealth of knowledge in the subject matter through his lectures. If there is one thing which I was unhappy about, it has to be the subtitles for the lectures which were riddled with mistakes and the Japanese terms had a fair number of spelling mistakes. If this can be improved, it will help the students learn better. On a related note, it would be good to have the Japanese names of the individuals featured in the course as I find that there are limited resources in English if I want to do further reading on these people and would need their names in Japanese script to find resources in Japanese.

By Thana S

Feb 9, 2021

The course is very good for non-Japanese reader by having an English professor convey the class. The story and guide gave me new knowledge that could not be found from the book. The only minor thing is I'd expect more photographs and paintings demonstrated in this course. Thank you

By Ebru O

Jan 4, 2018

The course presents an interesting point of view that combines literature and visual materials (ukiyo-e, illustrations and photographs) in Japanese culture. There are many specific examples that we study and make the concept easier to understand.

By Sumyi L

Apr 19, 2020

Nice learning pace and interesting pick of works of art. It will be great if it can come with a suggested reading list.

By Pilar P d C

Apr 13, 2018

Fascinating information of Japans changing mindset in reference to the image and the onset of photography.

By Kellan M

Mar 31, 2020

Very interesting subject for those interested in art of the world.

By Vivek S

Aug 13, 2020

A nice course on the literary prowess of 19th century Japan.

By Tong J

Jul 15, 2019

Great subject and helped solving the modern Japanese esthetic puzzles. But I think Robert Campbell is not well-prepared in this course as a narrator. If could just use half of the "emm" in the lecture, the videos will sorter for sure, but still watching him talking about something he loves is extremely fascinating.

By Caroline H

Jan 24, 2018

It was a surprise to see a course on this topic. At first I found the central premise fascinating, but would have preferred more conciseness in the lectures and a wider variety of assessment tasks. For instance, why not have students analyse some images themselves?

By Justin H

Dec 23, 2019

There was some interesting information here, but I can not imagine any situation where a certificate of completion for this course would be useful. About half of the images could have been interchanged with any number of random photos from the period.