Chevron Left
Back to Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
4,344 ratings
1,144 reviews

About the Course

The vital signs – heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, respiration rate, and pain – communicate important information about the physiological status of the human body. In this six-part course we explore the anatomy and physiology underlying the vital signs so that you will develop a systematic, integrated understanding of how the body functions. Relevant body systems are reviewed including cardiovascular and respiratory, followed by explanations of how the function of these systems affects vital signs. We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs. The course also includes demonstrations of appropriate techniques for measuring vital signs in yourself and others. The course is designed for a broad, general audience but will be particularly interesting for individuals working in healthcare, those considering a career as a healthcare professional, lay caregivers, those with an interest in personal health and fitness, or anyone who simply wants to understand how the body functions....

Top reviews

BR
Sep 29, 2018

Yes, it is very useful to me and I will suggest to my friends to take this course. My sincere Thanks to Connie B. Scanga, PhD, she taken the all lecture clearly and her lecture was easy to understand.

TB
Aug 15, 2018

Great Course ! It provides important information regarding anatomy and physiology of the main systems in our body. The video lectures are very interactive and Dr. Scanga has a great ability to teach.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,128 Reviews for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

By DeShaun R

Nov 2, 2020

All I have to say is if I had Dr. Scanga my first few years of studies I definitely would've gone to class. Great teaching made easy to follow.

By Maureen T

Sep 16, 2016

Well organized and well presented. I felt that I had learnt a lot in this course, it was exactly as described and easy to fit into my schedule.

By Aqil A

Nov 21, 2019

it was the good online resource for the students to study their interesting subject

at last i am very thanks to coursera team for this content

By Iskander S

Jan 31, 2019

I d Like to say many thanks for the great experience to all teaching stuff. Es[ecially to Dr.Scanga!

Wish Your team great success to good luck!

By Sinem S

Jun 19, 2018

i feel thankful about this course. vital signs examination is the most important part in physical examination. I updated my health information

By Pranav Y

Nov 14, 2017

Coming from a engineering background, this course gave a lot of insight into my own human body. #vital_things_to_know_about_yourself_literally

By Sharon L

Jul 12, 2020

Great course if you are looking to learn more about the human body in your own time or if you desire to further your education in healthcare.

By jasmyn l

May 11, 2020

great for students & professionals. Gives a deeper understanding & explaining to what's going on and allows us to teach our patients as well!

By LUIZ N S F

Oct 4, 2019

Muito bom. A mesclagem de informações facilita a compreensão entre os sistemas e as reações internas e externas ocorridas no organismo humano

By Himeur M

Oct 24, 2020

Amazing and really pedagogical ways to explain things, this helped me review most of what I learned this year in medical school!! Thank you!

By Shruthi G

Jul 3, 2020

Very engaging! Dr. Scanga teaches in a way that is very easy to understand. The demonstrations in between every lesson were also fascinating

By Therese M M A

Apr 21, 2020

I love how Dr. Scangga discussed the topics and how each lessons are delivered that is in slow understandable manner to a student.

thank you.

By Alfred I

Nov 14, 2018

Very nice balance of the functional clinical information and the physiology behind the data. Delivered in a pleasant and interesting format.

By Balaji S

Oct 17, 2018

i learned many thing in this course with lots of knowledge. Thank you for this wonderful course and many doubt has clarified in this course.

By K V M A K

Jan 10, 2021

Very educative and informative. Well explained at an excellent pace as well as with clinical studies. Enjoyed learning . Thank you so much.

By YU T

Apr 29, 2020

This is an amazing course! Thank you so much for giving me this opportunities to learned so much about vital signs! I really appreciate it~

By Anthony V

Jun 24, 2017

Very informative course on every vitals taken in any medical setting. I'm glad I've taken this course. The course was very straightforward!

By Susan H

May 30, 2017

Have really enjoyed this course and how it was presented. Dr. Scanga is fantastic and patient in her explanations of each topic. Thank you!

By Gregg I

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent introduction with just enough information to give you a general idea of what is going on within your body and how it is assessed.

By gaby z

Aug 23, 2020

los profes son muy buenos y es un curso muy completo, todo va paso por paso con videos de demostracion sobre cada tema, lo disfrute mucho.

By Hendrik K

Jun 25, 2020

Learnt so much about my body. Although it is basic by medical standards, it opens the door and encourages myself to explore more in-depth.

By Sodhiqa F

Sep 14, 2017

Thank you so much for providing this course. This course helped me a lot. I got lots of new information. Hope this would help in my future

By Lisset M R

Jan 29, 2021

It is an interest course, it helps you understand a lot more about Vital Signs and the resources are good for you to read and study them!

By Suresh K G

Sep 4, 2020

very informative course conducted in a simplified manner.

Well conducted course and I have found it to be useful.

Thanks and regards

Grewal

By Suzanne L

Apr 26, 2020

Very good course. Much more detail then I expected. Very helpful information for someone who hasn't been in a classroom for a long time.