Chevron Left
Back to Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
4,338 ratings
1,143 reviews

About the Course

The vital signs – heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, respiration rate, and pain – communicate important information about the physiological status of the human body. In this six-part course we explore the anatomy and physiology underlying the vital signs so that you will develop a systematic, integrated understanding of how the body functions. Relevant body systems are reviewed including cardiovascular and respiratory, followed by explanations of how the function of these systems affects vital signs. We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs. The course also includes demonstrations of appropriate techniques for measuring vital signs in yourself and others. The course is designed for a broad, general audience but will be particularly interesting for individuals working in healthcare, those considering a career as a healthcare professional, lay caregivers, those with an interest in personal health and fitness, or anyone who simply wants to understand how the body functions....

Top reviews

BR
Sep 29, 2018

Yes, it is very useful to me and I will suggest to my friends to take this course. My sincere Thanks to Connie B. Scanga, PhD, she taken the all lecture clearly and her lecture was easy to understand.

JA
Oct 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It looked at vital signs in a really different view from the traditional ways of looking at it and it was really informative. The practical sessions too were great. Nice!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,127 Reviews for Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

By Narain M

Jul 23, 2017

This is really an amazing introductory course in order to understand the basics of vital signs and how they are physiologically related.

By Akhil A

Jul 26, 2020

The course was a great introduction to human anatomy and physiology and the professor explained the different concepts very thoroughly.

By Andrij S

May 13, 2019

вельми цікавий курс, дізнався багато нового про своє тіло, дякую!

very interesting, learned lot of new things about my body, thank you!

By Claudia A

Aug 29, 2018

Dr. Scanga explains with an easy-understanding and well-detailed information and examples. Looking forward for another course from her!

By Michael S

Sep 24, 2016

I took this course as a refresher and it served that purpose very well. I would like to see a specialization in this area. Nice course!

By Haleema S

Dec 30, 2020

it was a wonderful experience in learning about vital signs of our body and making your time worthy during this time of COVID-19 break

By Emma F

Mar 19, 2017

So informative and isn't boring at all. I like how it's set up like a classroom and there are lots of demonstrations for each lecture.

By Alda A d C

Dec 29, 2016

Muito bom, muito abrangente e ao mesmo tempo muito especifico. Os conteúdos são facilmente apreendidos devido à clareza da informação.

By Shannyn S

Jun 21, 2020

Dr Scanga is an amazing professor - she made the material easy to understand and explained everything slowly. A great course overall!

By isabela p

Jun 21, 2020

I really like how Connie teaches us about the heart and other various subjects. She is one of my favorite professors on this website.

By Daniel D

Aug 12, 2017

A very exciting course. Simple, introductory level, but made me realize many relationships I was not aware of. 10/10 would recommend.

By Alison H

Oct 18, 2020

I think that this course is very informative and is ideal for anyone . I would highly recommend pre med students to try this course.

By maya w

Aug 23, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I loved the different demonstrations in the sim lab and the engagement with the students in the class.

By HAFSA E H

Mar 23, 2020

I really love it sonce you can study and at the same time practicing and answering with the team wich is a great method of learning.

By pedro d

Feb 25, 2020

Me ayudó mucho a comprender, cosas que en el contexto clínico, ves a diario, y con esta base, se le hace mucho más fácil comprender.

By ASMA V

Dec 11, 2017

IT WAS GREAT STUDYING IN THIS CLASS WITH DR. SCANGA. LOVED THE WAY SHE TEACHES & HAMMERS CONCEPTS INTO YOUR BRAIN. WONDERFUL COURSE.

By Yara C

Jul 25, 2020

I learned so much from the comfort of my home and feel motivated enough to embark on a journey in medical studies. Thank you a lot!

By phalsy H

Jun 22, 2020

I have gained so much from this course, the entire course was very informative and practical and it is very productive. Thank you.

By Jose A M

Apr 12, 2020

I learnt a lot specifically from Dr. Scanga. She's my favorite. I also like Natalie, too bad she disappeared mid-course. Hi Natalie

By Lida K

Apr 18, 2019

I'm so glad I've found this course! It is interesting and helpful. Dr. Scanga is the best teacher anyone could wish for. Thank you!

By Aline T

May 3, 2020

Exciting and very well taught, this course inspired me to pursue my dream career. I am very grateful for the experience as a whole

By Senna A

Mar 12, 2018

Really enjoyed the depth of knowledge this course provided. I was able to learn at my own pace and fit it around my work schedule.

By Elsa M I A

May 5, 2016

Excelent, I love the way Dr. Scanga explains things and without too much audiovisual help.

I´d like more deep review. Thanks a lot.

By Thaís D U d M

May 3, 2020

Amazing teaching methods combined with achievable weekly learning goals. Very interesting lectures and teaching dynamics as well.

By ashley d

Apr 25, 2020

Super interesting and informative. I learned many new things. I loved the professor and will be taking more courses on coursera!