Chevron Left
Back to Web Application Development: Basic Concepts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Web Application Development: Basic Concepts by University of New Mexico

4.4
stars
168 ratings
57 reviews

About the Course

This is the first course in a Coursera Specialization track involving Web Application Architectures. This course will give you the basic background, terminology and fundamental concepts that you need to understand in order to build modern full stack web applications. A full stack web developer is familiar with each "layer" of the software technologies involved in a web application, including data modeling and database technologies, the web server environment and middleware components, network protocols, the user interface and basic visual design and user interaction concepts. In this course we will learn by doing. We will start by learning the major components of web application architectures, along with the fundamental design patterns and philosophies that are used to organize them. You will build and continually refine a fully functional full-stack web application as we progress through the modules in this course. Along the way you will be exposed to agile software development practices, numerous tools that software engineers are expected to know how to use, and a modern web application development framework. This course is also available in Spanish. To join the Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/apliweb....

Top reviews

ZS
Dec 28, 2016

Very good introduction, with clear explanations and excellent examples! If you are new to web apps, this is a great choice to get started!

JR
Jun 30, 2016

I have enjoyed this course so far more than others like it that were similar. I look forward to finishing it.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 57 Reviews for Web Application Development: Basic Concepts

By J. E

Mar 5, 2017

Complete, exhaustive and nicely organized. Just wonderful.

By Andrea R

Feb 14, 2017

Great course, crystal clear and focused on the practice!

By VL

Aug 22, 2018

Uber easy to follow,understand, and packed knowledge!!

By Qianli Y

May 5, 2017

Good introductions to all tiers in web application.

By Surashree P

Jul 15, 2021

i am really glad about you, thank you so much

By Sahin A

Jul 14, 2021

it was an amazing course i enjoyed.thank you

By Gabriele B

Sep 3, 2017

complete and practical course, recommended

By Viswanathreddy S

Mar 26, 2017

Great MOOC i ever saw, Thank you very much

By Jay E

Apr 7, 2018

The wisdom of the UX is forever relevant

By l T

Apr 17, 2017

Excellent introduction.

By shadrack o

Jun 7, 2016

Love Prof Heileman

By Kihyun R C

Sep 4, 2017

Helpful lecture

By 승태 김

Sep 4, 2017

So Good Course

By Ankita M

Jun 25, 2021

VERY HELPFUL

By Suryansh V

Nov 13, 2018

EDUCATIONAL

By Francisco H C

Feb 8, 2017

Great!!!!

By Kshitij C

Jun 12, 2018

good one

By Séverine F

Aug 3, 2017

A very good course, which gives a good introduction to web applications development. It provides all the pieces necessary to build a web application, and put them together in a understandable way.

It also gives an overview about the various technologies used.

However, the exercices are a bit too oriented. I would have appreciated to add additional features by myself, in order to have a better understanding of what we were doing.

By Michael Y

Oct 26, 2016

It was a decent but definitely surface-level introduction to the concepts surrounding Web App development. A wealth of vocabulary is defined. There's just too much material to cover in one class to understand any one concept deeply. However, a broad array of basic concepts are introduced and I benefited from taking the class.

By Kaustuv M

Apr 9, 2019

Its a nice course and can be more perfect if it is provided with sites where I can explore on this topic more easily. Except this this gives a perfect basic knowledge to go round with it. I like to see another course which will be a advance one of this course. Thanking courser and university faculty for this wonderful course.

By Akash C

Jul 8, 2017

This course explains the concept of modern web application development. It briefs about web-application technologies, MVC design pattern and Agile methodology. The course uses Ruby on Rails as the primary framework to describe web-application concepts and methodologies.

By Roquibul A

Sep 2, 2020

The theory part is excellent for this course but the programming part seems to be brief. It should be more elaborated and practical oriented. It seems that in the programming part we are rushing fast. It should be little slow as well.

By SANDRA C S O

Dec 3, 2020

Great course. For me vas a little complicated, because I don't understand much English. But I learned so much. Thank you.

By Nir P

Jul 27, 2016

good course - give the big picture perspective. especially if you using ruby on rails!

By Gaurav D

May 4, 2020

This course is Fun learning experience. the basis concepts are organized well