Chevron Left
Back to Building Web Applications in PHP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Web Applications in PHP by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
4,065 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Top reviews

YY

Feb 9, 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

YS

Jan 12, 2022

Had to hear/watch some videos multiple times, unlike the other course I took with Dr Chuck. Could be sql really is his favorite. Could also be that I have absolute no previous knowledge of PHP.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 912 Reviews for Building Web Applications in PHP

By Fadila K Y

Jul 17, 2020

great

By ANBAZHAGAN.A

Dec 25, 2022

good

By Aditya D (

Nov 15, 2021

good

By Omar A M

Nov 12, 2021

NICE

By V H K (

Sep 12, 2021

well

By Thota V S K T (

Sep 6, 2021

GOOD

By KGS R B G

Apr 11, 2021

good

By Ajith. S

Nov 25, 2020

good

By PRAJAPATI K K

Oct 28, 2020

Tysm

By Md. A H

Oct 5, 2020

Good

By DHRUV J

Sep 26, 2020

Nice

By Abdullah a

Aug 25, 2020

cool

By Manal D y

Jul 31, 2020

good

By BALAKRISHNAN A

Jun 2, 2020

good

By BY 1 V F

May 28, 2020

good

By Shivam P

Aug 5, 2019

good

By Raf H A R

Dec 18, 2018

Good

By Chitransh N

Oct 15, 2018

good

By Matheus R N

Sep 24, 2022

bom

By Praveen K

Aug 14, 2022

ni

By Paul D

Mar 22, 2022

I always like Prof. Severance's courses. I seek them out and the content is always great. I did feel in this one that a lot of material needs cleaning up - it seems to be growing and sprawling with a lot of old stuff not pruned away. A few of the instructions for HW could be a bit more clearly written, or maybe I am just getting lazy sorting them out.

By Debanjoly C

Jul 1, 2020

Course content is great.The instructor will never make you feel bored. Enjoyed learning new things.But this was a really basic PHP course.Seeing the course name expected bit more from the course rather than just learning the syntax and basic stuffs.However whatever the course contains is great for anyone who wants to start web development.

By Andrew S

Nov 11, 2019

A great course. At first look it seemed to me a quite easy. However, by moving step by step through it, it takes a lot of contribution to finish it. As a result, I understand a basics of a HTML, PHP. Now I know how these programming languages operates in the browser and a web server.

By Guillermo A R N

Apr 3, 2019

Very good teacher, I have learn a macro view on how web applications work. In my opinion the course needs whether more challenging exercises, or change the name "Building Web Applications in PHP" by "Understanding Web Applications in PHP".

By RACHIT R

Jun 6, 2020

This was a great introductory course. The instructor taught in a manner that was both enriching and enjoyable. However, I felt that more content could have been covered in this course given that it was an 8 week-long course.