Chevron Left
Back to Building Web Applications in PHP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Web Applications in PHP by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
4,057 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Top reviews

YY

Feb 9, 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

YS

Jan 12, 2022

Had to hear/watch some videos multiple times, unlike the other course I took with Dr Chuck. Could be sql really is his favorite. Could also be that I have absolute no previous knowledge of PHP.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 912 Reviews for Building Web Applications in PHP

By Arnab G

Dec 27, 2021

great

By SAURAV D

May 3, 2021

Good

By RITWIK S

May 3, 2021

good

By Ashish K U

Sep 20, 2020

good

By Avirup M

Sep 8, 2020

good

By Roshan P

Jul 25, 2020

good

By Shaeed A H

Jun 6, 2020

good

By Louie S

Nov 6, 2019

easy

By Torsten H

Aug 31, 2020

In Week 5, we finally start learning PHP and we also are told that the instructor hopes it's not our first programming language. Start with Python first maybe, he says. !!! Well, that might have been handy to know at the outset. So, now I'm left wondering if I should start Python first...

Other than that, so far I am enjoying the course immensely. The instructor is humorous, has some fun historical information (which I happen to like) and explains things generally well.

By Jose V

Jan 25, 2021

The lectures were excellent, but the projects were oversimplified where only 2 or 3 lines of code needed to be modified out of 70. Would have been better to have to make more substantial additions to the code, with coaching available.

I didn't feel like I left with knowledge that was going to stick. I will see how I feel after I take more courses in the specialty.

By Tuomo P

Aug 12, 2019

The assignments are frustratingly worded. It takes time to get your head around the goals of the assignments. However, a great course for a true beginner to get a taste of html, css & PHP. You need to learn how to code PHP later though, this is mostly about modifying existing source codes.

By Pablo B

Aug 29, 2022

El curso me resultó muy interesante y productivo. Creo que está bien explicado aunque podría profundizar mejor algunos temas. Me resultaron un poco entreveradas las propuestas de evaluación, muchos pasos e indicaciones pero en general todo ok. Gracias!

By Dinesh K

Aug 13, 2021

it is overall a good course, the only trouble you'll be facing is that the a lot of things that aren't taught will be given as an assignment in the end which makes it kind of frustrating

By Harold S R M

Mar 7, 2023

This is a good course, but very very short and the important things are not included. But if you want a very basic introduction to PHP to do web applications, this is a good start

By Palavi R

Aug 20, 2020

I did not understand the last part week 8, it was very hard to understand what was the professor trying to explain, GET POST , I did get the jist but hard to understand

By Thinzar W

Nov 8, 2020

It perfects for beginners who are starting to learn web development. I would prefer some practical knowledge and exercise in course.

By Oscar F R P

Jul 12, 2020

The last assignment submitted into the autograder has serious description problems...

By jaycsp003

Feb 9, 2020

The assignment is too easy, If you can read the description carefully.

By Sudhanshu S

Apr 29, 2020

Assignments are very beginner level. They should be more challenging.

By Gustavo A C C

Dec 3, 2020

El curso bueno pero el autograder no funciona muy bien

By ibars j

Jun 26, 2020

Need a details about real time web applications

By Kotaru K V

Jun 28, 2020

i dont think this level will be sufficient

By Seif E M

Oct 6, 2020

not the best PHP course but it's okay

By Nacer K

Apr 27, 2022

good course, thank you dr. chuck

By Kartik N

Aug 17, 2020

still confused in GET and POST