Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Accounting by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
7,709 ratings

About the Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

MM

Feb 3, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

EY

Sep 19, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,797 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Accounting

By Julieanna T

Jun 12, 2017

This course was so incredibly helpful in introducing me to accounting concepts. The material at the end in week four was very enjoyable, and helped me with the broader picture. I think it opened my mind to the possibility that accounting is more than just bean counting and can actually be fun!

By Nicole B

Jun 28, 2016

This course provided real life examples that help you understand what the professor is talking about. He has some characters that ask questions through out the video, the robotic voices are distracting but the questions are very helpful. I would recommend for anyone starting out in accounting.

By Kyle K

Jun 11, 2020

While I hated the subject matter, Brian Bushee did a fantastic job acknowledging where things might not make sense quite yet, and emphasize that they would be clarified later. There was enough humor in the videos to keep them entertaining, and that certainly helped get me through the lessons.

By Muhammad N b M B

Feb 16, 2019

This course is easy to understand for those who do not have accounting background like me. It really helps me to understand the basic components in financial accounting and how financial statements are prepared and analysed. The materials can be downloaded and I can always read them offline.

By victoria n

Aug 23, 2019

Thank you so much for giving me this opportunity to study financial accounting with you,the course has helped me acquire different accounting skills and am sure its going to help develop my career and my skills through gaining accounting experience so as to become a successful accountant.

By Todd A

Mar 16, 2019

I love this course, it was pretty tough for me at first but Professor Bushee's enthusiasm for accounting (accompanied by many corny, but appreciated, jokes) keeps you interested and entertained. I wound up learning a lot and developing an interest for accounting that I didn't know I had.

By Nikhil S

May 7, 2020

Professor Bushee takes into account the fact that people taking this course might not have any prior knowledge of finance and thus explains the concepts ground up. The course makes gradual progress from basics to analysis of financial statements which is easily replicable in real world.

By Joselito F

Mar 1, 2021

Professor Brian Bushee is very good and very professional . He has a way of making complicated topics simple and understandable even for beginners. The course provides the essentials of financial accounting and applies it to real world scenarios. I am happy I enrolled in the course.

By Paula A C G

Sep 28, 2020

Brian J. Bushee is a wonderful instructor, he has a tremendous ability to transmit his knowledge in a very simple and direct way. He has a lot of fun teaching, he is also smart and funny. I enjoyed a lot this course and he explained so detail that anyone can learn from scratch like me.

By Sabrina I

Sep 9, 2020

I manage massage therapists at a day spa in San Francisco. During quarantine, I thought I would learn some new skills. This course was challenging for me, but Professor Bushee made it fun with his corny sense of humor. Challenging but totally satisfying. I highly recommend this course.

By Mandy C O

Mar 19, 2016

I still don't understand why I had to learn credits and debits if the professor said there are people who don't subscribe to this belief in accounting. Would have liked to know why he found it critical. But the professor was friendly, made the course fun, and very useful to me. Thanks!

By Ruth L

May 22, 2017

Excellent class! The professor is great at explaining things and the animated students make it easier to process thoughts given that they ask questions that I would be thinking - thus the Professors answers would answer my questions simultaneously. The pace of the class is just right!

By Rohit B

May 24, 2020

As I am from Engineering Background so it quite difficult for me to start from real basics and also the quizzes were very challenging , these quizzes push your limits and make you understand that concepts which you did not retained . Overall this is a great course . Happy E-Learning.

By Christopher P

Sep 30, 2017

I've always had a bit of a tough time with Accounting so in this review of Prof. Bushee's class I really enjoyed his virtual student questions and jokes. Made a fairly dry subject (to me) like accounting much more interesting and made me look forward to the video lectures every time.

By yuan

Jun 2, 2020

I had no financial accounting experiences at all before the class. The first week module was definitely hard for beginners. But sticking to it, watching twice or more, it pays off! I was motivating myself that after this I'd be able to understand financial statements to pick stocks!

By Marissa F

Jan 8, 2019

Brilliant instructor, well-paced and well-structured. Notes and examples facilitate learning and the interactive exercises throughout the videos test understanding and keep the course engaging. Highly recommend this course for anyone looking for a foundation or primer on accounting.

By Ortenca K

Mar 2, 2017

Very well done course, thanks to Professor Bushee! Although rather dense and abstract material the virtual students break up the power point slides, and ask some good questions. Thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned so much about basic accounting and how to read annual reports.

By Nish A

Jan 31, 2016

One of the best courses I've taken on Coursera! I would LOVE to take more courses from Prof. Bushee! Loved the simulated students...especially the guy who hates 'PAR VALUE'...I could totally relate to him ;)

Thank you once again for this amazing course structure...loving it so far!

By Piriyapong W

Apr 26, 2020

The professor of this course has given a lot of examples in his slide as well as real cases from well-known companies. This has broadened my knowledge in finance a lot. Also, the professor always has a sense of humor with animated students, making the online class so much fun. Love

By Daniela N A B

Dec 3, 2016

I really liked the course, I was a nullable person when comes to accounting, but now, I have gained a lot of knowledge to know how an enterprise is doing financially, no I can help with managerial skills when it comes to take financial decisions, of course I need to keep practicing

By Tetiana N

Jun 28, 2021

This might be the best course you'll take on Coursera. and its all thanks to the teacher!!!! he is amazing! Lessons are clear, with examples and with humor even, tests are prepared very well: not too easy but all within syllabus of lessons. I now want to follow all his courses :)

By Clara I A

Sep 15, 2018

I loved the course. It helped me to understand the Financial Accounting jargon and concepts much better. The homework and exams are challenging but doable. I love the virtual students, they are so much fun and their questions are very relevant.

Thank you..

See you Next Video!!

By Palak N

Oct 5, 2017

This is an amazing course for even accounting/auditing professionals.

I have used this course as base refresher before appearing for my CPA examinations, and I must say my basics have become a lot stronger through this.

Thanks for all the hard-work that went into this, Professor.

By xue l

Nov 20, 2016

I'm reading in China Shanghai Open University , my major is accounting ,the course is taught once twice a month not full time , so a course in school is too short for me to understand it. Luckily I can learn from the best teachers here too. I'm new here , hope I can catch up : )

By JOHN D H

Aug 10, 2016

My brain is full! I'm not a numbers person, by choice, but i felt i needed some supplemental knowledge to help with running my business and this was a great course. It really helped to put a lot of things in perspective, as far as organizing the numbers that drive my business.