Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Accounting by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
6,566 ratings
1,554 reviews

About the Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

EY
Sep 19, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

MM
Feb 3, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,520 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Accounting

By Abhishek A

Apr 6, 2016

Excellent course to build one's basics in Financial Accounting.The faculty for this course Professor Brian Bushee is just too good. The quizzes offered in this course also tests one's grasp over the subject matter.Overall its a great learning experience .

By Zernan B D

Feb 17, 2016

The basic accounting cycle was covered in a fairly short amount of time (4 weeks). It was concise and understandable with practical examples. Prof. Bushee's dry humor is also surprisingly fascinating. Highly recommended for beginners and refreshers alike.

By Ryan D

Jul 15, 2020

Mr. Bushee provided a great deal of information and concepts, but managed to keep it light. While his virtual students may have prompted some eye rolls, they acted as an efficient break in the monotony of accounting. I learned a lot, I highly recommend.

By Pravar J

Apr 13, 2020

A very well structured course that teaches you the basics of accounting and helps you understand the hidden meaning behind the various accounting statements. Also, would like to thank Professor Brian Bushee who went an extra mile to make accounting fun!

By Maria L Z

Apr 19, 2020

It has been a very usuful course for me even if I have never studied financial accounting. I have to say that's a very diffucult subject matter, anyway the professor is great, he may explain everithing in a simple way and provide you a lot of exemples.

By George M

Sep 19, 2018

Surprisingly engaging course material for a very dry topic, especially given that it's online. I came looking for the ability to better understand a company's financial reporting and I honestly think I can do that. I'll look for Bushee's other classes!

By Carolina G

Sep 12, 2017

Very thorough and silly course. The professor tries to be entertaining in a very dorky way and it totally works for me but I could see some people getting annoyed. I wish there were more opportunities to practice in addition to the homework exercises.

By Anadi M

Apr 20, 2019

Excellent Course. Professor Brian explains the concepts in such an easy manner with the help of so many examples that it is easy to understand the concepts eventually. Looking forward to the next course More Introduction to Financial Accounting next.

By AO G

Mar 26, 2017

This professor was FANTASTIC. I originally took this class for the certificate, but I found that I really enjoy accounting, and am planning to take the second part now. The professor was enthusiastic, a great teacher, and used great learning devices.

By Sebastiaan L R

Dec 1, 2020

Excellent course! Very interesting and helpful in the way of beginning an education in financial accounting. Professor Bushee clearly knows what he is talking about and manages to make a tough subject fun to learn with his enthousiasm and knowledge.

By Debdulal K

May 21, 2020

It is a very intensive Accounting Program. To pass this course, one must be efficient at solving very critical aspects of Financial Accounting and Analysis. A great course for anyone to refresh as well as to hone Accounting skills. Great Learning !!

By Luciana B M

Aug 11, 2020

Excelente curso! Essencial para quem quer ter seu próprio negócio ou está interessado em aprender sobre investimentos. O curso tem muitos exemplos práticos e a cada aula que você termina, já encontra um PDF com o resumo da aula pronto para estudar.

By Muhammad I

Jun 13, 2020

Well structured and explained course. The virtual students not only served as the means of answering the frequently asked questions but also made the class interesting. Also, the use of real-world company's data really made the concepts applicable.

By Adan P

Mar 13, 2020

Very challenging but very satisfying to take this course. Reviewing the material as a whole is still pretty challenging. I wish they had a master powerpoint of all the slides so that I can easily search for the concepts to review older information.

By Wenjun G

Aug 21, 2017

It is a really great experience to accomplish this course online. The professor explained all concepts clearly and tried to make the whole course more interesting. It's an exciting start of your accounting journey and do not hesitate to enroll in.

By Sterling H

Jul 15, 2017

This course was both eye-opening and informative. As a buyer, I took the class to better understand the financial impact of what I buy, and what was taught will help me understand and discuss business more intelligently with my finance department.

By Andrew K

Sep 20, 2017

This is a great course, and Professor Brian Bushee is organized and skilled at teaching. I enjoyed the virtual students, and learned a lot from the style of introducing the material and doing a variety of examples. Thanks for the helpful course!

By Lucia G V

Nov 26, 2017

Hello. I really loved this course. All the information and examples are very useful, also the perfect amount of time on each video is excellent. Moreover, the pinch of sense of humor from the teacher makes this course very enjoyable. Thank you.

By Gautam A K

Feb 3, 2020

Introduction to Financial Accounting is a good course to gain some skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis. Professor Brian J Bushee keeps you engaged with his virtual students and good wits.

By VISWESWARA R M

Jan 29, 2016

In terms of Value for the Money you Spend by way of Fee, it is the Best Online Course on Financial Accounting. The Professor draws you into the deeper arenas of the subject with ease & comfort and makes you yearn for more and more knowledge.

By Luciano P G

May 31, 2018

The content of the course is very well explained and shown. The professor has a very organized and didactic way of explaining the topics. I would recommend this course to everyone i know that want to learn more about financial accounting.

By Leon R

Sep 4, 2020

Great introductory course, which takes plenty of time to explain and discuss some of the more difficult concepts. Really loved the virtual students. They added great variety to the lessons and were used cleverly to expand on some topics.

By Yazeed A A

Mar 28, 2020

I recommend this course you will learn accounting like piece of cake :) .. What is good about this course is clear explanation and second is you will take at the end revisiting for completed course ,so sure You will get it in your mind .

By Dhananjay L

Feb 28, 2016

Great course ! The difficulty level increases gradually and Professor Bushee anticipates the possible questions and answers them through the virtual students. The classes are filled with nerdy jokes and humor which makes them engaging.

By Anna C

Nov 12, 2020

Informative, user-friendly, and entertaining. The professor made the topic accessible, even for beginners. I came away with a solid foundation in accounting and an improved ability to interpret financial statements. Highly recommended!