Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Accounting by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
6,569 ratings
1,554 reviews

About the Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

EY
Sep 19, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

MM
Feb 3, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,520 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Accounting

By REALINO P

Jun 10, 2020

Thank you so much for this course, Prof. Brian. It's so interactive while the questions asked and points made by your virtual students were relatable and yes, I was having fun while learning, At first, I told myself that I don't need to learn accounting stuff but this course changed my mind. I'm now confident to look, read and analyze financial reports of my current company or even those of my dream companies.

Thank you again. Cheers to more students and professionals alike who will find this course useful, interactive and relatable!

Real Prado, Mechanical Engineer

Philippines

By Amy W

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic overview, covered all desired topics going into the course. The material itself was engaging and interesting, it should be said, however, that the instructor has a perplexing way of going about this. There is a running gag of having virtual students be angry and/or bored with the presented material. As someone genuinely interested in the topic, this came off rather crass and de-motivating rather than humorous. That said, the material itself was incredibly engaging and perfectly paced. Professor Bushee is an incredible teacher, perhaps not so incredible a comedian.

By Megan A

Sep 20, 2019

Learning accounting was once described to me as "something as fun as chewing cardboard." This was not the case with Prof. Bushee's class. I came in never having taken an accounting class before and he made the topics approachable and understandable. The virtual students are silly at first (and continue to be so throughout the class), but I chuckled at them many times and their questions were often the exact questions I was thinking. I enjoyed Prof. Bushee's sense of humor and use of "dad jokes" to keep the material light and kept me engaged. Thanks so much!

By Maurinho

Mar 20, 2018

Very interesting fun and thorough course. Apart from the very high amount of notions offered, which is what one would expect from a course, they were broken down incredibly well. The Professor explains it so well that makes you able to pick up even most complex things at first sight. The only negative point of this course is that during the exams wherever you make a mistake then it does not tell you why, not even a hint. Anyway you can work it through by using the tools and notions you´ve justlearned which is also a positive thing of the course as well.

By James W

Oct 2, 2016

Wow, is this a great course! Professor Bushee has such a talent for making what could be very complicated, straightforward and simple. He has a great knack for explaining Financial Accounting step by step and building upon each lesson in subsequent lessons. He goes slow enough to make it easy to grasp the material but fast enough to keep the students. His nutty sense of humor is really great and I loved the comments he had the virtual students make. Very entertaining and sometimes they were the questions I would have asked live myself.

By Alessandro D P

Aug 27, 2017

Awesome course. I had no previous knowledge of any of these topics but at the end of the course I was confident with the Accounting Language. Thanks to Prof Brian Bushee that seems to have understood perfectly the true meaning of fun in learning. I really appreciated the presence of virtual students that helped to clarify some doubts that I raised in my head during the lessons. It was not just theory, but with the Relic Spotter case you had also the chance to put in practise what you were learning. Absolutely recommended.

By Matthew B J

Apr 26, 2018

Professor Bushee put together an excellent course that allowed me to grasp basic accounting principles despite having no formal financial education on the subject whatsoever. He has virtual students who ask well-timed, relevant questions and it's just campy enough to keep you engaged in spite of the dry subject matter. Professor Bushee is a clearly gifted instructor with a passion for his work. I never thought I'd say I enjoyed an accounting class, but it was a solid experience throughout and I'm happy that I took it.

By jchelen T

Nov 4, 2020

My daughter is currently at UPenn (College) not Wharton and I would like her to take the course from Professor Bushee if possible in person. He is a very good teacher and I loved the virtual students, accents, and their idiosyncrasies. Also enjoyed Professor's jokes and self-deprecating humor. I Would like to tell Brian that " NO, not everyone can teach financial accounting (and make it enjoyable)." So he has a rare gift and hopefully he stays at Wharton (or whichever Business school he chooses) to teach a long time.

By Kianti S

Jul 1, 2020

Professor Brian J Bushee really went the extra mile explaining each of the concepts little by little. The best thing about his lessons was he takes you to the process of Financial Accounting from the start to finish, with some humor along the way. He was also kind enough to give real-life examples and his own experiences that really helped me to understand the hard to grasp concepts. The cartoon students were also a good touch in my opinion because they helped clarify some tricky questions that I also had in mind.

By Lim J Y

Jun 12, 2020

One of the most engaging professors ever. As someone with minimal background in accounting, if any, this course was extremely accessible and not at the expense of substance. Pedagogically, Prof Brian has really refined methods. He can make the dullest topics such a joy to learn.

Personally, I enrolled to get a better grasp of the terminology in fundamental analysis to improve my investment strategy; this course has certainly helped me along that path. I highly recommend this course to anybody with similar goals.

By André V

Oct 26, 2020

Great course! I loved the virtual student's incorporation and especially loved the number of exercises Prof Brian gave! it is really helpful to have a lot of exercises when you are not in close proximity to the teacher, that way you review a lot of different scenarios and at the same time assimilate knowledge! really keen to do the next one with him! just feel sad that it's almost ending his teachings. Also made the impossible possible: turning accounting into something interesting. Thank you so much :)

By John R T

Jul 5, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The course was exceptionally well organized and a lot of fun to take. I thought the instructor was outstanding. Even had a spot of dry humor, which is always welcome. I would recommend the course to anyone who wanted to get a strong, broad-brushed introduction to financial accounting as well as a basic introduction to accounting. It is not an easy course in the sense that the instructor sets a hard pace and puts forth a great deal of information. It will make you think.

By Ryan B

Jul 10, 2017

Great class. Prof. Bushee's lectures were very clear and informative. As a young professional working in the Investment Management industry with no formal prior training in Financial Accounting, this was a fantastic way to learn the basics. The animated students were a nice touch - they often asked questions which I myself wanted to ask. It felt like a real lecture, except the comments/questions from the animated students were (usually) productive and helpful. Highly recommend taking this course!

By Salem M H

Sep 21, 2017

I am so grateful to Prof Brain Bushee and Wharton University of Pennsylvania for this great opportunity. I am totally new to financial accounting and it seemed very difficult at first. But with all the video presentations and the sample company reports, I have been able to get a good grasp of the building blocks of financial accounting. I wish to expand on the basic knowledge I gained from this course. I thank you all.

P.S. I liked the virtual students. They kept me on track when I thought I lost it.

By Siti A F

Jan 2, 2019

As someone who graduated with bachelor of economics eight years ago and wants to refresh my knowledge (I had intro to acc 1 and 2 at the uni) I thought this course would still be challenging. But with the help of Professor Bushee (great teaching method from the Professor), everything seemed easier than I'd thought. I completed the course in 7 days! Now I have more confidence to return to job market (after 2 yrs of hiatus due to pregnancy and maternity leave). Thanks Professor, UPenn, and Coursera!

By Jessica G

Oct 22, 2020

I can't believe I am saying this...but I actually really enjoyed this course. I think Professor B did a great job, and I liked all the quirky and snarky videos. It injected funny into a super bland topic - loved it. The tests, for me, were really hard...and the Final Exam took me days to pass, but all and all, I am walking away feeling much more knowledgeable than I did at the start. I will have a bit more confidence navigating a 10K and making investment decisions based on what I am seeing.

By Anind D

Jun 24, 2020

Being from a non-commerce background I was too scared of accounting and wanted to get my basic accounting concepts clear before I get myself enrolled in MBA and to be honest Professor Brian has done an excellent job in teaching accounting from the basics. Though week 4 was the toughest where I had to revisit the whole syllabus in order to have a proper grasp of all the concepts to prepare myself well for the final assessment. Now, I don't think I will suffer in my accounting class in MBA.

By Daniele P

Jul 4, 2020

I started with absolute zero knowledge of accounting. I found the course well taught and engaging. The exams were challenging but I found the material prepared me very well for it. I don't use accounting in my day to day life so I am not sure how much I'll remember in six months from now or a year from now but I took good notes, I hope that will help me in the future. I enjoyed Prof Bushee style and the virtual students. The subject is really technical but the Prof made it interesting.

By Yogish K

Nov 19, 2015

Prof. Bushee brings out the nuances of Fin.Accounting in an interesting and humorous manner. His explanations make it easier to understand the finer aspects of why accounting is done the way its mandated. The examples, moving from the simpler to the more complex ones and the use of annual reports to bridge the reality gap is fantastic! I enjoyed every session of this course, although a lot of off-course reading and practice is required to ingrain the contents for practical use.

By Guilherme F J S

Apr 4, 2016

Accounting always meant headache to me. The reasons for this? A University where accounting is taught as something purely theoretical, with no relation to the real world.

I found this course to be simple, practical and really helpful. You will not become a pro in accounting, but you will get a really helpful overview.

The teacher has a huge role on why this course is so great, and mostly that results from his sense of humor.

Thanks to all those evolved in providing this course.

By Parthapratim C

Feb 13, 2016

It's perfect course for someone willing to understands the financial books of a company and how to read them to evaluate performance of that entity. This is must for every aspiring mid to senior managers. Professor Brian Bushee was outstanding in the way he explained all aspects of accounting. He made the whole course delivery simple for understanding with real examples. The teaching technique was great and I am glad that I attended the course. Thank you Prof & Coursera.

By Roberto M

Jun 23, 2020

Mr Brian J Bushee can hardly be called a professor, he is a HERO. Anyone who takes the time to create fictitious arguments with fictitious students in order to make an explanation clear is a hero in my book. This has been one of the best learning experiences in my life. I am supplementing this course to complement for a lacking MBA finance course and I have to say the quality of the content and the masterful way in which professor Bushee delivers it is to me, world class.

By Kendall R

Apr 20, 2020

Great course!! I went into this course without any prior knowledge of accounting or business concepts and it was challenging, in a very good way. Analyzing a start-up company from start to finish, as well as looking at real annual reports from an actual company, really helped reinforce the concepts learned in class. The virtual students broke up the material nicely and added humor as we went. Thank you Professor Bushee for presenting such an excellent and engaging course!

By Alexey Z

Mar 24, 2020

Although I'm more of a "mute consumer", this course was so unbelievably great, that the feedback is a must. The material delivery by Professor Bouche is not just entertaining, as much as "Fun with Accounting" could be, it's thoroughly detailed and productively supported by cheeky virtual classmates. As for the tests - be assured, by the sheer brute force you shall not pass :) Thankful for the efforts and knowledge put into the course. With kind regards, Sincerely, Alexey.

By Harsheel S

Jul 9, 2018

The course was amazing - it's very rare to see people explain topics in as clear a way as Prof. Bushee. The course covered some great content and that was tied up well with 2 long running examples throughout the course that helped solidify my understanding. The virtual students, who ask clarifying questions, were an amazing add. I did feel that the course was tough, if you do not have a background. So don't wait till last day of assignment submission deadline.