Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Accounting by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
7,057 ratings
1,676 reviews

About the Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

MM
Feb 3, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

EY
Sep 19, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

Filter by:

1476 - 1500 of 1,654 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Accounting

By Derek E

Apr 13, 2017

Really nice overview of basic accounting concepts. Sometimes I felt the lectures didn't walk through things too quickly, but the videos were entertaining and the course covered a fair amount of ground in a short time.

By Nolan S

Jun 27, 2020

Pretty clear but a big boring sometimes. Great examples. Can go through it pretty quickly. I did all 4 weeks in about 10 days and did another course in that time frame also...so only took me about 5 days to complete.

By Daiki Y

Dec 25, 2017

I doubt whether it is an introductory course because this course surely needs supplementary materials to fully understand the materials. Anyway, I loved the professor and glad that I had a chance to take this course!

By Giennadij A

Jul 8, 2017

+ the subject is well explained; + the teacher is trying to put some entertainment into the course, to make it less boring.

'- it is still not clear why the financial accounting is not simplified since ancient time.

By Carmen R

Apr 24, 2020

Curso introductorio a las finanzas para tener los conceptos teóricos básicos y la información más esencial para entender un informe financiero. El profesor lo hizo muy fácil y me gustó bastante. Muchas gracias.

By Jennifer F

May 25, 2020

I enjoyed the course and found the examples helpful. But the amount of content was too much for the time given - I often felt rushed and spent much more time on the course than I would have expected per week.

By Pranay N A

Jun 12, 2016

Course is very well organized. It is a great course for someone who is from a Non-Finance background and want to dwell deep in Finance and accounting Domain.

It surely had motivated me to take further courses.

By Kyaterekera D S

Apr 8, 2020

I enjoyed this course. and learnt a lot. The professor kept material interesting and had relevant examples for the material. The fun tone for what can be at times dray material was very much appreciated.

By John M

May 5, 2020

The course was very educational and taught me the fundamentals so I can think about a career in accounting. The learning style isn't boring and provides good information about real world problems.

By Rahul N

Apr 18, 2016

I love Prof Brian Bushee's teaching methods.... He tries hard to bring a bit of entertainment (however geeky) to a very dry and tough subject. The course is clearly laid out with examples....

By Miguel R

Jun 10, 2018

Very nice. I found the lectures long and kept struggling to come back to them. Not sure why. I liked the method, professor was good. Maybe it wast to heavy for me because everything was new

By Nicholas P

Aug 25, 2017

Prof. Bushee makes accounting preeetty engaging. Some of the later exams seemed to still be a bit out of my reach and would take a few revisions of the course material to get full marks.

By Wallace P C J

May 24, 2020

Prof is really good and very in depth. I am not sure but the emphasis is alot of Statement of Cash Flows (whole of Weeks 3). Not much on Income Statement. Exam is really tough too.

By Anshuman S

Dec 17, 2018

Great course and Brian J Bushee is excellent. I believe there should be a small booklet with all definitions of accounting terms like accrual account, permanent account, and etc..

By Richard A T

Jul 27, 2019

Great instruction and great use of examples and application to actual businesses. Test would have been more helpful if it provided more accurate feedback on missed answers.

By lucy s

May 27, 2020

I'm getting a grip on the knowledge in the vast accounting world.So much resources at disposal,can't wait to finish the full specialization. Thank you for the opportunity!

By makani J

Nov 29, 2020

Great insight into Financial accounting. Professor is great at teaching and allowing you to see what the numbers are telling you about a certain company. Would recommend.

By Kelly L

Mar 5, 2020

Great course! I enjoyed the disposition and humor of the instructor. Some of the topics got tricky pretty quickly, but after repeated viewings, became a bit more clear.

By Nikita S

Aug 13, 2018

The course itself is good. Should really work on last 2 exams. Very confusing and has no indication of which answers are right, why, and why other answers are wrong.

By Stephanie W

Sep 12, 2020

The lectures do a nice job of explaining the concepts. However, I wish the homework assignments gave the right answers to me so I can figure out what I did wrong.

By Rachel B

Apr 22, 2017

Great and helpful examples o go through regularly - Id like some some more practice questions and maybe the excel spreadsheet at the beginning to fill in as I go?

By Arirosenbaum

Apr 15, 2020

The course was good the professor explained everything very well, although if he gave a little more homework and assignments that would be great. Thank you 🙏.

By Ray

Mar 27, 2016

professor is really trying to use cases to make up for boring material. The virtual students add points too.

If only the professor could speak not that fast....

By Nikolo H

Feb 11, 2018

I enjoy the practical comparison with 3M company. Professor Bushee explains the topic in a fairly understandable way and provides practical examples.

By Elizabeth B

May 13, 2019

I enjoyed Professor Boucher, but struggled to understand the material in a practical way. Having practice problems/sets would have helped immensely.