Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Accounting by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
6,494 ratings
1,534 reviews

About the Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

MM

Feb 04, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

EY

Sep 20, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,500 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Accounting

By Arslan H

May 30, 2017

I have no words to describe how much beneficial this course to me. this course really enhance my financial concepts and flourish my intellectual intelligence. Thanks a lot for such a brilliant teacher and education.. Arslan hameed

By Aman A

Aug 21, 2020

Extremely helpful and easy to learn. The way Mr. Brian explains every concept with easy to interpret examples is really helpful for us. I'd recommend this course to everyone who's looking to get a grasp of accounting from scratch.

By David S

Dec 04, 2017

This course was about as entertaining as a Financial Accounting course could get. I enjoyed the virtual students and the professor's sense of humor. Oh and it was extremely informative. Great crash course in Financial Accounting.

By Tanisha J

Jun 07, 2020

This course definitely helped me learn some basic concepts of financial accounting. I believe I know the basic terms, there meaning and usage. I am confident now that I can read and understand financial statements to some level.

By Victor H M

Apr 30, 2020

Professor's knowledge is very impressive. I had fun and made the course easy to learn. Although, he has some tricky questions in the quizzes that made earn the grade. I liked him and hope to have him again as my professor soon.

By Gokul K

Jul 08, 2018

A great learning experience and highly engaging contents and possibly one of the best presentation I have experienced. The course did provide an excellent foundation to accounting for learners like me who are new to the subject.

By Yevhenii P

Jun 15, 2017

prof. Brian J Bushee is simply the best. Easy to follow, lots of practice and fellow-students help to understand everything in a good funny manner. Thank you for your time and efforts in creating this course. It was a pleasure.

By Sarawud Y

May 20, 2020

Exceptional course, this helps me strengthening an essential content of Financial Accounting theoretical and practical skill set. In which I will further apply deliverables with my real life both personally and professionally.

By Christina T

Feb 18, 2016

This is a wonderful, high quality class if you want to learn the nitty gritty of accounting. The passing criterias are general enough that if you just want to get an general overview, this class will be perfect for you, too.

By joy

Oct 03, 2017

Thank you for sponsoring me to take this class. I loved it and hope to take more classes so I can do the finances for my tech internet startup company. I am legally deaf and was able to take the entire class with captions.

By Nasser T

Apr 04, 2019

The course is very well organized. BB is quite funny (can't expect more from an accountant) and the virtual students add a lot in terms of humor and interaction to the course. I am looking forward to taking the next course.

By Umar A K

Oct 26, 2016

Was experiencing some personal problems that distracted my enthusiasm, but I am getting up from my feet to continue what is important to my future. Hope will be given the opportunity to continue with this great opportunity.

By Marco V

Oct 23, 2016

This was definitely the best course I take so far. He is an excellent professor that brings lots of examples to the subject. I definitely recommend this course to all that want to run a business, not necessarily in Finance.

By Rosana S X d O

Apr 02, 2016

The professor is really good in teaching and I love to watch his videos because I understand evertyhing, he's funny and he helps me enjoy more and more about financial accounting issues.

I REALLY recommend the course!! A+!!!

By Sarah H

Aug 07, 2020

I learned so much in this class. Professor Bushee is great at making very dry material very engaging. If I hadn't enjoyed his teaching style (love the virtual students), I would probably not have gotten through the course.

By Karen L

Mar 19, 2018

Accounting was totally new to me. It's challenging and frankly I find the subject matter itself to be pretty dry. But Prof. Bushee brought it to life and actually made it fun! Those puns and cartoon students kept me going.

By Gayatri N

Dec 22, 2015

Great course! It offers very useful insights to business management topics! Definitely recommended to all! The Professor also makes the topic very interesting and lively. This was the best course I have taken on Coursera!

By HARSHIT G

Sep 02, 2020

Professor Brian teaches really well. Throughout the course you will never feel bore. He keeps you entertain throughout the course. This course is really good for one having no basic understanding of finance and accounting

By Tianhao Z

Jun 19, 2020

It's a great course for someone has no economy background,but I do want to add on suggestion. Please have a relative formal definition for all the technical terms such as Retained Earning, Additional Paid in Capital, etc.

By Harold H

Jul 07, 2019

I liked that there were real world examples for analysis. The case studies helped the most. Finally, I liked the ability to work at my own pace and have the ability to see why I missed questions on the homework quizzes.

By jacquelyn s b

Jun 14, 2016

Professor does an amazing job making the material interesting and engaging. I really enjoyed the animated class characters that got to ask questions and found the banter highly entertaining. Would recommend this course.

By Song Y

Mar 25, 2016

The concepts are well-explained, and the course community is quite active. more interestingly, there're "mock students" in the video lecture who ask helpful questions, and making jokes (so that the course won't be boring)

By arun s

Jul 17, 2019

Dear Prof. Bushee,

I must commend you for the efforts you have put int the course material, especially videos and the virtual classroom. This is unarguably the best online course I have come across on the online platform.

By Vinh T

Feb 11, 2019

Professor explains very clearly each definition of financial terms, he also supports some practical problems to solve and good materials to follow-up on each video. It's worth to rate 5 star for this course. Many thanks!

By Prahlad K

May 14, 2018

Great Professor. He did a good job of knowing when students would have questions. This course was very easy to understand and provided lots of practice to make sure you get it. Virtual students were even helpful as well.