Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Accounting by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
6,561 ratings
1,553 reviews

About the Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

MM
Feb 3, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

EY
Sep 19, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,520 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Accounting

By Yuzhou B

Jun 13, 2020

Materials presented in interesting and logical ways. Love the approach of this professor, which combines theory, case study and practice of reading annual report (3M) in every week.

By Miguel X d B M

Jul 12, 2018

It is a great course for those who are looking for a great background on Accouting. Therefore, I highly recommend for everyone who is eager for a good source of knowledge. Thanks!!

By Xue

Apr 28, 2017

I like this course, it is really nice organised and easy to understand. I also like the way to do the assignment, also the way Brian teaches. Highly recommond. Thank you Brian. :)

By joseph p j r

Jan 4, 2017

Exceptional course for getting an intro to financial accounting. So good I enrolled for the sequel, More Introduction to Financial Accounting and was able to fully complete it too.

By Yung-Chieh,Wu

Apr 13, 2016

The Professor of this course is very good. he used a lot ox examples to make student understand. Also he usually make some interesting quiz and funny jokes. I like this class :))

By Hanzhi W

Mar 2, 2020

Great instructor and content. Worth of studying for anyone who wants to learn about balance sheets, income statements, and cash flow statements. There are two final exams btw lol.

By Jack D

Apr 2, 2019

Professor Bushee makes intro accounting interesting and approachable. He is down-to-earth and relatable, particularly when you consider his existing accomplishments in the space.

By Muhammad B

Dec 1, 2017

One of the best courses I have ever completed.

I took me from zero knowledge in accounting and gave me an awesome overview about the financial statement and how we understand them.

By Jan T

Aug 23, 2020

The week four lectures felt a bit rushed, and not as in depth as the coursework for the first 3 weeks. But overall it was a fantastic and challenging course that was well taught.

By Rahul R R

Aug 6, 2017

this course has been an eye opener in the field of accounting, which i was a complete rookie at. a big thanks to prof. Brian Bushee for helping me understand and ace this course.

By Platon M

Dec 22, 2015

That's an outstanding and very useful course! I highly appreciate all your contribution in it.

Thank you for the large amount of examples, this content is increadibly interesting.

By Yanjie L

Aug 4, 2020

Best teacher ever on coursera! Make the complicated concepts simple by going through step by step. Make the boring contents full of fun. Detail oriented, professional, humorous.

By Luis G A P

Dec 3, 2016

I learn a lot of accounting concepts, I have more confidence now to read financial statements and to see more clearly how a corporations is doing in overal finantial performance

By David B M

Oct 27, 2019

Was great to follow with the videos. I could repeat the videos several times, to understand better. This you can't do if it is not online, so it offered me a great flexibility.

By Louis-Pierre B

Apr 13, 2020

Great course, I feel more confident in accounting after having completed this course, the videos are accessible yet very dense focusing on the essentials, thank you Professor.

By Sergio E

May 20, 2019

The virtual students are annoying at first but then they really help you visualize the topics. The professor is very methodical and you learn a lot about financial accounting.

By Mohamed A Z

Jul 11, 2018

I like the entire course and i do want to thank all people who exert deadly efforts to deliver all these materials to us so we can have easy learning.Thanks so much, Coursera.

By Pramukh S

Sep 11, 2020

Very captivating and amazingly organized by professor Brian Bushee! Not to mention his terrific sense of humor. This was an excellent course! Thank you so much prof. Bushee.

By Gonçalo D

Jun 10, 2018

It was a pleasure assisting classes from Professor Brian Bushee. He made it easy to understand and easy to go though topics that are less exciting. Congratulations Professor!

By shirinsamani

Sep 30, 2017

that was great. I love the virtual students contribute in course and how the instructor brings the example to help understanding difficult concepts. I recommend the course :)

By Michael B

Aug 6, 2020

The virtual class thing is kinda weird at first, but eventually you really appreciate the professor's sense of humor and the way he makes a relatively dry subject enjoyable.

By Reshmi S

Mar 31, 2020

It was amazing learning with Professor Brian. I completed enjoy & I feel easy to learn accounting. I would like to pursue more coursers in accounting to gain more knowledge.

By Phan T V

Jun 12, 2019

I have learned Journal entry, T-account, trial balance, Income statement, Statement of cash flow and balance sheet. I also can read and understand financial report basically

By Chandan K C R

Jan 8, 2016

Absolutely loved the course!Excellent course material for a beginner in accounting.Professor Brian Bushee's humor(that flows through virtual students) was also an highlight!

By Jose L M

Jan 5, 2016

Extremely didactical. I love the virtual students. They ask exactly what I´d asked! The lessons are very well paced, no boring or extra long sessions. Highly recommendable!!