Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Financial Accounting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Financial Accounting by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
6,400 ratings
1,505 reviews

About the Course

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

MM

Feb 04, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

EY

Sep 20, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,473 Reviews for Introduction to Financial Accounting

By Thomas M M

Jan 02, 2018

Great professor, great material, great layout for an overview of finance and accounting. I'm going through everything a second time to help it sink in better, but the professor has developed a template for a perfect online course.

Yes the virtual students are weird, and dorky, but it works ass a great mechanism to help drive home the material.

By Michael S

Jan 27, 2016

Dr. Bushee if you ever read this comment, I want to say that you have greatly helped me understand Accounting by combining both theoretical book knowledge and practical applications through the Relic Spotting case study. You are a fantastic addition to Wharton and a phenomenal educator (in a time where professors are rarely competent educators).

By Balazs P

May 07, 2020

Really good course, the best one I have seen on Coursera so far in terms of the quality of teaching. The material and the explanations are easily understandable and both the imaginary and real life case studies help a lot. The virtual students seem a bit silly at first but actually help to add additional perspectives, it's a really good idea.

By Steve M

Apr 21, 2020

The instructor did a great job of making a dry topic interesting. I really appreciated the 'virtual students', interspersed throughout the course. They asked intelligent questions that made the material more accessible and understandable. One of the best online courses I've taken, and much better than some of the other offerings from Wharton.

By Julia K

Mar 02, 2016

Very easy to understand and entertaining. The only things that I found to be a little confusing were closer to the end (end of week 3 and all of week 4) where the examples got more complicated. I needed a few simple examples before we dove into the case studies/longer examples to get the hang of what we were talking about. Otherwise loved it.

By Neva B

Jan 20, 2020

While Financial Accounting is not "for me," this class made it comprehensible and engaging. I really appreciate the professor, Brian Bushee, for creating a fantastic syllabus and using practice problems and sample students to help me understand. This is the best Coursera class I've taken so far in terms of value and learning experience.

By Roy H

May 18, 2020

After not having taken an Accounting course in over eight years, I found this course to be a challenge. However, it was the challenge that I wanted and needed if I am going to make a career change. As I went through each video, I found the material the be refreshing and rewarding as I progressed. I look forward to proceeding to Module 3.

By Anthony S P

Jan 17, 2016

Really good course, I learned a lot. The use of case studies really helps a lot and I think the professor did a good job at explaining the concepts overall. Quizzes were not hard, but it was sort of frustating missing an answer in the questions where you had to pick more than an option. I enjoyed the lessons on financial ratios the most.

By Jingxia P

Jan 09, 2016

This is the first 5-star session I reviewed except for STEM courses. No cliche, full of interesting concepts and a lot of joke. The professor definitely where to stop and where the students may be confused.

I have to say I concentrate from the beginning to the very end to absorb his words!

Best non-stem courses I learned from coursera!

By Kurt H

Jul 01, 2020

This was one of the hardest classes I've taken (as accounting really isn't my thing). However the professor was engaging and made accounting as fun and entertaining as it could possibly be. I feel much more confident looking at financial statements and will certainly apply what I have learned to real business scenarios at my company.

By Yury L

Jul 13, 2017

Love the course. Exams are owesome - you do have to use the brain and get to the point of what was in the lecture. When you retake an exam - questions change, so you can't just bruteforce the right answer.

Brian, thanks a lot for the course. I don't think there is a better better way to teach such a subject.

Virtual sudents are cute:)

By JENNIFER P

Jun 01, 2020

Content was delivered clearly with plenty of opportunity built-in for practice. Instructor seems to enjoy the topic; I'm sure many of the questions from the virtual students arose from interactions with real students; instructor does best to bring sense of humor to the topic, and content is well designed from simple to more complex

By Rafaela d M G

Feb 12, 2016

The course is not over yet, but I can tell for sure this is an amazing course! The teacher is really really great - he explains everything very didactically - and funny, which makes absolutely all the videos extremely interesting and not at all boring to watch! Would recommend to anyone, even those with no knowledge on the subject.

By nick

Apr 18, 2020

The course covers the basics of Financial Accounting in a way that also students from non-economic related majors could easily find their way until the end of the course. The curse is rich in examples brilliantly explained by Professor, which is the real Asset of this course.

Highly suggested for everyone interested in the topic.

By Ziyi W

May 01, 2019

Brilliant course! Professor Bushee is a great lecturer that can clearly explain and illustrate the content. The workload of the course is also surprisingly huge compared to some online courses. I really learned a lot about accounting. I especially love the virtual classroom which makes the class more interactive and amusing.

By Thomas F

Mar 31, 2019

Great Intro as the name states, I aspire to become an entrepreneur. I think that this course is a good corner stone to move towards this path. The teacher is as fun as an accounting professor can be and that is what made it so much more enjoyable. I am going to do the next part of these two part course and see how it goes!

By Andrew F

Dec 28, 2015

Brian Bushee is an amazing teacher, the best teacher I've had so far on Coursera. He's knowledgeable, clear, and has a good humor about him as well. The course covers a good chunk of detail while still being manageable even if you have a busy schedule. I was able to pass with great marks with about 6 hours a week of work.

By Max B

Feb 28, 2016

Outstanding delivery of very sharp content, a perfect introduction to the world of financial accounting. Very clever presentations cut by subject by week with an often hilarious virtual class asking the questions that Prof. Bushee teases out with the material to ensure a sound understanding of the fundamentals. Loved it!

By Inés K

Aug 06, 2020

I just loved this course (which is a miracle, given that I am not at all into accounting). I appreciated Professor Bushee's sense of humor, his examples that made things a lot clearer, and the way the class was anchored in real life (the 3M report). I'm almost sad that there is no other class with Professor Bushee!

By Aizada M k

Aug 01, 2018

I loved how Professor is skillful in conveying the message to the students. Even to those that are completely new to the accounting. I loved the virtual students, because sometimes they asked the questions I wanted to ask too. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is willing to expand their knowledge

By Joan Y

Feb 18, 2016

As a student majoring in accounting, I think this course is very interesting and easy to understand at the very beginning. For the later part, it's a little bit hard but still very useful. Of course I'll need further study and I'm really grateful that I've enrolled this one. Many thanks to Professor Brian Bushee!

By Paula M

Nov 19, 2015

Easily one of the most enjoyable classes I've taken on Coursera. You can tell the instructor put a lot of time into designing the course. The videos are well structured and he uses 'virtual students' to both add levity but also answer some of the real time questions he knows his students are having. Great class!!

By Mochammad F A

Dec 26, 2019

This course very helpful for me as my started step to moved from technology side to financial business side. Give me a complete understand about accounting language as preparation to be future business leaders. Thank you for Professor Brian Bushee that makes accounting class more fun but still with best quality.

By Zwee D T D

Aug 04, 2019

I have never knew Accounting can be this fun. The lecturer did a phenomenal job of explaining Accounting concepts in an easy-to-understand & intuitive way, as well as how to apply them in real-world companies' finances, all while making the class fun. I'm much more confident in analyzing financial statement now.

By Mohamed O A

Nov 30, 2015

Course was detailed (not light course like lots of online courses)

Course full of examples which is my best way to learn

Instructor,Brian, was funny makes learning such material amazing ( I expected it will be boring full of abstract math)

Assignments are not easy and not impossible to solve, it just needs thinking