Chevron Left
Back to Improving Communication Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Communication Skills by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,508 ratings
396 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to communicate more effectively at work and achieve your goals. Taught by award-winning Wharton professor and best-selling author Maurice Schweitzer, Improving Communications Skills is an essential course designed to give you both the tools you need to improve your communication skills, and the most successful strategies for using them to your advantage. You'll learn how to discover if someone is lying (and how to react if they are), how to develop trust, the best method of communication for negotiation, and how to apologize. You'll also learn when to cooperate and when to compete, how to create persuasive messages, ask thoughtful questions, engage in active listening, and choose the right medium (face-to-face conversation, video conference, phone call, or email) for your messages. By the end of the course, you'll be able to understand what others want, respond strategically to their wants and needs, craft convincing and clear messages, and develop the critical communication skills you need to get ahead in business and in life....

Top reviews

MG
Mar 11, 2020

This course surpassed my expectation. I can not only apply what I have learned in my professional life but also can help me to improve some personal aspects, like communication with my family members.

SP
Sep 9, 2020

An absolutely wonderful course on communication skills. Its a course every professional should take as it teaches the very basics of communication that we all should incorporate and practice everyday.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 390 Reviews for Improving Communication Skills

By Mutthiyala a K r

Apr 15, 2020

Great

By SHREYANSH K

Jun 22, 2019

great

By oseni d o

Mar 24, 2019

Wow!?

By Kevin T

Apr 19, 2020

good

By Silvia K

Apr 19, 2020

nice

By Deleted A

Apr 17, 2020

good

By Chau T K

Jul 19, 2019

good

By Hoàng Đ T

Dec 4, 2017

Good

By JUSTIN C N

Aug 19, 2017

NICE

By Jill L

Jun 16, 2020

NA

By lisbeth l o

Nov 12, 2018

ex

By Aaron

Jun 22, 2020

g

By huang x

Jun 19, 2020

V

By Naif M A

Jul 29, 2018

5

By FEDRO A S M

Jul 11, 2018

G

By aymara b t

Jun 8, 2018

P

By Dimitris D

Dec 12, 2017

G

By Cara T

Jun 21, 2017

It would have been nice if throughout the course the material was tied back to real world examples. So at the end of a week there might be a video saying 'hey this week we learned about building. Now we're going to look at how this might help you in a real world communication scenario. You've started a new job and it's your first day on the job. You want to make sure you're off to a good start' then maybe play through some examples of the right and wrong ways to build trust maybe with a question like the scenario plays and then the presenter asks 'was that the right way to build trust? Lets review' and then it plays back through the scene stopping for comments along the way.

By Nga D

May 4, 2018

Very useful materials based on interesting research. Mind opening to many effective communication practices that are based on research of real life examples. I'm excited to take a reflection of my communication, interaction with others everyday and practice what I have learned in this course to improve it. However, the course appears to me at first a collection of unconnected ideas and concepts. But when I get a better sense of the overview picture and the style of the Professor, I start kind of seeing how things are connected. I think this is something Professor should improve upon.

By Elle C

Apr 21, 2020

Warm, engaging, articulate professor with well-studied, insightful concepts. I was expecting a course more focused on improving delivery/execution of actual (verbal) communications/presentation skills, but this course centered on broader topics around the behaviors/psychology of various aspects of communications (see syllabus for topics) highlighted with studies and stories, rather than the actual delivery of communications. Nonetheless, this was an interesting course as part of the overall Achieving Personal and Professional Success Specialization.

By Denis K

Jul 15, 2020

It is a nice course but my anticipation was so high that I ended up being a little bit dissapointed. There are at least two reasons for that. The first reason is that this course lacks readings section. I expected to see some references to books and reseacrh literature so those students who wish to expore the topic more fully could do that. The second reason is that the course isn't challenging enough, although I do understand that it might not be true for everyone. I give this course 4 stars but in reality it's more like a 3.5 stars course to me.

By Hans

May 30, 2017

All the content is based on Professor's book Friends and Foe. It is quite good to combine these two learning resources together. There are quite a lot new perspectives and insights. The most wonderful part is the module 1 &2. The most practical part is the module 4. Module 3 on Deception is good. If the content can include more how we can take advantage of these findings, the course could be better.

By Jianwei W

Feb 6, 2018

I found this course very informative, filled with many many aspects, physiology, cooperate communication, etc. It is not about how to write email but much deeper. I would appreciate better assignment design - real life situations which can immediately apply what I have learned. In the end, people are coming here to improve their real life communication skills not theories.

By Utku K

Jan 31, 2018

Some more detailed could be more helpful I think, like non-verbal communication types, types of cons, signals in different cases, useful signals, not useful signals... But in general it was a very good course, I enjoyed everything, I wished furthering my knowledge in the area thats why would like to have more detail. Thank you very much! Great course!

By Karen Y

May 11, 2020

Did not feel I learned as much as I could because quizzes were not permitted to be taken without grade as an auditor. I was able to take quizzes in other classes which was a much more beneficial approach to learning. I enjoyed the professor and the material, however, and thank you for offering this free course during my COVID-19 quarantine.