Chevron Left
Back to Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
4,031 ratings
1,345 reviews

About the Course

Ever wondered why some things become popular, and other don't? Why some products become hits while others flop? Why some ideas take off while others languish? What are the key ideas behind viral marketing? This course explains how things catch on and helps you apply these ideas to be more effective at marketing your ideas, brands, or products. You'll learn how to make ideas stick, how to increase your influence, how to generate more word of mouth, and how to use the power of social networks to spread information and influence. Drawing on principles from his best-selling book, "Contagious: Why Things Catch On," Professor Jonah Berger illustrates successful strategies for you to use buzz to create virality so that your campaigns become more shareable on social media and elsewhere. By the end of this course, you'll have a better understanding of how to craft contagious content, build stickier messages, and get any product, idea, or behavior to catch on....

Top reviews

NR

Jul 26, 2020

Educational and eye opening, the instructor offered amazing content with examples and links to further look into the topics mentioned. A great tool to have for anyone in business, sales, or marketing.

RC

Dec 21, 2018

Pleasant tone, many tangible illustrations that bring the theory to life. Well-balanced pace. Could be complemented by a practical exercise - but perfect for working professionals who have less time.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,323 Reviews for Viral Marketing and How to Craft Contagious Content

By Gianfranco M R

Mar 17, 2016

a

By Shailesh S

Dec 02, 2015

Very useful and practical information. Very nice (engaging) content and presentation. I wish it was a bit more long and more involved. Current format is too concise and quick (overview type), would love to have more deeper (depth) course in future. And, ideally, the quizzes should have different questions presented in each attempt with only maximum 3 attempts ever allowed. That's the only way to test us (students) to know how much we have grasped.

Thanks to all who put it together and gave us an opportunity to learn, that too free and on-demand. I have taken many courses in Coursera in last 2 years and ones from Wharton (Univ of Penn) are close to the best ones among all.

By Mike Y W

Sep 06, 2018

This is a fairly basic course about using psychology to influence others to take up your message, product, or service. I really liked the professor's use of visual aids during the lectures to help in communicating the topics being taught. I only wish the course was a little longer, and the professor could perhaps add something in about the possible ethical issues of using the two methods taught. The professor could add in a final peer-review written assignment - as there is no final - where students choose what message they want to convey given a choice of products or services, and how they would craft contagious content to communicate this message to others.

By Frederico F L B

Apr 18, 2020

Content taught by Professor Berger is really interesting. By explaining clearly the science behind the creation of contagious content, he is able to actually share some non-obvious and counter intuitive information about the matter, which is probably going to be very useful professionally. However, I would say that the information provided is more of a seminar rather than a course. Besides that, tests are too easy and I wish it would have analytical and discursive exercises that would require more effort of the students and therefore, a true understanding of the concepts.

By Marcy N

Sep 10, 2017

I enjoyed the content of this course, but I wish there was more to it - it was too brief. It would be nice to have more practical content with ideas about how to make these ideas work in one's company. Or to just tease out the strategies he discussed. Perhaps having reading assignments and other sorts of resources available would have made this course a richer experience. It feels much more like a taste rather than the whole meal.

By Lauriane G

Apr 04, 2020

Great course that will give you all the things to think about when crafting good content. The classes are the right length, they provide great examples that help you remember their content.

It could go a little further into strategies. I also felt that the tests could involve more practical exercises like redrafting of weak content, for example, to put things into practice rather than "simple" multiple choices tests.

By Moira R

Jan 14, 2018

There was a typo in the week 4 course, occasionally side topics were discussed to thoroughly, whilst more important topics, such as concrete strategies to approach potential clients were completely left out.

In week 3, there was also too much time dedicated to the examples in commercials. Week 2 lacked a lot of crucial studies and information that would have been paramount to this topic.

By Diana P P

May 03, 2017

I am new in marketing, just getting importance of it at my new job. In my expirience, I found the course easy and facinating beacause, it allowed me to know the basics. I found the answer for that famous question; Why is my product not having the sales I want? If its that good, compered to the market. Why is that my information is that basic and other people get that more attention?

By Jiwon H

Mar 24, 2017

Overall, the course is easy to understand and the professor presents plenty of examples and cases to make your understanding better and it's fun. But I wouldn't recommend this course to those seeking for a learning on a practical level or something that can be put into work immediately. This course deals more about concepts and theories of viral marketing. Still worth learning.

By Vivek K

Mar 24, 2020

Really liked the content and the presentation. I'd have loved if you could've added a case study or two and helped us assess how well we're applying the SUCCESs and STEPPS frameworks. Your explanations were very neatly framed and simple to understand. I'd love to reach out to you sometime with a business problem to understand if my application of these frameworks makes sense.

By Ricardo J O

Dec 18, 2015

Very fresh view and quality approach on a very interesting topic. On top of that I really enjoyed the effectiveness of the instructor in delivering the materials. I will give it a 4/5 and not a 5/5 because in my opinion the slides of the lectures should have been made available and also I expected the modules to have more materials. But nonetheless, a high quality course.

By Yael D

Apr 21, 2020

I enjoyed it a lot. He breaks it down into to easy to understand processes and then gives good examples. I like the way he uses the word 'imagine', asking us to try create a picture of what he is trying to describe. He great examples also assist in creating cues to remember. it would have been nice to have had an exercise to do.. to put his theory to practice.

By Deleted A

Jul 18, 2017

The course is well designed and articulate. However from the POV of a working professional (working in Brand Management for about 4 years) I found the initial modules a bit generic. Also if you could include certain tangible metric for the assement of potentially viral content that would make it a little more applicable in day to day working.

By George O

Feb 14, 2017

The course covers both theory and practice. It is therefore useful for both academicians and practitioners. I strongly recommend it. In a future follow up course there could be more teaching on how to make products or ideas viral on social networks such as LinkedIn, facebook, twitter. Maybe on when or how to post the content on social media.

By sushill s s

Oct 26, 2016

Fantastic Course, very well crafted for an online environment. The course was well planned and gave us a clear view on how things happen and what we need to do to get something like this in place. The lecturer was so good, this gave me an understanding on what to expect from a college like this and the value that they deliver.

By Verónica R

Apr 23, 2020

Loved it! I think it would be great to add some updated videos about Social Media examples since it has grown a lot in the last few years. The most recent examples were the ALS campaign and I think there's a whole lot more to try to explain the principles from the class.

Overall, very nice experience and also very helpful.

By franca g c

Jan 19, 2018

Great tips that made a lot of sense. These were delivered in an easy manner and the instructor was quite credible. Videos were short and to the point. Would have been great if there had been some specific exercises to conduct or a short project to work, where we could apply the learnings from the sessions.

By Maximilian P

May 18, 2020

Generally a nice push into the right direction. Makes you think and makes sense - Although very broad. For a course with a certification not representative at all. I would not feel comfortable showing this at a job interview. It's basically the quick video summary of his book I assume... Not very scientific.

By Krishna P

Jun 05, 2017

The course was very beneficial in knowing the scientific and psychological impact of consumer behaviors and social influence. Professor Jonah was great and he was able to make every point very clear. However I expected the course to have more reading materials or project or any sort of other activities too.

By Giridharan S

Dec 29, 2016

A very useful course. Professor Berger's style of delivery is good. It opened up my eyes to different aspects of viral marketing in a coherent and cogent manner. It may be useful to incorporate one more week to actually show how to craft contagious content using the different aspects taught earlier.

By Julia B

Sep 08, 2017

Great info and insights, presented in appropriate lesson length and depth. I do suggest that someone take a look at the questionnaire content for grammar and general comprehension. Several questions were confusing; I wasn't sure what they were asking, due to grammatical errors. Strange but true!

By Tina I

May 20, 2020

While short & to the point, I would have liked to see more examples of each concept in order to better illustrate the point. Also, more data on the science behind his material would be appreciated.

Despite only auditing the course, I was marked late for the quizzes which I could not take.

By Carlos S

Mar 28, 2020

Usefull information, clear explanations, and I liked the examples as real advertisement. Teacher has good energy to communicate and the structure of the course makes sense and it is easy to follow. The course was quite short, and I missed more techniques to create viral / sticky content.

By Emmanuelle Z

Jun 09, 2020

Being a second year business administration student, I found this course very interesting. I have a vague idea about Marketing and the information that i learned will surely help me. However, maybe we can use a bit more visual example to explain each concepts. Great lectures, Thank you!

By Lucas

Jun 26, 2017

Very easy to follow. Teacher speaks very clearly and provides good examples. The course is very dynamic. I put only four stars because I found that the last week did not bring enough interesting material compared to the others (did not feel like taking any notes). Thank you very much ;)