Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,235 ratings
595 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 583 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Gaurav A

Jul 1, 2018

GOOD

By Karen V

Aug 26, 2018

I think this was a good practical, hands on course. I would love to have more linkages with the theory covered in the Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling course, a little bit better coverage of all key concepts during the presentation using some simple techniques as repeating important concepts twice or at least changing the tone of the voice. When the lecture is delivered in a monotonous manner, sometimes it's hard to follow and catch what were the important concepts presented and which ones were secondary. I noted that description of topics related to some exercises in quizzes were covered only in subsequent module. I don't appreciated this approach from learners perspective. It's always good to present material thoroughly first and then check whether the student has understood the concepts.

By Anita D

Jul 13, 2020

Very useful info, but there were discrepancies in his spreadsheets on screen vs in the download material, which was confusing. (e.g., the equation used to get profit in the Monte Carlo simulation would NOT generate the numbers he had on the spreadsheet on screen -- I think there was a typo somewhere.) Also, there were a couple of questions in the quizzes I was pretty sure I got right, but they were counted as incorrect. Then there were a few that I couldn't find complete answers to anywhere in the material. I almost gave 3 stars, but decided on 4 because overall, it was very valuable and mostly understandable.

By Michael M

Jun 11, 2016

Pros: Very good information and methods for running real life business models. The course provided the spreadsheet modules which allowed you to tinker around and learn them. I consider myself a power Excel user and I picked up some very good new modeling methods. Very concise.

Cons: I did Week 2 on my lunch break. Some questions on the quizzes were a bit vague. Probably need some working knowledge of Excel before taking this class.

If you need to complete a lot of modeling with your job, this is a good course to pick up some skills.

By Eddie l

May 25, 2020

This took me longer to finish than other three. There are more open ended questions in the tests and so you cannot rely purely on luck and the number of attempts. I felt the lecturer's intention to focus your mind on things that he thinks is important, but may sometimes be overlooked in this area. For me, its not just commercial, its a course that help you deepen your understanding about the subject. Dont be fooled by the stars : )

By Srishti C

Apr 21, 2020

Overall, it helped me to understand how to use speadsheets and models in my daily life by making it less of a chore once I understood how they worked, as well as the functions within them. I think it was a good course, but perhaps the end-of-week quizzes could be tailored to be understood better by the learners of this course as the questions did not always align what had been taught previously.

By Rafeh S

Aug 25, 2017

The course was a great introduction to using spreadsheets, although the information was a bit basic. Anybody with decent working knowledge of excel should not take this course unless they are trying to complete the specialization. For true beginners it is fantastic The instructor was clear and concise, although it felt like he was rushing through the material sometimes.

By Artem S

May 11, 2016

I like the course but currently it has some issues. First and foremost problem is tests. There are some questions that allow ambiguous interpretation, some questions require to know the information that is discussed later in course and so on. Also the lectures are quite short. Other than that course gives very nice introduction into using the spreadsheets in modelling

By Omar R

Mar 3, 2020

Overall all good experience. I defently walked out knowing more about excel that I did before, considering I have used it quite a bit.

Week 4 was by far the best. Could have gone into a lot more detail about Monte carlo simulations. I found myself going back to the first course for more info on the topic, even though there wasn't much about about it.

Thanks.

By Abhinav J

Oct 10, 2019

It was a great course where I understood how spreadsheets can be used in modeling. Different types of models and the characteristics of each model. I would have appreciates if the course has taken more complex and real-world applications and models so that the utility of the subject can be much more appreciated.

By Daguo X

Apr 14, 2017

This course teaches how to use spreadsheet to do some predictive modelings. Although no depth in math, but for me, some practical skills and functions are introduced.

I just give 4 stars only because the overall content is still kinda simple. I though I could have learnt more with this price.

By John P

May 26, 2017

Good overview of implementing statistical tools we have learned so far in excel. Loss of one star due to quiz questions & and answer requirements in week 1 & 2 being ambiguous. This caused some frustration. Week 3 & 4 were quite good in my opinion. Overall a good class. Thanks.

By Alexander T d O

Aug 13, 2020

I am accountant from Brazil and at the beginning I thought It was a single Spreadsheet course, ok here I go. Then when I realised it was a wolrd of possibilities, including statistical tips for Forecasting, using a toll we already have. It will help me a lot

By Riccardo C

May 10, 2020

The course is useful and insightful even to someone who used spreadsheets for a life (I think the name makes it sound too simple). I didn't understand what I got wrong in some questions in the tests, and I think that some of those. could be thought better.

By Bhaskar

Jul 22, 2016

Sometimes, when I worked the spreadsheets out, the data differed from that on the examples. The items in the course were good and built up well. Some more details would have been nice. The instructor went over some spreadsheet steps quite fast.

By Roger M

Apr 19, 2016

Great introductory course for the subject. There were some parts, especially at the start of this course, in which the subject matters were being explained too simplistically and very quickly - not a good combination to maximize ones efforts.

By John C

Feb 8, 2018

Very good, but on its own it left me wanting more detail. Better if followed with Modelling Risk and Realities (the next in the specialization), which provides more substance and detail to some of the concepts glossed over in this course .

By Yawei D

Sep 4, 2020

Some of the quiz questions are not explicitly covered in the course. I could not figure out the right answer even going through the videos again. Guess I missed some basic knowledge there myself. Overall, very interesting course as well.

By Antonio J

Jul 15, 2017

O único problema é ter que comprar o curso para ser avaliado nos questionários.

Entendo ser o modelo de negócio estabelecido pelo Coursera ou mesmo pela faculdade, mas essa situação não possibilita a ampla disseminação do conhecimento.

By Volker

Mar 15, 2017

I think its oa good course, however, the XLS examples could be better and more complete (?) did not find some functions. German English Exec translation is a bit anoying - bit worried how that will work in more complex courses...

By Bryan L

Jan 20, 2020

This course was fantastic! I only wish we had more "Homework" or somewhere in which we could test the skills we are learning. It would have been nice to be given some data and then attempt to make a Cash Flow Model on our own.

By Gytis R

May 9, 2017

A pretty basic intro to spreadsheets - good for complete newbies or for those who want to refresh their memory! I wish the course was a bit longer and showed a wider variety of Excel functions and worked examples.

By Jim H

Apr 23, 2017

I enjoyed the course quite a bit. What would really be useful is more opportunity to work examples or problem sets. The quizzes and knowledge checks don't really give me a sense that I really know the material

By Samir D

Mar 5, 2017

The course was well blended and covered depth about models which can be seen in a business work place. However there should have been practice exercises before the quizzes to understand the topics better.

By MA T Y

Feb 11, 2020

The course structure is easy to understand and follow. The content may be too easy for those with Excel proficiency. Assignments that require students to use Excel can deepening the learning.