Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,478 ratings
650 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 641 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Ashutosh S

Apr 12, 2020

Very helpfull.

By Adithya C

Dec 4, 2019

Learned a lot!

By bacool

Nov 7, 2021

good overview

By Zagdbazar D

Dec 27, 2019

Good contents

By Chan H K

Nov 10, 2018

Useful Course

By Manoel L C N

May 27, 2018

Great course!

By FELIPE D S O

May 30, 2017

Great course!

By bohan w

Dec 11, 2016

Great course!

By AMAAN A

Apr 9, 2020

Great Course

By Yuliya S

Feb 8, 2020

Great course

By Loai T M H S

Mar 22, 2018

very helpful

By Igor G S

Apr 8, 2021

Very useful

By POKOU K A

Mar 4, 2019

Very useful

By Akash A

Sep 18, 2016

good course

By Liu Y

Oct 28, 2017

I like it

By ZHU Y

May 22, 2017

Excellent

By Thiago G

Apr 13, 2020

Perfect

By Piriyapong W

Jun 2, 2020

Great

By Vishal M

May 23, 2016

super

By Gaurav A

Jul 1, 2018

GOOD

By Karen V

Aug 26, 2018

I think this was a good practical, hands on course. I would love to have more linkages with the theory covered in the Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling course, a little bit better coverage of all key concepts during the presentation using some simple techniques as repeating important concepts twice or at least changing the tone of the voice. When the lecture is delivered in a monotonous manner, sometimes it's hard to follow and catch what were the important concepts presented and which ones were secondary. I noted that description of topics related to some exercises in quizzes were covered only in subsequent module. I don't appreciated this approach from learners perspective. It's always good to present material thoroughly first and then check whether the student has understood the concepts.

By Anita D

Jul 13, 2020

Very useful info, but there were discrepancies in his spreadsheets on screen vs in the download material, which was confusing. (e.g., the equation used to get profit in the Monte Carlo simulation would NOT generate the numbers he had on the spreadsheet on screen -- I think there was a typo somewhere.) Also, there were a couple of questions in the quizzes I was pretty sure I got right, but they were counted as incorrect. Then there were a few that I couldn't find complete answers to anywhere in the material. I almost gave 3 stars, but decided on 4 because overall, it was very valuable and mostly understandable.

By Michael M

Jun 11, 2016

Pros: Very good information and methods for running real life business models. The course provided the spreadsheet modules which allowed you to tinker around and learn them. I consider myself a power Excel user and I picked up some very good new modeling methods. Very concise.

Cons: I did Week 2 on my lunch break. Some questions on the quizzes were a bit vague. Probably need some working knowledge of Excel before taking this class.

If you need to complete a lot of modeling with your job, this is a good course to pick up some skills.

By Eddie l

May 25, 2020

This took me longer to finish than other three. There are more open ended questions in the tests and so you cannot rely purely on luck and the number of attempts. I felt the lecturer's intention to focus your mind on things that he thinks is important, but may sometimes be overlooked in this area. For me, its not just commercial, its a course that help you deepen your understanding about the subject. Dont be fooled by the stars : )

By Srishti C

Apr 21, 2020

Overall, it helped me to understand how to use speadsheets and models in my daily life by making it less of a chore once I understood how they worked, as well as the functions within them. I think it was a good course, but perhaps the end-of-week quizzes could be tailored to be understood better by the learners of this course as the questions did not always align what had been taught previously.