Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,238 ratings
595 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 583 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Scott M

Apr 5, 2020

Course was generally very good...however, apologies if I've missed it, but doesn't appear to be a way to get a transcript of the lectures. Not ideal for taking learnings into practice.

By Omar G A

Jul 8, 2019

This course requires discipline, patience and attention to details. I learned things, about the subject and beyond. Don Huesman is the organizer of this entire series. Thanks for that.

By Martin Š

Aug 10, 2018

Course is great with showing much interesting fuctions in excel. Only 4 out of 5 stars because it is not clear how to submit formula input in quizes - whether start with = or not etc.

By Bintang A S

May 22, 2016

Would give this course 5 stars to be honest. It's just that the lecture slides are not informative enough (only course outlines are there) & look like they weren't made seriously.

By Vi V T B

Jul 13, 2020

It is very good course. however The lecture should explain the type of model more specifically or the PDF file should be more content. Esp for non-native speaker student like me.

By Akmal A K

Oct 29, 2016

Completing this course helped me improve both my theoretical knowledge and practical skills in MS Excel, discover exciting new tools and technics for modeling. Thanks a lot!

By John D

Oct 20, 2017

Good review of what tools are available to you in spreadsheets. Not recommended if you are already a heavy user of spreadsheets, as this is a pretty rudimentary course.

By Opeyemi O A

Mar 30, 2020

It was initially difficult for me to understand but once I began to understand it, it made so much sense and it is very relatable to real business scenarios.

By Alex L

Mar 20, 2016

The course is too shallow. I wish all topics were covered more in details. Moreover, it is unreasonably expensive for only about 3 total hours of lectures.

By Ignacio O H

Oct 6, 2020

It's a very useful course, but it has few mistakes in some videos and questions in the quizzes that are hard to understand what are the purpose of them.

By Yin Q

Jun 24, 2020

The course is easy to follow and has light workload. However, I think we may have wanted to go with more depth. In general this is a good intro course.

By Alan L

Nov 8, 2016

The content and pacing is great after week1. Wk1 was a bit elementary, introduction and all. Overall, learned some new Excel tricks so it was worth it.

By Ricardo W E

Mar 21, 2016

need to pay for test

this course is excellent! the professor is very professional, I understood everthing. he Explain everthing in plain english.

By Ananto W

Jan 7, 2020

The course is good. The quiz was quite hard. The ppt material for this module is too short and sometime does not cover what in the quizz are

By Humberto L C

Feb 14, 2020

The presentations will be better if there is a more explicit content of what a you watching in the video class, not only the objectives.

By Peiyun S

Jun 12, 2016

Some of the explanations are not clear, and the knowledge net is not clear as previous chapter. But it is still good for me overall!

By Gabriel L

Jul 22, 2020

It was good but videos were too short and sometimes explanations were not deep enough. Good professor and good content in general.

By Samiksha J

Jul 17, 2019

Since I had already studied similar subjects in my Master's degree, this was a good revision. The clarity of explanation is great.

By Morgan S

Apr 14, 2018

Good job of explaining the probablistic models, distributions and why certain elements (e.g. R squared and std. dev) are useful.

By Jakob P

Jul 8, 2017

The course is a very simple introduction to Excel/Sheets and some modeling techniques. Some of the quiz questions are ambiguous.

By Alexandra E

Jun 11, 2017

Excellent course, my only objection was that the lecturer's speed of speech was very slow, so had to play it at 1.5x speed :)

By Janvi S

Jul 7, 2020

Informative modules. Mr. Huesman explained all the things very well. The quizzes could have been more well created .

By SAURABH A

Nov 30, 2017

Course provides a good understanding of Regression and Monte Carlo along with Linear programming and Optimization.

By Ritik R K

Oct 2, 2020

thanks for the wonderful course, it would be highly appreciated if provided the solution to incorrect answers.

By Juan P d l V

Dec 14, 2019

I don't know if it's the best way to grade, questions aren't very clear. Anyways a good introductory course.