Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,280 ratings
604 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 592 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Nathan M

May 24, 2019

I seemed to have trouble with Quiz questions requiring input of formulas. I was 3 for 3, missing each one, although I proved each one was functionally correct. Could be just subjectivity as there are many ways to write a formula. Also could be that I was not writing my formulas according to some standard or best practice. Other comment: additional worked examples would be nice to test and practice on as the complexity of steps builds.

By Marko Ž

Jul 16, 2019

Highly interesting subject and useful additional learning material at the end of the weekly lectures. Questions on a quizzes can be really challenging, but unfortunately the lectures are really oversimplified and at some points I felt like I'm studying on some trial/free version of a bigger course. This also reflected in a quiz part of a course, where sometimes it was hard to find an appropriate answer to some of the questions.

By Matt C

Apr 24, 2016

The lecturer was very slow, and some things were not explained very well (while very simple concepts were often over-explained).

Also, I'm quite sure there were at least 2 errors in the weekly quizzes. One that comes to mind is a question that had identical options for two of the multiple-choice answers, but only one of them was correct (50/50 guess, more or less --- I had to take the quiz 3 times before I guessed right!).

By Victoria C

May 27, 2017

Modules 3 and 4 were satisfactory, but really does not make up for how ill-thought out the first two were. Questions on quizzes were confusing and you could not correct yourself because you couldn't get the correct answer.

The course would be much better if the answers came from interacting with the data sets given as examples, or if there was a 'quiz' data set that you had to actually perform the functions on.

By Anna D

Feb 27, 2017

There were some useful examples in this course. But overall this course and the entire specialisation rely too heavily on Excel which seems a bit outdated when data sets are so much bigger these days (than the ones in this course). Based on the requirements of companies hiring data and business analysts the expectation for anybody who wants to work in this field is in at least one or more programming languages.

By Tania G U D

May 21, 2020

The explanations on videos are not as precise as I needed. And so far it has been the course with less content I have took in Coursera. I think, videos can be done again to be more agile and introduce information missed. Also, the test were not so clear. I got good grades but answers were ambiguos. I think you need to structure questions in order to know what you expect as an only answer.

By Karen S

Oct 27, 2019

The lectures were quite good and I learned a lot. However, I found it difficult to understand sometimes what was wanted from in the quizzes and I ended up taking them several times in order to pass. I would recommend that providers examine the google support certificate model of using labs to practice and learn with smaller quizzes interspersed, even within the lectures themselves.

By Vidhyalakshmi K

Mar 23, 2016

This course needs tremendous improvement. In contrast to previous fundamentals of quantitative modelling module, this lags in lot of areas. No clear explanations and the quizzes are worded super vague and filled with with bugs. I expected a lot under Monte Carlo Simulation. However, too simplistic example and explanation was presented. The topics were not introduced clearly.

By Gretchen R

Oct 25, 2020

Concur with many of the forum comments. There could be more extensive course materials in the actual lectures to reduce the amount of self study and information scouring around the quiz. Fill-in-the-blank format for the quiz is rather problematic and perhaps overly challenging for this platform. But I did appreciate the introduction to modelling specific functions in Excel.

By Subhadeep S

May 28, 2020

course content needs up gradation in terms of examples . Linear programming is a huge topic, needs more materials/explanation. Similarly cash flow modelling lecture provides high level overview , please add more examples and more assignment questions. Also please provide detailed workaround post completion of the assignments for the questions one could not answer.

By Ekaterina V

May 24, 2020

Videos presented were structured in a poor way. Announced topics were not at all fully presented. Quiz was not at all covered by video lectures, though quizzes themselves were rather interesting, weak point is that you cannot check yourself by going through the lectures, sometimes you should guess if you got the logic of the question in a right way.

By Alexander C

Mar 20, 2016

The professor of this course expects you to read his mind too much, preferring to skip through explaining his reasoning for solving some problems, such as calculating risk with the Empirical rule. He also mentions subject in the course outlines which he is supposed to lecture about in the course but doesn't, or just expects you to learn it yourself.

By Filip N

May 14, 2016

Exercises should be better designed and I think that first week of this course and the whole previous one are too basic. They could be assumed for 99% of people and I think it would be a good idea to create an optional preparation module containing them. That would save time and perhaps open opportunities for more advanced material to be included.

By Adrian L

Mar 16, 2016

The exam answers were not clear.... The were questions not related to the videos. This was an excel course and no excels were available to download, just PDF. In the other two courses (Quantitative Modeling and Accounting Analytics) the excels were explained and available for download. This was an excel course and no excels available.....

By Ruslan K

Apr 19, 2016

Many errors in the quizzes made this course a disaster, although the course staff was eager to correct them as more complains in the discussions arrived. Being the second course in the specialisation, it doesn't actually live up to the expectations as it mostly covers the very basics of the excel functionality in terms of modelling.

By Stefan G

Nov 22, 2016

Most suitable for people who have had very limited exposure to spreadsheets. Anyone that has spent considerable time working in Excel will find this pretty limited. The final portion of this course (Monte Carlo simulations) was the most interesting part, as it got into the more statistical functions and the Solver applications.

By Titima P

May 11, 2020

I had some problem with typing the formula in the quiz as the formula typed was also correct but the program told it was wrong one. And I could not contact any people so I had to try my best to find what formula you used. And I think that if you can add more description about the answer it would make a clearer understanding.

By Paola M

Apr 25, 2020

Overall this course is good, especially the last two weeks of the module. However, the examples are not very strong (Week 1 and Week 2), videos are too short for the most part and I find the tests are more robust than the lectures (I think both should be robust). I do appreciate that this module has extra materials to study.

By José C d H

Feb 22, 2017

This course could work better as either a longer course with more examples, exercises, and step by step instructions in excel, or as a smaller part of the first and third courses in the specialization. The content is good and the examples are properly explained, but it probably doesn't warrant an entire course of its own

By Liu Y

Jun 17, 2020

The quiz questions are poorly organized, it would be better if some guidelines for the form of answers were provided and I do not believe it reasonable to have questions that the professor did not specify, overall it has been an unpleasant experience for me, sincerely wishing the quality could be improved.

By diamond g

Oct 12, 2016

Decent introduction course however examples are very simple as well as the models that are constructed. I understand being an intro course the content needs to ease people into the subjects however, more realistic and real-life examples are necessary to take the material from this course and apply it.

By John C

May 4, 2018

The quizzes were giving me a hard time. Some questions included write-in questions where you'd need to type the Excel formula and even though I knew the formula I wrote works, it would be marked incorrect. This is very frustrating because at the end of the course you get a grade.

By Claire H

Mar 24, 2020

Level of complexity of lectures was very low for Modules 1 and 2, and yet the quizzes were pretty in-depth. Similar issue with Module 4. Seemed like lectures had been simplified too much to convey the necessary knowledge to competently (and confidently) complete the quizzes.

By Florian H

Apr 2, 2017

While I really enjoyed the first module, I was less impressed by this one. Have the course is very basic, while the rest is just too brief and not practical enough. I will however continue with the courses and expect the next module to build on the one reviewed here.

By Angel H

Feb 25, 2017

Overall it is a good course, however, despite assuming minimal knowledge of Excel Statistical Modules, it offers little insight and practice. I would prefer a more in depth approach (for the advanced), or more exercises for those getting familiar with spreadsheets.