Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,382 ratings
630 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 618 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Shantanu K

Jun 8, 2016

It's a good course, with quite a bit for a newbie to learn. Would have appreciated more in-depth examples in the lectures though, as I often found a gap in the lectures and the questions asked in the quiz. Even otherwise, good stuff.

By William W

Apr 30, 2020

Course was very informative and well paced. However, as an Introduction Course, I felt that the questions on the quizzes left a bit too much up to the students intuitively understanding the concepts that they had just been exposed.

By James O H I

Apr 20, 2020

As an introductory course, it was OK, but if you have a background in excel it was not as beneficial. I would have liked to see more Monte Carlo simulations and tutorials vs theory quiz questions that didn't align with the videos.

By Ana L P d S

Aug 30, 2017

This course is not very good. Sure, it teaches how to use some supplements on Excel but it doesn't give any opportunity to practice what was learned prior to the tests. Also, the slides/pdf files doesn't explain a lot of anything.

By Ernani H M J

May 4, 2019

Some classes were fine despite being a little superficial about the analysis, but the quizzes were terrible, as well as the support at the forum, since there are many complaints about them and nothing has been done in some years.

By Nikolas K

Nov 19, 2016

The course was useful, but the quizzes were frustrating. Whenever there is a write in answer for a quiz question, I know I will get it wrong. Even though I am certain my answer is right, it never gets recognized as being correct.

By Peter M

Apr 20, 2020

There did not appear to be direct correlation between the brief lecture slides and the questions being asked in the quiz. Often, the lectures were too concise and did not include enough practical applicability.

By Alexia U

Jul 7, 2020

Buen curso y un profesor súper didáctico! Solo quisiera que hubiera habido algún disclousure que indique que hay que tener una noción básica de contabilidad para llevar este curso y entenderlo en su totalidad.

By Myat-Hsu " M

Jun 10, 2018

Many of the questions in week two's quiz are poorly written, and the correct answer as determined by the test system or the professor for Q1 doesn't sufficiently reflect all criteria outlined in the question.

By Matthew H

Apr 13, 2016

Overall the course was good, but the quiz assignments need work. When entering formula's there should be more clarity. Formula's can be entered in many ways and even when right were often counted as wrong.

By ricardo h

Sep 19, 2019

-course slides are same as if non-existent

-quizzes need improvement as some questions are no quite covered in the material and the fixed functionality of the quiz does not help one using excel.

By Eshan B

Jun 1, 2018

The prerequisites are accounting. Things need to be more transparent for the students by making the mistakes available. Additional resources to grasp the fundamentals are needed.

By Shashwat A

Apr 26, 2020

The module can include assignments for more practice of the concepts. Moreover, concepts like when to use uniform/Bernoulli/normal distributions can be explored better

By Mark S

May 29, 2020

The teacher was good, but he definitely could have gone more in depth with the course. And some of the question in the quizzes were not even covered in the modules

By Nishant D S

Feb 22, 2018

In one of the quizzes some of the questions weren't very clear, that created a bit of confusion while answering them. Apart from that the course was quiet helpful.

By Siddhartha M

Nov 16, 2017

The questions on the quizzes were very confusing and marked answers incorrect despite being right. Quiz content should be improved, the instructor was good though.

By Krishna C

Jan 1, 2018

Definitely there is some room for improvements. The course content is great but the quizzes are focused on more on Excel syntax than actual problem solving.

By Alex D

Nov 29, 2016

A bit boring – way too basic. And I expected it to be a bit more systematic – simple (and quite fragmented) examples around one case... Could be a bit more.

By Nick F

Apr 27, 2020

Extremely shallow scraping of subjects. Many learning objectives were not even explained further than reading them off of a list of learning objectives.

By Giovanni B

Aug 30, 2017

It's pretty straightforward and teaches important concepts, however, its quizzes are confusing at times. Some of the classes felt kinda useless.

By Yogendra N P

May 10, 2016

This course is very brief and basic introduction to spreadsheets. It was surprising that the "pivot tables" was never mentioned in this course.

By Wojciech K

Nov 10, 2016

The course covers all the necessary theoretical basica of statistics and modeling but isn't very helpful in terms of practical implementation.

By Martzel I G

May 1, 2016

Is not as bad as I thought at the beginning (the first two weeks). It gets better the third week. I think it needs some improvement though.

By alexandre v

Dec 7, 2020

Sometimes it felt like we had a question in a quizz before having the corresponding lesson. Leaving that aside, it is quite well designed.

By Alexis R A

May 12, 2020

The course relied too much on excel demonstrations, so it was harder to keep track of concepts and take notes. Ok, but not great.