Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,478 ratings
650 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 641 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By diamond g

Oct 12, 2016

Decent introduction course however examples are very simple as well as the models that are constructed. I understand being an intro course the content needs to ease people into the subjects however, more realistic and real-life examples are necessary to take the material from this course and apply it.

By Nicole W

Apr 10, 2021

Lots of errors in tests when writing out excel formulas, many times I knew I was writing the correct answer and would always get the problem wrong. Also, professor seems to spend a lot of time on basic excel inputs and formulas and then rushes through the more complex concepts at the end

By John C

May 4, 2018

The quizzes were giving me a hard time. Some questions included write-in questions where you'd need to type the Excel formula and even though I knew the formula I wrote works, it would be marked incorrect. This is very frustrating because at the end of the course you get a grade.

By Claire H

Mar 24, 2020

Level of complexity of lectures was very low for Modules 1 and 2, and yet the quizzes were pretty in-depth. Similar issue with Module 4. Seemed like lectures had been simplified too much to convey the necessary knowledge to competently (and confidently) complete the quizzes.

By douglas m

Aug 13, 2021

I had higher expectations from a school like wharton. My biggest issue is the fact that the feedback does not provide any explanations and the staff's only help is go back and rewatch the module. Especially when the modules don't hit on everything asked in the quizzes

By Florian H

Apr 2, 2017

While I really enjoyed the first module, I was less impressed by this one. Have the course is very basic, while the rest is just too brief and not practical enough. I will however continue with the courses and expect the next module to build on the one reviewed here.

By Angel H

Feb 25, 2017

Overall it is a good course, however, despite assuming minimal knowledge of Excel Statistical Modules, it offers little insight and practice. I would prefer a more in depth approach (for the advanced), or more exercises for those getting familiar with spreadsheets.

By Tejas G

Jul 30, 2020

Since spreadsheets is a practical thing so just from watching videos and MCQs can't make you understand the subject , therefore I would like to suggest coursera to add a practical question in the test which includes making a spreadsheet like a capstone module.

By Dennis L D

Oct 23, 2020

The content was explained step by step, but not in-depth, making it hard to follow. The information didn't flow smoothly from one concept to the next. This course was more about listening to the explanation of topics rather than learning them step-by-step.

By Cong W

Feb 12, 2020

The model is kind of simple and lack of commercial sense. It may be better to provide some basic functions of excel at the beginning for self-learning. Actually, I cannot find anything that the teacher is really needed from this course. Sad for the money.

By Emma S

Sep 22, 2021

While I learned a fair amount about the extent to which Excel can model and solve business problems, I wish the material in the videos and readings aligned more closely with the exams. I would have appreciated more practice problems outside of the exam.

By Kyle B

Aug 20, 2020

Quizzes often did not reflect materials from the lectures. Not providing feedback in the quizzes made it very difficult to determine where you went off track. There is a great deal of room for improvement in the presentation as well as the evaluation.

By Azalia R

Dec 17, 2020

The knowledge conveyed in this course is useful, however, for a spreadsheet-based course the delivery and quizzes feel rather counter-intuitive and hands-off. I would think there would be alot more practical follow through examples and exercises.

By Pavan M R S

Jun 7, 2020

Professor was excellent in explain the concepts but the examples used are more case based and it needs financial knowledge to understand, If professor had used generic examples it would have been easy to learn for naive financial grads like me.

By Pascal S

Aug 25, 2020

The content of the presentation is very good. The flaw is the quizzes. Especially for week 1 you need to precisely match the quiz answer, which is difficult as multiple options are possible and it is unclear what format the answer should be.

By Mekebeb T

Feb 27, 2020

The lecture slides did not contain the actual content covered in the lecture videos and there is no reference to study/ or prepare for the kind of questions presented in the quiz. And there is no mechanism to learn from mistakes in the quiz.

By Shantanu K

Jun 8, 2016

It's a good course, with quite a bit for a newbie to learn. Would have appreciated more in-depth examples in the lectures though, as I often found a gap in the lectures and the questions asked in the quiz. Even otherwise, good stuff.

By William W

Apr 30, 2020

Course was very informative and well paced. However, as an Introduction Course, I felt that the questions on the quizzes left a bit too much up to the students intuitively understanding the concepts that they had just been exposed.

By James O H I

Apr 20, 2020

As an introductory course, it was OK, but if you have a background in excel it was not as beneficial. I would have liked to see more Monte Carlo simulations and tutorials vs theory quiz questions that didn't align with the videos.

By Ana L P d S

Aug 30, 2017

This course is not very good. Sure, it teaches how to use some supplements on Excel but it doesn't give any opportunity to practice what was learned prior to the tests. Also, the slides/pdf files doesn't explain a lot of anything.

By Ernani H M J

May 4, 2019

Some classes were fine despite being a little superficial about the analysis, but the quizzes were terrible, as well as the support at the forum, since there are many complaints about them and nothing has been done in some years.

By Nikolas K

Nov 19, 2016

The course was useful, but the quizzes were frustrating. Whenever there is a write in answer for a quiz question, I know I will get it wrong. Even though I am certain my answer is right, it never gets recognized as being correct.

By Peter M

Apr 20, 2020

There did not appear to be direct correlation between the brief lecture slides and the questions being asked in the quiz. Often, the lectures were too concise and did not include enough practical applicability.

By Alexia U

Jul 7, 2020

Buen curso y un profesor súper didáctico! Solo quisiera que hubiera habido algún disclousure que indique que hay que tener una noción básica de contabilidad para llevar este curso y entenderlo en su totalidad.

By Myat-Hsu " M

Jun 10, 2018

Many of the questions in week two's quiz are poorly written, and the correct answer as determined by the test system or the professor for Q1 doesn't sufficiently reflect all criteria outlined in the question.