Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,310 ratings
609 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 597 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Siddhartha M

Nov 16, 2017

The questions on the quizzes were very confusing and marked answers incorrect despite being right. Quiz content should be improved, the instructor was good though.

By Krishna C

Jan 1, 2018

Definitely there is some room for improvements. The course content is great but the quizzes are focused on more on Excel syntax than actual problem solving.

By Alex D

Nov 29, 2016

A bit boring – way too basic. And I expected it to be a bit more systematic – simple (and quite fragmented) examples around one case... Could be a bit more.

By Nick F

Apr 27, 2020

Extremely shallow scraping of subjects. Many learning objectives were not even explained further than reading them off of a list of learning objectives.

By Giovanni B

Aug 30, 2017

It's pretty straightforward and teaches important concepts, however, its quizzes are confusing at times. Some of the classes felt kinda useless.

By Yogendra N P

May 10, 2016

This course is very brief and basic introduction to spreadsheets. It was surprising that the "pivot tables" was never mentioned in this course.

By Wojciech K

Nov 10, 2016

The course covers all the necessary theoretical basica of statistics and modeling but isn't very helpful in terms of practical implementation.

By Martzel I G

May 1, 2016

Is not as bad as I thought at the beginning (the first two weeks). It gets better the third week. I think it needs some improvement though.

By alexandre v

Dec 7, 2020

Sometimes it felt like we had a question in a quizz before having the corresponding lesson. Leaving that aside, it is quite well designed.

By Alexis R A

May 12, 2020

The course relied too much on excel demonstrations, so it was harder to keep track of concepts and take notes. Ok, but not great.

By Akshay S

Apr 21, 2020

lectures were good , but was not sufficient enough to get the quiz answers. For that the video lectures need to be more thorough

By Drew S

Jun 7, 2018

I would like to be able to view the answers to the quiz questions that I answered incorrectly after I have passed the quiz.

By Yoann D

Feb 9, 2019

Videos and Quizzes are great to introductions but modeling small examples on Excel would have helped anchor some notions.

By Mj D

Sep 19, 2018

Would prefer to have the actual excel template in order to have a first hand experience on how to apply the concepts.

By Evin K E

Mar 24, 2018

Although the course content was good and helpful. A more detailed explanation would have helped provide more context.

By Rakesh S

Sep 19, 2017

Some of the answers to quiz needs specific text answers. I believe even though the answer is right, the quiz come out

By Albert K

Nov 18, 2020

The professor barely skimmed the surface and the quizzes felt off topic relative to the lecture the professor gave.

By shail

May 24, 2020

Quiz's were more theoretical than practical, overall intermediate level and need prior basic knowledge of finance.

By Hari S

Nov 20, 2020

Instruction can be more precise and quiz 2 and 4 can be improved. This course is a letdown compared to Course 1.

By Arnot B

May 13, 2018

Bit of a large step between very simple weeks 1 and 2 and more complex weeks 3 and 4 but mostly easy to follow

By Long K C

Aug 30, 2020

course content is great, quizzes not so. Some questions are very confusing and needed further clarifications

By Christian M

Mar 24, 2019

I enjoyed the difficulty of the quizzes, but found that the material could've been explained in more detail.

By Davide B

Jun 9, 2016

Few tools on Xls has been shown.

More extensive and complex problem are required on use of Monte Carlo method

By Dehan A

Sep 20, 2020

unlike the previous course this was more vague , its was not detailed enough to get a good comprehension.

By Sriram V

Sep 6, 2020

Found the course a little ineffective. The wording of the questions were confusing and not clear at all.