Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models by University of Pennsylvania

4.2
stars
3,458 ratings
647 reviews

About the Course

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Top reviews

MM
Jun 21, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ
Jun 11, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 638 Reviews for Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

By Mehul C P

Jul 13, 2018

Modules are taught nicely, however does not aline with tests at the end of each module, wasting humongous amount of productive time. No direct help available. Most question are very vague and expected answers are from wide range of choices. Very poorly designed. This doesn't look like Wharton teaching. Very sad

By Reese A S

May 12, 2020

With all due respect, this course was definitely not easy to finish - not because the course material was hard but because it was very confusing. It really needs modifications, especially because of the lack of course material and the confusing way questions were phrased.

By Munjal

Jun 22, 2016

This course does not belong to this specialization. Poor content, poor assessment quiz, and felt quite disappointed. It is way below par. I never thought I would have to rate it this bad. If not for specialization that I am aiming for, I would never take it. Period.

By Vinnie V

May 13, 2017

One of the poorest courses that i have taken. The instructor was unable to motivate or even teach the fundamentals of the course. As a matter of fact, You Tube tutorials (free) can do a much better job of training in spreadsheets and models. Very disappointed !

By Nelson H

Nov 28, 2016

This course was a extremely introductory course in excel. I would not recommend it to anyone, especially at the cost of $95. Aside from getting yourself thinking about using Excel and some minor lessons learned, I found it to be a complete waste of time.

By Pratik M

Sep 24, 2020

Content was good. Teaching was excellent. Video length was extremely poor. The quizzes were maddening because quite a number of them included answers that had multiple correct ones. Overall, 1 star!! Worst experience on Coursera till date.

By ray

Apr 10, 2016

The qiuz are managed terribly, full of error and I seriously doubt the professor ever seen these quiz before. The Course suit for a beginner but a bit fragile, I expect more about building a usable model. This course need serious review.

By Parth B

May 28, 2020

Quiz were pathetic. Got over 90% in each of the modules. But cant pass this even after several attempts. Questions are open ended. Say in question 1, there can be multiple ways to answer correctly and it would accept only one of them.

By Kaiquan M

Aug 15, 2020

Buggy questions - especially for formula based questions which are correct in Excel, yet not working in quizzes. No/ambiguous instructions in quizzes. Really unbecoming of Wharton to present this level of standard.

By Ian L

Apr 3, 2021

Too basic. Very little content. Provides a broad overview, but barely goes into any depth nor does it provide any practice examples which I think would be essential. Quiz questions are generally quite terrible.

By Lukáš K

May 29, 2016

I had great expectations, but the course focuses on really basic stuff. If you have worked with spreadsheets before, it won't help much. If you haven't, it will not teach you how to use it.

By Oliver G C

Jul 16, 2017

after we pass the quiz, we should be able to see what was the mistakes where were them, and how to correct them;

provide assistance on how to build formulas shown on the lecture;

L

By Jacob J

Aug 13, 2019

The videos did not help with the quizzes. I had to go back and review material in the first course of the certificate. The spreadsheets were difficult to read.

By Narendra K S

Sep 17, 2019

Organisation of week 1 and week 2 questions could have been better. It was draining to be honest and I was losing my interest in learning from such platforms.

By Mostafa A

May 10, 2021

The instructor is below average and monotonic, he misspells some numbers which causes a lot of confusion due to the nature of the course.

By James W

May 31, 2019

Hard to follow due to the pacing. The presenter spoke too slowly at times and went too fast through certain important details.

By Amar P

Jun 1, 2020

This is the worst course ever. The professor's voice is very monotone and trying to guess excel formula syntax is insane.

By Pramit S

Jun 1, 2016

The tests were not upto the mark, where the questions were not very logical and the options were confusing.

By Ulf L

Sep 28, 2016

Really basic spreadsheet knowledge, not to be recommanded for anybody who is already familiar with Excel.

By Mohammed S

Jul 8, 2020

bad course its need a new evaluation from zero its one of the hardest courses for no reasons

By Reetika P

Mar 19, 2018

I can't hear & understand the teacher properly and I don't find the course interactive.

By M

Oct 14, 2017

Very poor PDFs, needs more exercises. It was a waste of time, i didn't learn anything

By Michael S

Nov 13, 2017

Very Poor materials, no examples or exercises to actually put the models to work.

By Sahil K

Apr 29, 2020

The videos are very thin compared to quizzes which asks some bizzare questions.

By flavio m

Dec 27, 2019

Short and unuseful lectures, lack of real examples, and inappropriate quizzes.