Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Marketing by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,518 ratings
2,047 reviews

About the Course

Taught by three of Wharton's top faculty in the marketing department, consistently ranked as the #1 marketing department in the world, this course covers three core topics in customer loyalty: branding, customer centricity, and practical, go-to-market strategies. You’ll learn key principles in - Branding: brand equity is one of the key elements of keeping customers in a dynamic world in which new startups are emerging constantly. - Customer centricity: not synonymous with customer service, customer centricity starts with customer focus and need-gathering. - Go-to-market strategies: understand the drivers that influence customers and see how these are implemented prior to making an investment. Complete this course as part of Wharton's Business Foundations Specialization, and you'll have the opportunity to take the Capstone Project and prepare a strategic analysis and proposed solution to a real business challenge from Wharton-governed companies like Shazam and SnapDeal or to a challenge faced by your own company or organization. Wharton-trained staff will evaluate the top submissions, and leadership teams at Shazam and SnapDeal will review the highest scoring projects prepared for their companies....

Top reviews

MK
Dec 10, 2015

Great! I am taking the course with almost no experience in this area. Really enjoyed this class and learned a lot. A lot of practical examples which helped me to understand all the parts. Thank you!

AT
Jun 8, 2017

This course enhanced my perspective, I took it parallel to my ongoing courese, the cases discussed in this module helped me to analyse the application of various marketing concepts. Thanks a lot...!

Filter by:

1651 - 1675 of 2,007 Reviews for Introduction to Marketing

By Darla J B M

Mar 23, 2016

I worked in Marketing a long time but still learned some new and interesting ideas. I liked the class very much. I wish there were flash cards or some type of study aid. With working full time and a family, making my own is time consuming and I would have liked the tools to get more out of this. Very insightful none the less.

By Yuri B

Aug 19, 2020

I think for an on-line course that people from various countries and nationalities can take, the teachers need to be more appealing. One in particular I had a hard time keeping because of the accent and the pacing, but his knowledge is undeniably good. I just think that for this kind of course he probably is not a good fit.

By Patrick Y

May 14, 2017

I thought it was a great introduction to the way that you have to think in order to build and develop your brand. I understand that it is part of the material, but a lot of it was very high level and not super actionable. That being said, the professors were great and I learned a ton listening to what they had to say.

By Aubrey B

May 8, 2018

This was a great review of fundamental marketing lessons. I was disappointed by the third lecture; while it covered engaging topics, it felt like it was a disorganized conglomeration of clips from other lectures slapped together. It was challenging to follow as there was no cohesive theme tying the lesson together.

By Natali M

Dec 18, 2015

Everything is very interesting and practical. One more thing that I would like to get - to have an explanation why my wrong answers in the quizes are wrong. Most of them I answered wrong because of misunderstanding the language itself, and I would like to know what the question was, and why did I answered it wrong.

By Siddharth D

Jun 2, 2020

The course and the lecturers were amazing in laying a good foundation. Because a lot had to be covered in a short span, it would have been useful if there was additional reading material to build on the concept introduced. A must for every beginner or for anyone who wants to think more structurally. KUDOS!

By Inés K

Jun 22, 2020

The lectures by Professor Kahn and Professor Fader were VERY good, extremely interesting and very well presented (5 stars). The third week was very long, not well presented and thus rather boring, though the material in itself was very interesting. (too many slides, no good summary, all in all 2 stars).

By Ajay S

Aug 17, 2020

Some key points discussed without getting caught in the weeds. Maybe it would have helped if we got to understand few more case studies as a whole and have some sort of a reflection module as assignments where people got to share thoughts based on the principles discussed and listen to other's ideas.

By Alok

Jun 9, 2017

Good insights gained. For a person from a non-marketing background it was great to understand the fundamentals and approaches to marketing along with great insights from each of the professors. Would definitely recommend this course to folks who want to understand marketing and pick it up as a skill.

By HITESH K

May 14, 2016

Great Introductory course.

Only limitation i see is that the focus is on consumer goods companies.

For someone working in an Engineering Consulting Firm, it would be more beneficial if examples are focused on different kinds of businesses rather than just Consumer Goods companies and Big Box stores.

By Wilmire A

Jul 20, 2020

This course was so instructive. I got the chance to learn different concepts about Marketing. They are going to be useful for my personal business and for my professional career in the future. However, I had hoped that I could get all the information from the videos on a document for my record.

By Dibakar D

Jun 17, 2016

The first week provides basic and valuable insights into the World of Marketing... I found the virtual classroom lessons by Ms. Kahn as fascinating... I really appreciate the way the tough concepts were explained through day to day examples.As such grasping the concepts became an easy task.

By Sabrina K K

Feb 25, 2016

It was very interesting to know and understand how world sees the marketing strategies over the world, especially from perspectives of United States of America. It's still amazing how fast their start ups grow very fast, and I believe there are still many things to learn from them.

By Dan K

Apr 4, 2020

Some professors' lectures are much clearer than others. Work needs to be done on week 3-4 to be a bit clearer, however, the course as a whole was both insightful in its coverage of the basics and self-aware that what it was covering seemed like 'nothing new' to the average student.

By Clément C

Feb 5, 2017

Very interesting course, my expectations were met. Maybe one note for improvement: it would be nice if there was a kind of structured syllabus. I lost quite some time putting the transcripts together myself...but then again it made me work with the materials more which is not bad.

By Sergio M Á

Jan 24, 2016

I don't think Coursera it's honoring its initial foundational principles by not offering the free statements of acomplishment any more, which are still compatible with a verified statement that addresses a different segment of customers (as it's well explained in this course).

By Barbara A

Jul 27, 2019

It's a very good course, but I couldn't give it 5 stars because some contents were removed to reduce the course duration and it really felt like something was missing in Week 3.

Moreover, I think some PDF files with the slides shown or some notes would be very useful.

By Mostafa

Jul 10, 2016

Very informative course and the professors have excellent style and energy. A lot of examples from real life, which makes the theories easy to understand, even for beginners.

Some of the material needs organizing though, the flow of the lessons need some work.

By Jessy S

Mar 31, 2020

Very interesting course. Loved the structure and the given knowledge. I already took an introduction to marketing course few years ago, but I realized that having the chance to take this one allowed me to gain new knowledge and adapt mine to recent changes.

By Maxime B

Aug 11, 2018

Interesting course, unfortunately a little bit dated 2013 so data would need to be revisited. Presentations could be a bit more interactive and sometimes the explanations can be a little bit fuzzy.

Overall, I think it is a good introduction to Marketing

By francisco

Jan 9, 2017

This course was easy to understand (most of them) for a none marketing person. If you want or need to be more involve in marketing strategies be sure you pay for, so you can be able to know the results of your quiz and interact with another students.

By Sarah G

Nov 1, 2016

This covers all the basics in a lot of detail and the instructors are very clear and concise in their lectures. However I think there should be more real-world examples sprinkled throughout and case studies to really grasp some of the concepts better.

By abboud-abdessalem

Sep 6, 2018

Well thank you to everyone who contributed to this course, beginning with the three professors and the Warthon School. I really benefited from this course in taking an initial look at marketing in general and I look forward to more in the future

By Mustafa A

Apr 15, 2020

The content is heavy, but not hard, it needs a good degree of focus and attention.

The instructors were very good at explaining, and it is quite obvious they have a lot of expertise in the domain.

The overall experience was fun and interesting.

By MOURYA A

Apr 15, 2020

Very well designed course for basic study, Although Key concepts on Branding, Markets, and pricing and Customer values are discussed very well, I believe it would be more interesting if some case studies are included. I recommend to everyone.