Chevron Left
Back to Operations Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operations Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
4,718 ratings
914 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to impact the way you think about transforming data into better decisions. Recent extraordinary improvements in data-collecting technologies have changed the way firms make informed and effective business decisions. The course on operations analytics, taught by three of Wharton’s leading experts, focuses on how the data can be used to profitably match supply with demand in various business settings. In this course, you will learn how to model future demand uncertainties, how to predict the outcomes of competing policy choices and how to choose the best course of action in the face of risk. The course will introduce frameworks and ideas that provide insights into a spectrum of real-world business challenges, will teach you methods and software available for tackling these challenges quantitatively as well as the issues involved in gathering the relevant data. This course is appropriate for beginners and business professionals with no prior analytics experience....

Top reviews

GC
Jul 1, 2020

Operations Analytics helps me to understand how to solve Newsvendor problem by statisti, forecast SUK and predict the seasonal performance. Great lessions and thanks so much for the three Instructors!

EW
Apr 26, 2020

Excellente course. Very challenging especially for beginners. The motivation to achieve my final goal of reinventing myself professionally, makes every challenge a welcome experience. Thanks Coursera!

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 891 Reviews for Operations Analytics

By Denzel J S

Oct 9, 2020

this was painstakingly difficult to study but i did have fun solving all the problems, i just wished there's a way they can explain where they find or how to solve the probability needed to answer the questions

By Bhavya V

Jun 17, 2020

Overall this course was amazing, One thing i would like to point out is that XLMiner Plugins are not further allowed in google sheets, please update it and provide alternative for the same. Thank you so much.

By David A K

Jan 1, 2021

Very insightful. Combining simulation, solver and decision trees is very interesting and can be applied to diverse business problems. I am most grateful and loads of thanks to the instructors. Good job done.

By Enzo A

May 20, 2016

3 1/2 stars

+ Good lectures

+ Valuable introduction to solver and stochastic modeling

~ Little beyond basics: for a Wharton specialization we should add more depth

~ Quizzes are at least a bit too easy

By ROGER C

Jul 15, 2019

Week 1 & 2 are too easy. The meat is in week 4 when combining simulation with optimization. Need to include more example on modeling non-linear problem to enhance the usefulness of the course.

By Goldi T

Jul 25, 2020

The course provided a good introduction to Operations Analytics. All the sessions felt like hands-on workshops with some real-world examples. I enjoyed learning ToolPak and solver the most.

By Farkhondeh S

Feb 24, 2018

I was happy with all of the professors, except one of them that had a bad accent. I couldn't understand what he said, and I had to read the text. His lessons were confusing too. Thanks

By Devansh M

Aug 12, 2017

Week 1 was really slow as the professor literally read off the slides verbatim. Make the videos a bit shorter as the audience is smart enough to grasp the contents faster than expected

By Gladys L

Dec 16, 2016

This course not only enables me to understand why I am studying for Probability Theory but also provides hands-on tools that we can apply to the real-world. I really appreciate that!

By TJ N

Nov 25, 2016

Love it in general, very useful and relevant content and easy to follow through. Week 1 delivery is not as engaging as one would have hoped, but picked up later in the course.

By Sai A R

Nov 16, 2015

The course gave me a good level of quantitative and more importantly qualitative understanding that would allow me to think and apply these techniques in a variety of problems.

By Andres s T

Sep 21, 2018

Its a good course, if you want to know better how to make decisions under uncertainty scenarios. The Course is given by 3 different professors who share well their knowledge

By Ahmed A

Apr 22, 2016

Informative topics. The examples were relevant and useful, but the lectures could have been more captivating (mainly consisted of directly reading what was on the slide).

By ADEKUNLE H A

Apr 3, 2020

This course is very thorough, and the instructors taught it with such great simplicity. I believe it will unlock your mind to be a deep thinker when faced with problems.

By Zhuo C

Oct 21, 2018

content is not so complicated and PPT is easy to be comprehended. However, even without watching the video, people could get the point by directly reading the materials.

By Jose C

Mar 16, 2020

It was very detailed and carefully explained, great for beginners, i have some experience with these type of data so i found it somewhat slow but with great info inside

By Khanh N

Sep 1, 2020

The course is easy to understand and centered in Operational Optimization by analysis. However, the given assignments are too easy to practice various challenges.

By Harsh P

Jun 8, 2020

A Really interesting course in the Business Analytics Specialization, the techniques discussed are easy to learn and very useful in a real industry environment.

By Suresh S

Sep 24, 2017

Gives a good knowledge of Predictive Analytics and the Add-on in EXcel that can be used a stepping stone to gain more knowledge about this Analytics method.

By Venkatesh V

Jul 15, 2020

Fantastic material and instructors. Useful as a refresher course for experienced professionals and recommended for entry level and business professionals.

By Suraj N

Oct 19, 2019

This course could have been a bit less text heavy, as in sometimes it felt the professors were just reading out the slides. Other than that great course!

By Prasham M

Nov 23, 2018

For starters it was a good place to start at. I knew some basics so it was pretty easy for me and I skimmed a lot of content. But overall it was good.

By José A G

Aug 30, 2020

Great course! It will help me to improve decision making process for my current position. Working with supply chain, sales and field execution team.

By yuzhi d

Jan 24, 2016

One of the best courses offered by Wharton on Coursera, carefully guide you through all the basics that you need to know about operation analytics.

By Gagan M

Dec 30, 2015

Good Course, very useful content, excellent simple to understand examples, well taught. Could include additional complex examples for practice.