Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Operations Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Operations Management by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
1,710 ratings
347 reviews

About the Course

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

Top reviews

AJ

Oct 28, 2018

This is an awesome comprehensive operations management course. Although, the course in an introductory course, it covers pretty much everything you need to know about operations management.

EA

May 03, 2019

I liked how the Professor explained different terms of Operations and Quality. This course will help me apply this knowledge of looking inside an operation and finding out the bottlenecks.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 332 Reviews for Introduction to Operations Management

By Sophia T

Nov 25, 2017

Out of all the business foundations courses, this was one of my favorites in terms of content and real-world application. I enjoyed learning about the main operations management concepts, but the tests and exams were extremely frustrating and difficult to pass. I spent an unimaginable time each week on HW and exams (way more than the estimated time) in order to pass. Not only were almost all questions open-ended, but problem questions came in sets, so if you got the first answer incorrect, you had a slim chance of passing on the first try. Additionally, since calculations involved a number of steps, it was painstaking to figure out where in the process you went wrong. Finally, some problem sets introduced new and different scenarios that were never discussed in the videos. Even after re-watching videos and reviewing practice problem multiple times, I could not understand how to adjust for the change. The only thing that helped was reading user questions on the discussion forum, which required a lot of time.

By August M

Aug 04, 2019

Interesting course. I feel that it could have been condensed a bit and more specifications were needed to answer some of the homework questions.

By Nicholas J C

Mar 13, 2019

I understand that if you're reading this, it's probably already too late, but if not, I'd strongly advise that you research better opportunities to learn this material.

First, the presentation is poor. This feels like it would be a state of the art course in 2007, but is very archaic now. The powerpoints are sloppy, there's no editorial oversight, the audio quality is very bad, and it is harder to focus than it needs to be. They need the instructor from the Corporate Finance course to come in here and teach this team how to make a powerpoint that's legible.

Second, which is a problem I've had with other Coursera Wharton products, is the disconnect between the lectures, the practice, and the assignments. Things are left out or left to your own intuition, and you're on your own. The discussion forums are a great idea, but are totally neutered by the Coursera Honor Code which forbids students from discussing the assignments in any real detail. The Mentors are largely useless due to this limitation. This course should take note from the Financial Accounting course, which was similar in difficulty but worked you through every step of every possible problem type, and met you with challenging but doable assignments.

Third, is basic quality control. There are typos, self-contradicting statements, etc., that have remained unfixed in this material over the course of years (lectures are six years old I've gleaned). I'm astounded that Wharton is willing to put its brand name on a packaged product of this quality. Ironically enough, you're often sitting through a lecture about process integrity and quality assurance-related topics.

In sum, my experience in this course was mainly fighting against the class itself, not the material. Trying to figure out what the question means, what it's asking, rather than doing the math or remembering whatever function or logical process. It's really disappointing to have spent all this time on this course and the Business Foundations certificate program, when the utility per hour is so very very low. A complete rework is in order, if for no other reason than to get the instructor a new mic and have some grad assistant put together a nice sharp powerpoint instead of forcing students to read chicken scratches (which don't remain on the slides, so you better take really fast notes!)

By Brighton M

Nov 25, 2018

The course will really help me identify all the bottlenecks in all operational processes i manage at my place of work.

By Derek Z

Dec 05, 2018

Great intro to operations management class, but the audio and video quality can be improved.

By George P

Dec 04, 2018

Great

By Ying Z (

Jan 13, 2019

This is very challenge but comprehensive operations course. I learned a lot from Professor Christian.

By Vinod K

Jan 05, 2019

Thank you Coursera for providing me such course for Operation Management. This course taught and gave clear vision for business operation. Now I am fundamentally cleared about the operation management and this will very useful for me in my future.

By Akmal A K

Feb 16, 2019

This is a very intensive real practise orientated course. Completing it is rather challenging but my first feeling after having just done it - it has been the most intensive and useful course I have taken on Coursera (Now I am a step away from completing my third Specialization on Coursera). Many thanks to Professor Terwiesch Highly recommend this course.

By Emilio B G

Feb 17, 2019

A lot of problem solving and the homework per week which is important to process and consolidate all this information, makes the course very practical. It could be more organized when showing the excel files and solving problems in Excel. Visually could be also improved (charts and slides).

By Ivan S

Mar 25, 2019

I am very content with this course. It was to the oint and easy to follow.

By Markus L

Jan 31, 2019

Great examples, good case studies, lecturer knows what he is talking about and peppers the videos with good examples from many different areas (healthcare, manufacturing, etc), the quality of the Excel recordings could be better it is impossible to see any of the numbers or formulas

By Osman S V V

Dec 09, 2018

muy completo..excelente

By Akpovwovwo J M

Jan 20, 2019

This course is an eye opener to the wealth of knowledge in operations management. I can't thank the facilitators enough. The lecturer is superb.

Lots and lots of thanks.

By Adithya S

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent course on basics of operations management

By Mostafa A M I

Sep 08, 2018

It's the best course to acquire professional knowledge about process management.

By Masud m

Aug 31, 2018

Great course with a highly qualified instructor.

By Ziltan C

Oct 18, 2018

it's quite cool course and really helpful for understand fundamental of Operation management

By Sarang

Oct 08, 2018

Very good explanations!

By Sagar G

Oct 04, 2018

Course is informative and interesting.

By Thomas S

Oct 04, 2018

Very useful materials taught.

By Andrew J

Oct 28, 2018

This is an awesome comprehensive operations management course. Although, the course in an introductory course, it covers pretty much everything you need to know about operations management.

By vivi.wang

Oct 31, 2018

Very useful course and close

By Joseph A C I

Nov 20, 2018

Challenging, but very good

By Lu L

Nov 16, 2018

Good course and good teacher, very useful especially the case studies.