Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
3,400 ratings
586 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA

Dec 22, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

PN

Jul 28, 2017

This is a very well defined course to give a very good start to the knowledge of People Analytics. The professors have brought in numerous examples to make the understanding of analytics better.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 574 Reviews for People Analytics

By Leonidas G

Mar 26, 2018

This class really helped me organize a lot of the concepts within the People Analytics space. I wish this course would have had a little bit more technical/statistical content.

By David C L

Oct 03, 2017

Una introducción muy valiosa al mundo de people analytics. He echado de mnos algunas herramientas más concretas.

By Ha N

Feb 12, 2016

Good overview about people analytics. Maybe need more "technical" stuff on the materials, for example: providing dataset, tools/techniques to analyze.

By Sandeep K

Apr 15, 2017

Great introduction on PA. Opens one's mind to think about various "real" issues of people management while explaining how to utilize the power of analytics to solve people management problems.

By Vladimir A

Mar 08, 2016

Would prefer to have more hands on course... With some actual assignments requiring analytical solutions

By Shreyas N

Apr 12, 2018

The course helped me understand how people analytics is being used in organizations, something that i never thought of.

Helped me get present to my own biases. It gave me areas to work on and be cognizant of in my company. A lot of practices we do here can now be improved and modified.

By Marcella T

Feb 13, 2018

Very useful for a start on People Analytics, to understand the impacts and the knowledge you need to better get the overall picture

By Dimitar S

Feb 08, 2016

Very interesting/ I think the quiz part should be more challenging.

By Carl O H

Jul 11, 2016

A good comprehensive overview and insight of how data can be adopted into human resource management!

By Rik v E

Jan 03, 2016

I thought it was challenging. There might be some evaluation how to approach the multiple choice questions of the quizzes.

By Sergio A H B

Sep 02, 2016

Wonderful and to the point course. Would maybe try to make it a bit more practical and add real-life business activities.

By Joseph D

Jan 21, 2016

Pretty good. Cade's analysis of the NFL draft is the highlight of the course and one of my favorite videos in the entire Wharton BA series. Overall the course gets kind of depressing towards the end as you realize how noisy this data is and how tough it is to get access to.

Martine's network analysis module is pretty cool. It would not have been overload to work in some of the calculations of network metrics, though, and they would have made for better quiz items. I'll have to be honest, though. I'm not very hopeful about ever being able to use this kind of analysis in the workspace.

Matthew's module was ok but I thought could have used more hard examples. Maybe some research from law enforcement or some field with lots of pre-tests could be used to illustrate regression and some of those techniques.

By Matt T

Dec 09, 2015

I don't hold business school types in high regard, but the material in this course is surprisingly balanced and nuanced, especially in the treatment of the unreliability of small samples, and of causality.

By Gagan M

Jan 31, 2016

Brilliant Concepts - would have loved if it also had some simple exercises to go with it.

By Angel S

Dec 23, 2015

Good course

By Shu W

Feb 07, 2018

Good course. Professors discussed more about what may cause problems.But I was expecting more practical tools and more about how did companies carry out their people analysis projects..

By Rahul D

Jun 02, 2017

Good overview on how analytics can be used for hiring, talent management and collaboration. Opens up the possibilities to further explore analytics in people management by creating a strong foundation.

By aaron m

Dec 29, 2015

Please revisit questions; there are some minor grammatical errors.

By Sarah R

Sep 16, 2016

Aside from being unable to take the quizzes (which seemed to provide very little in the way of testing understanding of the material), the course videos were great, very professional and some good info. Would be good to have project based assignment rather than just regurgitation of main points!

By Abhinav S

Jan 19, 2016

fantastic course. must for every hr professional...

By Arun R

Jun 12, 2017

Lot of theory, some modules more interesting and useful than others. Loved it overall.

By Babuji A

May 17, 2017

Good introduction. But too theoretical

By Mircea-Stefan G

Dec 29, 2015

Great course, both focused and easy to follow. The sports (baseball) world analogies were not always very transparent for those who are not familiar with the field. All in all, a great course; really appreciate all three professors, who covered the material in a very coherent way. Thank you!

By Jarred M

Aug 11, 2016

It was an informative and enjoyable course- so thank you Wharton.

By Rashi A M

Apr 17, 2017

Really found this course of immense value. The aspects discussed, illustrations given and the content are all very relevant. Also, loved the fact that while concepts and theory has been discussed, a mention of the practical aspects