Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
7,557 ratings
1,483 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC
Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,462 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Zhongyuan Z

Feb 9, 2019

The course is very awesome. I learned about the fundamentals in this area. Thanks Coursera for providing the course.

By Piotr P

Feb 20, 2017

Great way to introduce someone like me, with no business/mathemarical education, to the basic concepts of modelling.

By Fabien S

May 25, 2020

Excellent intro and catch-up! I am looking forward to applying the principles in a business context with softwares!

By Agustín G

Sep 30, 2017

The lessons were very interesting and Richard P. Waterman was a great professor. I sincerely recomend this course.

By Munjal

Jun 20, 2016

Very nicely done - precise and superb. Thanks prof for good flow and examples. The quiz were also good and logical.

By Alexandre C M

Apr 18, 2018

Very clear and simple explanations, making it much easier to get comfortable with scary things such as logarithms.

By Inigo Q D

Jul 27, 2017

Very good course. Although I beginner's materials, It is good to refresh from time to time. I recommend taking it

By Tejasv A

Jun 9, 2017

Great overview, with good balance of theoretical and examples. Looking forward to the rest of the Specialization.

By Caio R

May 26, 2016

That's a great course. I'm from Brazil and really loving it, understanding what's being said without any problem.

By Mayank M

May 8, 2020

very well explanation but must go more into dept and tell in more simple language and tell how to use the data.

By Abid A

May 6, 2020

It covers all the basics of modelling and than all the types of model that are used in making business decision.

By Peiyang L

May 4, 2020

The course material is pretty straight forward and detailed info by prof to guid you through the whole journey!!

By Bryan R

Jan 24, 2020

Really enjoyed the course as a foreign student (non-english), it was easy for me to catch up with the professor.

By Hansel B

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course for beginners and adroit users alike. Adds perspective into modeling using real world examples.

By Olesya A

Apr 6, 2018

Good Intro to the fundamentals of Modeling. By taking the course, you can start thinking using a model approach.

By Nuo C

Jul 19, 2020

This course is very useful and well structured to help me have a better sense of what model to use in practice.

By Astrid G

Apr 24, 2020

Through this course I learned new knowledge. The course is a good start on quantitative modeling. Thanks a lot!

By Stefan G

Nov 19, 2019

absolutely understandable for a starter in this topic (not easy but manageable). Thanks for this helpful start.

By Tian M

Sep 13, 2019

Wonderful introduction to quantitative modelling, where you link statistics in school to financial applications

By Diana

Mar 31, 2020

Like this professor's logic and course so much, this is the one that I completed within one week! Appreciated.

By Armando A

Jun 16, 2019

In-depth and comprehensive material that grants students with real life implementation of curriculum materials

By Asif H

Apr 23, 2019

Excellent learning for what we have read in past but relevant to our job. Thanks, Wharton online and Coursera.

By RIYA M

Jun 5, 2020

The course really helped clear my concepts regarding quantitative modeling and was taught very interestingly.

By Anil A

Oct 3, 2016

This course is a jumpstarter for those who are new to modeling and their real world applications in business.

By Amna B

Apr 22, 2021

I have learned a lot of thing about modeling that will allow me to start my research and create my own model