Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
8,328 ratings

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,573 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Ben F

Apr 14, 2021

An excellent introduction to the basic concepts necessary to understand and create useful financial models.

By Aisulu M

Jul 8, 2020

Great introduction to modelling terminology, always good to refresh the basics before diving into analytics

By John C

Nov 17, 2017

Great refresher after being 3 years removed from business school and doing little modeling in current role.

By K.S.Pratibha

Mar 29, 2017

Very helpful course. Course material properly structured which really helped in understanding the concepts.

By Francisco A O A

Mar 2, 2016

Excellent introduction to quantitative modeling. It opened my appetite for the rest of the specialization.

By Михаил Е

May 7, 2020

Very-very brief introduction to Quantitative Modelling. I recommend it for high-level review or first try.

By Jakob P

Jul 4, 2017

The fundamental concepts of quantitative modelling are nicely introduced, though, the level is VERY basic.

By Manuel N

Jul 25, 2022

Very informative. Only wish that it had a sample problem or two in the probability and regression modules

By K V J R

Mar 12, 2020

The concepts were clearly explained although I wish there was more interaction possible with the faculty.

By Mark B

Dec 29, 2019

Great overview of the concepts of Quantitative Modeling, explained in comprehensive yet accessible terms.

By Oscar P S R

Jan 29, 2021

Considero un curso muy bueno para análisis de modelos, con una explicación muy didáctica y comprensible.

By Sanjana A

Sep 15, 2020

Good introduction and recap of basic mathematical functions and their uses in modelling. Easy to follow.

By Edward H

Aug 30, 2020

Great introduction to models - really enjoyed the instructors clear and concise coverage of the material

By Warren O

Apr 3, 2020

Excellent introduction to quantitative modeling. The examples used are indeed relevant and quite useful.

By Cory E

May 11, 2019

Great refresher on modeling that does not rely too heavily on mathematical proofs or deriving equations.

By Amir H

Aug 12, 2017

Videos were handy, with clear examples. Sufficient guide was provided for extra reading. Helpful indeed.

By Steven B

Jan 1, 2019

Very informative class with no fluff. Previous knowledge of probability and regression is very helpful.

By Dr. A E

Jun 14, 2017

I'm new to finance. In the same time I could understood alot of info & models to use in projects.

Thanks

By seshan i

Apr 12, 2020

this course has taught me a lot for a beginner like me the course has been a very good starting point.

By Pratixa D

Feb 7, 2018

Great content. Good refresher of all important statistical concepts. The instructor is extremely good!

By SMRITI S

Nov 27, 2017

Great Course with in depth learning material and information. Very useful in actual industry modeling.

By John P

May 20, 2017

Great review of key concepts! Easy to learn format. Looking forward to completing this specialization.

By Tryambak C

Oct 12, 2016

Simple and Lucid. Excellently elaborated and concepts are taught in a simple and user friendly manner.

By Chetanya M

Jun 5, 2020

I am glad to be a part of this course. Professor taught us very important point in a very ease manner

By Digvijay

Nov 8, 2017

Truly fantastic! Great way of content delivery. Very helpful in understanding the fundamentals of QM.