Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
7,084 ratings
1,406 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

S
Nov 30, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.\n\nthanks

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,377 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Andres O

Aug 13, 2017

I like the pace of this course . Thank you Prof Waterman for taking complex concepts and presenting them in a easy to understand format.

By Jason M

Feb 17, 2016

This course gives us very fundamental idea of quantitative modeling but advanced modeling and/or tools. It's good for entre level students.

By Rishabh G

Jun 15, 2017

It would have been easier to solve practical quiz questions if the module included some information on how to actually solve the problems.

By Reid R

Feb 4, 2020

I really enjoy this class, however, when I pass the quiz, I'd like to know what the correct answers were on the questions that I missed.

By Ankit P

Jan 13, 2019

It's a basic entry level course that briefs about important functions and distributions and methodologies used in quantitative modeling.

By Malgorzata U

Jun 25, 2018

Material interesting, outlined and structured in good flow. Still need to investigate topic and deep dive to be able to use seamlessly.

By Prateek S

Nov 19, 2018

Amazing Course. One suggestions: Quizzes can be more frequent in order to ins-till practise and improve retention amongst the students

By Kyle A

Feb 15, 2021

I think it would have been helpful to have more practice in relation to more of the questions that called for solving in the quizzes.

By Linda J

Sep 28, 2020

Good info, but I wish it incorporated some work in excel to solidify the practice of these models, which is all done in spreadsheets.

By B G

Jun 26, 2020

More practice and questions would be helpful in solidifying these concepts, especially regarding markov chains and probability trees.

By Wentong L

Aug 28, 2019

It's a nice course but sometimes is basic and unclear. Hope the lecturer could explain more about why and how to calculate the models

By Daniela C

Feb 18, 2018

Great course. Some more emphasis on the actual math behind it and how to build the models would have made it better, more applicable.

By Nikhil G

Aug 18, 2020

Really nice course. Professor explains everything so well. This course was a nice recap of high school and college math and stats.

By Giovanny O S

Dec 7, 2020

The course is easy to follow and gives many insights about how the models can be made but especially the way they can be analyzed

By abbas s

Jun 8, 2020

It was really helpful to learn the basic of quantitative Modeling Never thought that we can use so much of it in really practice

By Eduardo R S E

Aug 24, 2018

A few concepts where not completely clear but as fundamentals the course gave me the ideal mind set to continue my certification.

By Silvio J R G

Mar 7, 2016

A really good introduction to Quantitative Models. I will personally recommend it for beginners since it wraps up main concepts.

By Dan M

Jun 9, 2017

Very very informative course, only problem is, the content is kind of dry so it requires a little more dedication than average.

By David L C P

Jul 4, 2020

Buen curso, pero mas que nada para las nociones básicas, no lo recomiendo si ya se tiene manejo de herramientas estadísticas.

By Paul P

Jun 17, 2020

After getting the results of a test, it would be helpful to get an explanation of questions that a wrong answer was selected.

By Andres O

Feb 11, 2021

Great introductory course. I'd liked to have examples with spreadsheet modeling to make more practical. But it is very good.

By Thorsten W

Apr 4, 2018

Good basics, thoroughly developed from one step to the next. Thanks also to the course forum participans for the discussions

By Nqobile T

May 23, 2020

This course really helps in understanding mathematical functions and gives you a good foundation in quantitative modelling.

By Zhengyi L

Jun 19, 2018

Very learner-friendly for newbies in financial area. Specifically useful for me in beginning my career in risk model field.

By Richard A

Oct 14, 2019

Good course, in some places it does jump a few steps so recommend doing some of your own research to cross check concepts.